Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Hathaway book so far
I loved this book and just spent the whole of my day off reading it when I had a million other things to do. I really have not much enjoyed the first two books in this series but with this one I think Lisa Kleypas is right back on top form. Harry Rutledge is a gorgeous hero. Apparently ruthless and determined to get his own way but with such a damaged past which...
Published on 20 Nov 2009 by CJ

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For every writer there is first time, and this is LK first time floop
This is the third book to book in the Hathaway's series about a unconventional family who lives in Hampshire. This is the story of Poppy Hathaway and Harry Rutledge. Poppy is the third Hathaway sister to get her story and we still to look forward to Beatrix (Bea) and their brother Leo Hathaway , Lord Ramsey, story this year and next year.

Due to the family as...
Published on 5 Oct 2009 by Amazon Customer and romance wa...


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Hathaway book so far, 20 Nov 2009
By 
CJ (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tempt Me At Twilight: Number 3 in series: The Perfect Moonlit Love Affair (Hathaways) (Paperback)
I loved this book and just spent the whole of my day off reading it when I had a million other things to do. I really have not much enjoyed the first two books in this series but with this one I think Lisa Kleypas is right back on top form. Harry Rutledge is a gorgeous hero. Apparently ruthless and determined to get his own way but with such a damaged past which becomes clearer as you read that he is also desperately vulnerable - for me a fatal combination. Poppy is also charming and she is just perfect for him - her and her family are just what he needs. I love a romance where the couple get married early on and you see them forced into intimacy, getting to know each other and falling in love and that is what you get with this book. I enjoyed the Hathaway family much more in this book than in the others and their part in the story was well done and didn't feel in any way gratuitous. I can't wait for Leo's story now. He became much more interesting during this book as well when previously I had thought him rather weak and spoilt. The romance in this book is slightly darker and less straightforward than in the previous two Hathaway books but it makes for more emotional intensity and drama and a more satisfactory outcome. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful Temptation, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Book Gannet (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tempt Me At Twilight: Number 3 in series: The Perfect Moonlit Love Affair (Hathaways) (Paperback)
Despite being a member of the eccentric Hathaway family, all Poppy wants is a quiet life - and in Michael Bayning she thinks she's found it. But real life isn't a fairytale, and Poppy soon discovers that the serving maid doesn't always marry the prince. Sometimes she's left with the villain instead. And Harry Rutledge is certainly one of those.

In the third of the `Hathaways' series (Mine Till Midnight, Seduce Me at Sunrise) LK focuses on sensible, talkative Poppy. Intelligent and honest, she has moments of both endearing naļveté and iron-willed strength. Like all the Hathaways she has her own views on society and its rules, and a deep sense of integrity that she will never compromise.

Unlike Harry, who is truly ruthless - in the tradition of LK's most beloved heroes (Derek Craven, St. Vincent, Nick Gentry) - when he wants something, he'll stop at nothing to get it. I did take a while to warm up to Harry, I'll admit, but Poppy brings out the best in him. He's smart and a little too clever for his own good, but his past explains a lot, which is why his relationship with Poppy is such a delight to read. She's no pushover, nor is she overdramatic. She doesn't get hysterical or throw tantrums, and often Harry has no idea what to do with her. She certainly doesn't make things easy for him.

As with the rest of the series, Poppy's family plays a large part, with welcome glimpses of Amelia and Cam, Win and Merripen as well as further developments between brother Leo, and the mysterious governess Catherine Marks. (The epilogue leaves no doubts about the subject of the next book). There's also more from the youngest - and my favourite - Bea, with her wonderful menagerie of pets, including Dodger.

With all of them arrayed against him, Harry doesn't stand a chance.

Full of wit and warmth, and the problems of thinking too much about everything, the Hathaways continue in fine style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome surprise, 27 Sep 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Chatswood, NSW, Aust.) - See all my reviews
Best Hathaway book from the one family member I always saw as completely unnecessary. It seemed that each Hathaway had an important role - Amelia the leader, Leo the lovable sexy wastrel, Win the beauty and Bea the baby of the group. Poppy seemed to be the Kitty Bennett - really, what's the POINT of her?

Lisa Kleypas just near made her my favourite, and Leo was a given anyway. Since his book's not out till next year, let's just go ahead and say this has been my favourite one yet.

Poppy is brilliant - her inner voice is fun without being annoying, and she has the guts to follow up on things she says. There's no bluffing, and she is perfectly able to live with rejecting Harry despite loving him - I didn't realise what a breath of fresh air this would be after the desperate passion of Win and Merripen's book, but it really does work. Her loyalty to Bayning is quite speaking of her tenacity - she doesn't just throw aside previous feelings because the hero crooks his finger. She's wonderful, what a sense of purpose this girl has, I adored her.

I often find the liveliness of one the main characters in a romance novel overshadows the other, even in a Kleypas sometimes, either the hero is one note and too perfect, or the heroine is bland and archetypical (read: spunky! Ugh!). I LOVED Harry, and Harry and Poppy together are gorgeous. While his appearance is quite Kleypas (tall, dark haired and green eyes), he possesses the ruthlessness of Prince Nicholas and the entrepreneurial energy of Jack Devlin but the anguish of his own inner dialogue shows how much he is preoccupied with his love for Poppy which gives him a humanity Nicholas seemed like he lacked. His actions towards her are awesome at the moment of first being together properly - considerate is too sweet a word to describe it, but the intention behind it does boil down to that. Like Emma with Nicholas, in some ways they're foes - it's only when being faced with the equal strength of mental will that the hero is brought back from the edge of cruelty. If you're tired of heroes being just so frigging PERFECT and SWEET all the damn time (!) this is the pairing for you.

But let's face it, you - like everyone - want the dirt on Leo and Miss Marks! There are several interactions and great inner dialogue of Leo's who at this stage genuinely doesn't think of Miss Marks as anything other than something to annoy until a certain event in the book, and from then on, it's full steam ahead and the book even ends on a small cliffhanger regarding an incident that apparently happens over the course of the book which we didn't see but undoubtedly will in the future. Not until next year. Cruel, Lisa. Cruel.

Still haven't come around to Bea, but hey, yesterday I didn't even like Poppy and look at me ranting on now.

If you were thinking about avoiding this one like I was, really reconsider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For every writer there is first time, and this is LK first time floop, 5 Oct 2009
This review is from: Tempt Me At Twilight: Number 3 in series: The Perfect Moonlit Love Affair (Hathaways) (Paperback)
This is the third book to book in the Hathaway's series about a unconventional family who lives in Hampshire. This is the story of Poppy Hathaway and Harry Rutledge. Poppy is the third Hathaway sister to get her story and we still to look forward to Beatrix (Bea) and their brother Leo Hathaway , Lord Ramsey, story this year and next year.

Due to the family as I said unconventional history - Poppy eldest sister Amelia married a Romany gypsy Cam Roahn and her second sister Winifred married to other Romany Gypsy Kev Marripan and her sister Bea are obsessed with animals, that some among other things - Poppy biggest dream is to marry a reliable boring young man. A man who will offer her the dream boring life she want and her choice was Mike Baynin, son of Lord Andover. Mike confess his love to Poppy but he ask her to wait until he convince his father that he want Poppy as his bride. In the same time Harry Rutledge lay his eyes on Poppy for the first time after he caught her sneaking around his hotel tring to catch her sister Bea ferret who stole the love letter that she received from Mike. Harry decided he want Poppy and that he will do any thing to make her is wife. Harry Rutledge is a man with a dark past, brilliant mind and steel determination. He own the hotel the Hathaway's sties in every time they come to London and he is used to getting what he want. He started a campaign to achieve that aim by first informing Lord Andover (Mike father) of his son intentions toward Poppy which lead to Mike leaving Poppy as par his father threats. That left Poppy heartbroken and vulnerable. Harry helped accelerate the process by cutting any chance for her going back to Mike by compromising her in ton ball. From her side, Poppy saw something inside Harry needed rescuing and she hoped that the affection between them will make they marriage a success but that all came crashing down when Mike Bayning come to church minutes before the wedding and exposed Harry's role in it. Poppy at that moment realised that she was tricked but she have no way of going back. She marries Harry but with the promise that she going to teach him a lesson. Harry and Poppy start their married life together in awkward footing. Harry start to have feelings for his young bride he never experienced and Poppy although promised to be aloof started to fall in love with her husband.

I personally considered Harry Rutledge the worse heroes LK ever created. Surprisingly I didn't have any problem with the way he manipulated Poppy to marry him but with the characters itself. The hero charactering didn't go deep and only scratched the surfaces. Poppy character was not fully matured and I didn't feel the sensuality that the other books had. This is book is quite funny and human in its approach and it had been saved by the attendance of the Hathaway's who are always a delight to meet. overall the book was a disappointment and I hope the next books is better. We start to get a hint about the final book which will include Leo Hathaway and Miss Catharine Marks (Bea & Poppy's governess). Leo lost the girl he loved when he was young and think he is not capable of the emotion itself and Miss Marks are have a dark past which linked to Harry Rutledge past. it all exciting and I can't wait for the final book.

By all mean buy the book and read it and say what do you thought of it. For me LK could had done better but that maybe because LK writting set a high standred of Romance that I always expact from her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like Kleypas storytelling., 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ms Kleypas again tells a story that moves along with excellent characterisations.
She has the knack of interesting the reader without using excessive adjectives and adverbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good book from Lisa Kleypas, but not one of her best, 29 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tempt Me At Twilight: Number 3 in series: The Perfect Moonlit Love Affair (Hathaways) (Paperback)
Mine Till Midnight (Hathaways 1), the first book in this series, introduced the reader to the Hathaway family: sisters Amelia, Win, Poppy, Beatrix and brother Leo and gave us the love story of Amelia and Cam Rohan. The second book in the series, Seduce Me at Sunrise (Hathaways 2) delivered the second instalment of love, this time for Win and Merripen. Mine Till Midnight did a lot of scene setting for the subsequent books and whilst you don't necessarily have to have read it, it does give you insight into the Hathaway family's current place in Society and their very close and loving bond - made stronger by the fact that both Cam and Merry are of Romany birth and 'family' is all to them, too.

This book is the continuation of the Hathaway family's matrimonial adventures. This time it's Poppy's turn. Poppy is the bookish one. A little more pragmatic than the rest, but as we start reading the book she's madly in love and awaiting a declaration from a young aristocrat, Michael Bayning, who has declared, in private, his undying love for her. Her family are delighted for her and want the match to go ahead because it will make her happy. But, while the family reside for the Season at the Rutledge Hotel in London Poppy encounters Harry Rutledge, the mysterious owner of the hotel and he immediately determines to make her his own. His method is to destroy Bayning's chances by having Bayning's father declare Poppy beneath his son's station and threatening to disown him if he marries her. Harry steps in, asks Poppy to marry him, she agrees (only finding out the details of his wicked act at the altar), they marry... but it's now a marriage lacking trust or respect. And this is where I got a little bit disenchanted.

It's not until nearly 200 pages into the book that the reader gets an understanding of what drives Harry, why he is so distant and controlling. Supporting characters are not as well developed as they could be either. Harry's staff, we are told, are fiercely loyal to him and there are one or two scenes with them that could have been either more energised or funny but they never quite came off. The use of Poppy's brother Leo Lord Ramsey was also a little jarring. We know from the previous two books he's pretty unreliable despite loving his sisters. But here we see him leave the side of a lover he's already in the process of undressing to attend his sister. He pretty much comes to heel at the slightest nod. Ouch... doesn't do Leo any favours. The set up of the danger and the ultimate bad guy of the piece also seemed rather contrived, as if it were an afterthought.

There are positives. Beatrix is, as ever, delightful and I cannot wait for her book! Scenes with her in them are refreshing. The build up between Leo and Cat Marks (you'll have to read the book to find out more about her. Her 'reveal' which wasn't really a surprise to me but it might be to you is right at the end of the book and is a big hint for Hathaways book number four).

It's not the best of the three Hathaway books, it's the weakest so far in my opinion, and it's also not high on my list of Kleypas historical romances. But as it's Kleypas writing that just means this is a good book not great. And it won't stop me buying the next one in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read but not as good as book 1 & 2, 13 Nov 2009
This review is from: Tempt Me At Twilight: Number 3 in series: The Perfect Moonlit Love Affair (Hathaways) (Paperback)
I looked forward to this after loving books 1 and 2 but i have to admit i was disappointed.I think it was because i had got used to the two gypsy types and to go back to having a rich city man was a bit of a let down! the first two had a unique aspect with the romany traditions and kev and cam's invlovement. This one seemed a little dull.
Now i hate to say that on a lisa kleypas book review because i love all her historicals but i felt this book lacked something. I never really got to know Poppy in the other books and i feel the other characters are so great that she being 'normal' meant she got pushed aside somewhat.
The prompt start to their relationship took me by surprise and i disliked the hero on occasion, though you do start to warm to him if you read on. I felt a little sorry for Poppy at times!
However some parts measure up to the other books and i love the scenes with the animals and when the hathaways are all together, including Leo! The book drops hints about future stories making you want to read on and on. I admit i was left wanting book 4 immediately so something was okay!
But on the whole when reviewing this not much came back to mind and that is a first for a Kleypas novel. Usually i remember most of the book but certain things arent being recalled as well. Anyway, as a fan of the series, it will be kept on my bookshelf and i will continue to buy her novels as even my least favourites of hers are better than most!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful........., 20 Oct 2009
Poppy is refreshing as she is kind and genuine. Harry is such a villain and he manipulates the situation so he gets what he wants and he WANTS Poppy.
The Heroine does fall in love with the Villain and how she redeems him
A must read if you have read the other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm Just Wild About Harry and Harry's Wild about Poppy, 23 Mar 2013
This review is from: Tempt Me At Twilight: Number 3 in series: The Perfect Moonlit Love Affair (Hathaways) (Paperback)
Review taken from my Blog (post #43), after borrowing from the local library.

Book No. 3 in the Hathaway series proved to be entertaining and a happy read.

The story of Harry Rutledge, owner of the hugely prosperous hotel of the same name, and Poppy Hathaway, Sister of Leo Hathaway, Lord Ramsey. Harry is also the half-brother of Catherine Marks (who eventually marries Leo - see review #40).

The book starts with Poppy chasing the pet ferret through the hotel on her own and happening upon the rarely seen Harry Rutledge. The letter is one of love from Michael Bayning, and Poppy is desperate that the secret does not get out before Mr Bayning's father agrees to the marriage.

The encounter with Poppy only left one thing for certain in Harry's mind .... that he wanted Poppy. What Harry Rutledge wants, Harry Rutledge gets.

A set of circumstances see Michael Bayning break off the secret engagement, and Harry makes a move.

There are some delightful scenes - I love the catching of the monkey. There are also a couple of laugh out loud ones too, I won't say much I wouldn't want to spoil them, but the discussion the staff of the Hotel have about vegetables was so funny.

Do not pass this one, or I suspect any in the series when you browse the book shelves to find something to read. A 4 star **** read.

I am eager now to read the others in this series to find out the stories behind the other Hathaway sisters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but not her best, 20 Jan 2010
By 
josie82 (Fife, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tempt Me At Twilight: Number 3 in series: The Perfect Moonlit Love Affair (Hathaways) (Paperback)
Poppy Hathaway is content with her lot in life. She's got her loving, if slightly eccentric family, and now she's very nearly engaged to Michael Bayning, a man who she believes she can give her the quiet and ordinary life she craves.

Her plans go up in smoke the moment Harry Rutledge enters her life. Mysterious, powerful and exceedingly wealthy, Harry is unlike anyone Poppy has ever met before. Harry is used to getting his own way and what he wants is Poppy. But he soon realises that having Poppy is nothing if he can't have her love too.

After Mine Till Midnight and Seduce Me at Sunrise, this is the third book in Kleypas's series which focuses on the Hathaway family.

I love a dark, brooding hero who is resistant to, but desperately needs the love of a good woman and Harry was certainly that. His demanding and authoritative ways make him a hero that not everyone will love but one that I liked and that I thought was perfect for Poppy. Poppy herself was fresh, fun and a thoroughly likeable heroine.

I did enjoy this book but I just felt it didn't have the sparkle of Lisa Kleypas's previous efforts. I could have done with more interactions between Harry and Poppy, more information about Harry's past and most importantly, more angst before both Harry and Poppy discovered their feelings for each other.

Overall this is still a very readable and thoroughly enjoyable book. I would suggest that you've read the first two books in the series before reading this one as there are many recurring characters and situations that will make more sense if the books are read in order. If you like Lisa Kleypas or are simply looking for a good, fun, Victorian romance then I would recommend this book to you. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tempt Me At Twilight: Number 3 in series: The Perfect Moonlit Love Affair (Hathaways)
£6.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews