Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder with dolls
DI Joe Plantagenet is missing his girlfriend Maddy, but duty calls when a young girl is found murdered in Singmass Close near Eborby Cathedral. The girl has been strangled and one of her toes removed. Strangely a doll with a similar injury has been left at the scene. This is only the start of some sinister and spooky events which may or may not be connected to another...
Published on 2 July 2009 by Damaskcat

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good yarn, tedious writing style.
Packed with cliches and spelling errors ( focused please, not focussed!). Joe Plantaget an interesting character, most everyone else simplistic and banal. Dialogue style really dull; the story however, was entertaining, set in a thinly disguised York and its environs.
Published 14 months ago by Queen Mab


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder with dolls, 2 July 2009
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
DI Joe Plantagenet is missing his girlfriend Maddy, but duty calls when a young girl is found murdered in Singmass Close near Eborby Cathedral. The girl has been strangled and one of her toes removed. Strangely a doll with a similar injury has been left at the scene. This is only the start of some sinister and spooky events which may or may not be connected to another series of murders 50 years ago.

I found the story gripping and very readable. Joe himself is an interesting character as is his boss Emily Thwaite whose daughter has an imaginary friend who is dominating her household. With a convicted child murderer escaped from prison and a growing number of young girls disappearing into thin air they both have more than enough to deal with without their personal lives getting in the way.

This is a well written crime story with a hint of the supernatural. Eborby (York) is as much a character in this series as the people themselves and its Medieval buildings and traditions provide an element of the supernatural to add to the crimes. I enjoyed it and was sorry when I had turned the last page. I look forward to the next episode in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a try, 12 April 2010
By 
M. Gadd "Miss readalot" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Playing With Bones: Number 2 in series (Joe Plantagenet) (Paperback)
I have been an avid follower of Kate Ellis' Wesley Peterson books so I felt I had to try her new Joe Plantagenet books too and although I must admit the former series is better, this book was a pretty good read. The story has a good use of creepy supernatural elements (ghostly children in a lonely road where several murders have been committed), a nice blend of suspects, many with a secret to hide and a hero in Joe that I think everyone can relate to. Like most of Kate's stories, it's not some much a whodunit but a what was done, which means that there are several strands of the plot to follow. My only complaint is that some of the characters lack the depth which she usually, making some of their motives slightly weakA Painted Doom (Wesley Peterson Series). All in all, a good read which will leave the hairs on the back of your neck raised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 6 April 2010
By 
A. Pollard (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playing With Bones: Number 2 in series (Joe Plantagenet) (Paperback)
All I can say is WOW what a book.... this is the first ever Kate Ellis book I have read & I loved it... I actually read it in 2 days, its a "can't put you down book" as your gripped by every page..... a must read for murder mystery fans...... I will certainly be buying Kate's other titles.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 10 Mar 2012
By 
L. D. Miller "tipsymillers" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a heavy read, but very enjoyable nonetheless. I liked the characters and the plot is not too easily detected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting read, 25 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second in the series and as good as the first, there is a touch of the spooky which makes it a bit different, though it is still very down to earth. The characters, including the supporting ones are all distinctive and interesting. I know York well and whilst the setting is called Eborby it is obviously York and she gets the atmosphere just right. I only take issue with the name Eborby which is awkward. The story rattles along nicely and there is a good mix of the detectives lives amongst an interesting plot. I half guessed the denouement but there were still surprises and a satisfactory ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Playing with bones, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playing With Bones: Number 2 in series (Joe Plantagenet) (Paperback)
Love Kate Ellis novels am now on my third Joe Plantagenet book. Know York and North Yorkshire well. ( That's where it's set in my minds eye. Don't know it she has the same idea), Keep 'em coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing book!, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't put it down!! Fantastic and gripping as always! The suspense of the mystery while incorporating real life is wonderful! Highly recommended :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Plantagenet is becoming better, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Laura Maenpaa (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playing With Bones: Number 2 in series (Joe Plantagenet) (Paperback)
I didn't like the first of this series. But this was much better and I'll read the next. History is always interesting. Kate Ellis makes some of her characters very real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 9 May 2013
Even better than the first one. Another easy read. Read it within the week. Couldn't put it down. On book 3 now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sinister, creepy and Excellent, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Playing With Bones: Number 2 in series (Joe Plantagenet) (Paperback)
Kate Ellis never fails, be it a Joe Plantagenet novel or Wesley Peterson murder mystery. This is the second in the Joe Plantagenet series, building well on the first to reveal more about JP and DCI Emily Thwaite supported by the enthusiastic Jamilla and the rather bored Sunny. The plot centres around murders of teenage girls in Eborby where a doll is placed near the body. The question is could the Doll Strangler of the 1950s still be alive and carrying out further murders after a long gap or is this a copycat crime? Very atmospheric reconstruction of the crime scenes make for harrowing reading. JP and ET become very rounded characters with detailed descriptions of what is happening in their private lives. ET has a very sympathic and supportive husband in Jeff but Joe is still troubled by the death of his young wife and his life outside of his work is lonely and the reader feels his pain. Tiny detail such as Joe crossing himself by every body make him a fully alive character whom the reader must admire. I would hate to have to decide which I prefer - this series or Wesley Peterson. Both are gripping page-turners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Playing With Bones: Number 2 in series (Joe Plantagenet)
Playing With Bones: Number 2 in series (Joe Plantagenet) by Kate Ellis (Paperback - 3 Dec 2009)
7.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews