Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for beginners
I examined a number of books to try and get into meditation as quickly and painlessly as possible and this book did it best. Most of the others follow some religious dogma in varying degrees which may interest some but not for me. This book was down to earth easy to follow and apply and it works. Try it!
Published on 20 July 2001 by Crispin Nicely

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars poor
vague, repetitive and of little use to a beginner who wants and needs help to guide them through the day
Published 7 months ago by Moore Mcilhatton


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for beginners, 20 July 2001
This review is from: Teach Yourself To Meditate: Over 20 simple exercises for peace, health & clarity of mind: Over 20 Exercises for Peace, Health and Clarity of Mind (Paperback)
I examined a number of books to try and get into meditation as quickly and painlessly as possible and this book did it best. Most of the others follow some religious dogma in varying degrees which may interest some but not for me. This book was down to earth easy to follow and apply and it works. Try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars down to earth and user friendly meditation method., 16 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Teach Yourself To Meditate: Over 20 simple exercises for peace, health & clarity of mind: Over 20 Exercises for Peace, Health and Clarity of Mind (Paperback)
I always bring this book wherever I go. This book make meditation easy and fun. The best meditation book I ever had, I always recommend this book to my friends who want to meditate. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent way to learn from scratch, 30 Mar 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself To Meditate: Over 20 simple exercises for peace, health & clarity of mind: Over 20 Exercises for Peace, Health and Clarity of Mind (Paperback)
If you've never meditated before and wish to start then this is undoubtedly the book for you.
It's clear and straight forward in it's explaination of method. It pushes no religion or philosophy on to the reader.
An e-book version of this would be an excellent addition so that the reader could print out the single sheets of a meditation to aid them in learning them by heart.
My only advice for those about to purchase this book is that 20 exercises is NOT 20 full meditations.. some of those of spot meditations which hold smaller benefit and reward but are still very helpful. Especially the Freeze, Defrost one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really clear and no-nonsense, 15 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Teach Yourself To Meditate: Over 20 simple exercises for peace, health & clarity of mind: Over 20 Exercises for Peace, Health and Clarity of Mind (Paperback)
A really practical guide covering many different techniques and approaches, excellent even for a total beginner like me. Manages to de-mystify the whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, clearly explained, and brilliant., 24 Jun 2004
By 
Mr. Darren P. Hammond "shadowdh" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teach Yourself To Meditate: Over 20 simple exercises for peace, health & clarity of mind: Over 20 Exercises for Peace, Health and Clarity of Mind (Paperback)
I am not a new age in touch with my inner child sort of person, in fact pretty much the opposite. I dont believe in most of the politically correct, new age nonsense that is about these days, but this book is totally not about that. And boy did it open my eyes to what actual meditation is. It clearly explains what meditation is about and also explains what it can do for you and how to go about meditating.
As someone who has never meditated before and never had any intention of doing so I can thoroughly recommend this book for all those wishing to start. There is no bias or any religious or "philosophical" overtones, he simply explains how to meditate. A brilliant book if youre thinking about learning to meditate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 91 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very clear instructions and descriptions of mediation, 9 Jun 2000
This review is from: Teach Yourself To Meditate: Over 20 simple exercises for peace, health & clarity of mind: Over 20 Exercises for Peace, Health and Clarity of Mind (Paperback)
By far the clearest book on meditation I have ever read. It does not attempt to go too deeply into any philosophical or religious topics and is thankfully free from too much 'hocus pocus'.
Many different forms of meditation are covered without demonstrating obvious bias towards the author's preferences. The instructions are very clear, allowing the reader to get started and begin to experience each method at first hand. This is much more effective than lengthy description.
I suppose that very experienced practitioners of any meditation style would find the book superficial, but then I'm sure that they are not the target audience.
To my mind, the book's clarity and freshness are very representative of the actual experience of meditation. I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book, 16 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Teach Yourself To Meditate: Over 20 simple exercises for peace, health & clarity of mind: Over 20 Exercises for Peace, Health and Clarity of Mind (Paperback)
I love this book. Unlike most meditation books, it concentrates on how to meditate, rather than the history of meditation. And, most importantly for me, it tells you how to build meditation into a normal day, i.e. when you're at work, stopped at traffic lights, doing the washing up, walking down the street etc. I used the exercises throughout the day to help stop winding myself up about a major operation.

It's probably not for you if you want an in depth meditation guide, but it's a fantastic book for meditation beginners, or for people that just want to learn how to relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for beginners, no messing about, 12 Jun 2011
By 
Vinny (Merseyside, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teach Yourself To Meditate: Over 20 simple exercises for peace, health & clarity of mind: Over 20 Exercises for Peace, Health and Clarity of Mind (Paperback)
Wanted to teach myself meditation so I bought this after reading the excellent reviews. I can confirm that this is a really good book. It covers pretty much all forms of meditation and teaches you how to do each one with some very simple exercises.

The style of writing is short and concise with not too much waffle re theory, it concentrates more on actually explaining eavh style of meditation and then doing the meditation itself.

The beauty of this book is that you simply do all the exercises then you will find which types of meditation are right for you, then explore them in more detail if you wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teach yourself to meditate - 20 excercises for peace, health and clarity of mind, 1 Sep 2009
By 
L. A. Riches - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent book for the beginner. The best I have ever seen: very clear, practical and down to earth. The writer is obviously a brilliant teacher. Although the spiritual aspect of meditation is referred to and is clearly important, it is not essential for the excercises. You don't have to be a dedicated buddhist vegan living in a cave to practice and derive benefit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring book!, 8 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself To Meditate: Over 20 simple exercises for peace, health & clarity of mind: Over 20 Exercises for Peace, Health and Clarity of Mind (Paperback)
I had tried meditation a couple of times in the past without any success but I decided to give it another go with this book. Despite its "dated cover" and its pretty small size, it has everything you need to know in it. It covers all the benefits, and different techniques, and makes you think "wow, why didn't I find this book earlier". It makes learning mediation fun, and also very importantly, totally detached from any religious practise or belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews