Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Arcane Society Victorian set story, amusing characters
I think that this is the best of the Arcane Society series of novels that I've read so far. It's a good entertaining story and amusing central characters.

In Victorian London, botanist Lucinda Bromley is shunned by those of the ton and lives on the fringes of polite society. It is believed that her father poisoned his business partner and then shot himself and...
Published on 18 May 2009 by LEP

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - shame about the narrator!
The story line to this book was full of suspense and interesting but was pulling my hair out with the narrator - Anne Flosnik rounding of words throughout the story, i.e. "he was so "revoltttingggg" . Unfortunately I would like to listen to more of Amanda Quick's audio books but not with Anne Flosnik narrating.
Published 4 months ago by bunny


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Arcane Society Victorian set story, amusing characters, 18 May 2009
By 
LEP "LEP" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think that this is the best of the Arcane Society series of novels that I've read so far. It's a good entertaining story and amusing central characters.

In Victorian London, botanist Lucinda Bromley is shunned by those of the ton and lives on the fringes of polite society. It is believed that her father poisoned his business partner and then shot himself and that Lucinda poisoned her fiance.

Lucinda pocesses a unique psychic talent, she can detect any type of poison and is used by Scotland Yard in suspicious death cases. However, in one such case, she has a nasty shock, because she realises that the victim has been poisoned with a very rare Amazonian plant of which there is only one in Britain and she ownes it. Unfortunately for her it was stolen from her conservatory not long ago. Terrified that she will be accused of murder she sends for Caleb Jones, one of the famous Jones family who founded the Arcane Society. Caleb has just started up his Jones
Investigative Agency.

Caleb's talent is to sieve through puzzles and mysteries until he has solved them, making him ideal for a PI. However, he is also a very eccentric character and has no time for the niceties of polite society.

Lucinda is a very sensible, down to earth woman and though at first is somewhat put out by Caleb's apparent rudeness, she is also drawn to him.

Desire blooms between them as they are drawn into a deadly conspiracy game masterminded by those in the Arcane Society who want the founder's "magic" potion.

Unfortunately, it is also believed by his family, and Caleb himself, that he has inherited a legacy of madness.

Enjoyable interaction between the characters and a much more enjyable story than some of the others in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 22 Sep 2010
By 
A. Kinsella - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect Poison: Number 6 in series (Arcane Society) (Paperback)
I loved this book. The main character can detect poisons used by touch and is thrown into investigations in the victorian era. She is a strong woman who lives on the edge of society due to both her up bringing and her unusal talents. She meets one of the Jones family, Caleb Jones who she recruits to investigate the murder of a man that was murdered by poison. While there is a romance plot in this book the interesting way that the plot turns and twists relating to the poison theme is excellent. This is by far my favourite JAK book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arcane Society, 25 Jun 2013
By 
Ange (york England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great series, waiting for more.
Recommend to everyone. Have waited a long time to find a really good book to read and then along comes 12. Brill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - shame about the narrator!, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story line to this book was full of suspense and interesting but was pulling my hair out with the narrator - Anne Flosnik rounding of words throughout the story, i.e. "he was so "revoltttingggg" . Unfortunately I would like to listen to more of Amanda Quick's audio books but not with Anne Flosnik narrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reading the perfect poison, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
most enjoyable easy to read have enjoyed the series and this book definitely fits into the gendre thank you cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is really the 2nd in theArcane Society series but isnot listed as so. It's another in her Victorian era books and is reasonably accurate in the details. I just love all Jayne Ann Krentz books, whether under that name or Amanda Quick and I especially love the Jayne Castle novels. Just the thing to curl up with on a dreary winter afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect Poison: Number 6 in series (Arcane Society) (Paperback)
I really love this book, Characters are really good, I enjoy the Arcane series, absolutley love them all, excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 20 July 2011
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Perfect Poison: Number 6 in series (Arcane Society) (Paperback)
this is the first book in this series that i have read and it was a good one to start with. lucinda leads a very quiet life because she is believed to have poisoned her fiance and her father killed his business partner and then himself. but there is more to her than that, she is a talented botanist but has a unusual talent for detecting poison. this talent of hers is sometimes called on by the police in their investigations and this is where we meet lucinda as she is aiding inspector spellar. she detects that the poison used was derived from the stolen fern from her house. she enlists the help of the delicious Caleb Jones who has an alternative private investigation firm. as they investigate the theft of the fern the sparks fly between them but have to overcome the problems of their pasts to move towards a future together. great chemistry between them but for me Lucinda's cousin Patricia and Mr Fletcher steal the show as they realise they belong together. couldnt put it down that hours would go by and i was still reading!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Poison, 13 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. Margot J. Dunn (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a joy Amanda Quick is. Whether writing as Jayne Ann Krentz or AQ or as in the past Stephanie James. As always with the perfect read - you've reached Page 10 before you are aware that half an hour has passed when you only meant to just have a quick 5 minute glimpse.
Whether writing in the past,present or future her characters - particularly her women are such fun. Though I have never actually met one of her unhandsome heroes - I actually married a carbon copy. I was delighted that Caleb Jones the master of patterns and their meanings has met his match in The Perfect Poison and is destined to have a long and happy married life.
Long Live our Psychic Senses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Perfect Poison: Number 6 in series (Arcane Society)
The Perfect Poison: Number 6 in series (Arcane Society) by Amanda Quick (Paperback - 15 April 2010)
6.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews