Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent continuation of the series
Hearts in Darkness Nikki and Michael Book 2. Keri Arthur.

ARC supplied by Netgalley.

Keri Arthur was new to me until I recently had the first Nikki and Michael book Dancing with the Devil for review. I loved it and so was keen to get book two. It doesn't disappoint, once again Keri's writing is clear and concise, and filled with action packed...
Published 10 months ago by Jeannie Zelos

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nikki needs to be more assertive and less of a dawdler
An early series by Arthur and most certainly not her strongest. It also isn't indictive of her talent. Her Full Moon Rising: Number 1 in series (Riley Jenson Guardian)books are much better.
This is the second in the Nikki and Michael series. It still suffers from a dilly dallying heroine, who acts like an awkward heroine in a black and white silent movie...
Published 10 months ago by Cheryl M-M


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Hearts In Darkness, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fab read from Keri Arthur. So many times I couldn't read fast enough! Exciting, dramatic and so romantic. Looking forward to reading the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nikki needs to be more assertive and less of a dawdler, 10 Sep 2013
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
An early series by Arthur and most certainly not her strongest. It also isn't indictive of her talent. Her Full Moon Rising: Number 1 in series (Riley Jenson Guardian)books are much better.
This is the second in the Nikki and Michael series. It still suffers from a dilly dallying heroine, who acts like an awkward heroine in a black and white silent movie.
Throughout the book there seems to be a cycle of events.
Nikki seeks out the villain, Nikki suffers from some sort of fainting energy sucking weakness, Michael swoops in and then storms off and Nikki disappears and is suddenly back again from wherever she went. Repeat cycle. Add the odd 'why we should be together but aren't together dialogue' and wait for the next cycle.
It is amateur, vague, lacks character depth and a decent plot. All of that can be forgiven knowing that Arthur is actually capable of writing really good para-sup. stories, so I just chalk this down to the fact it is her early work.
I received a copy of this book via NetGalley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent continuation of the series, 27 Aug 2013
Hearts in Darkness Nikki and Michael Book 2. Keri Arthur.

ARC supplied by Netgalley.

Keri Arthur was new to me until I recently had the first Nikki and Michael book Dancing with the Devil for review. I loved it and so was keen to get book two. It doesn't disappoint, once again Keri's writing is clear and concise, and filled with action packed moments, drama, and yet the thread of Nikki and Michaels romance runs solidly through it. Michael left her without even saying goodbye at the end of the last book. Forced by Nikki to drink her blood when he was dying and didn't realise what he was doing, he has to fight again the demon that makes him crave human blood and is scared he'll accidentally give in and kill Nikki if he stays. She's hurt but understands in a way, though doesn't agree and when they're thrown together in a new adventure she warns him she's not taking No for an answer. He says he understands but will hold out, but Nikki - not only is she a tough investigator but determined not to give up on their love.

Again a brilliant story with them fighting the unknown with unknown powers yet. I was gripped - I love this sort of story and the romance threading it adds to the attraction for me. Not just will they get out of this tight corner, but will Nikki win out on her ploy to reel Michael in...I'm rooting for her - they need and are perfect for each other. Jake is in hospital fighting for his life from an early part of this book so we don't see much of him - he's one of Nikki's only friends, having taken her from the streets years ago and given her something to live for. He and his wife are like surrogate parents and Nikki fears Mary will persuade him to give up if he pulls through, and move far away leaving her jobless and friendless. :( Poor Nikki - life is tough for her, and just when it looks up and she meets and gives in and let Michael into her life she loses him....
Anyway, they have to pose as a honeymoon couple to trace people who've mysteriously gone missing from a popular resort. You know bad things are in store when they meet a vampire driver for the hotel at the airport and he looks sick, and then melts to nothing in front of them. That's just doesn't happen to vampires, and they suspect that what they are dealing with is once again something other than the norm, and they are going in virtually blind fighting one of more unknown foes with powers they can't imagine. Oh and along the way a very beautiful vampire lover from Michaels history comes along. Poor Nikki, and just what will meeting her after so many years do to Michael. Does he still love her? All questions Nikki asks herself.

A great novel for fantasy lovers, it has danger and adventure along with vampires, fire sprites, and dark magic. Then there's Nikki trying to persuade Michael he won't kill her, that their love is worth a risk. He's really a lovely man - I love it when he says "stay here" in a commanding voice and Nikki replies with the equivalent of " in your dreams" :) she's not one to shrink from danger, always wants to do what is right and Michael knows really he can't protect her but it doesn't stop him from trying...

Well written and edited, priced at 4.98 for 288 pages, its not the cheapest but its definitely one I'd read over and over especially as I love to go through a whole series back to back. This series has just been extensively edited and is being re released July to Oct 2013. Its a great series for lovers of urban fantasy and paranormal romance.

Stars: Cracking book, kept me glued, has to be a five :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Keri Arthur does it again! This the second of the nikki n michael books is just as good as the first. Im nit saying what happens but please read them you will be glad you did! Thanks Keri! And keep writing! Please!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hearts in darkness - another excellent read, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nikki and Michael pick up where they left off in the first book. Another well thought out plot, well written and entertaining. Some really clever side characters as well in this one. Once again ...couldn't put it down. Another excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hearts in Darkness (Nikki and Michael Vampire Novel) (Paperback)
i absolutely loved this book and would highly recommend you invest in Keri Arthur's books. they are very well written and not a dull moment. item arrived very quickly and well packaged, good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikki & Michael Series - book 2, 25 Feb 2010
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hearts in Darkness (Nikki and Michael Vampire Novel) (Paperback)
This is the second book in the Nikki & Michael series by Keri Arthur and continues the story about 6 months after the end of Dancing with the Devil. I won't give spoilers for this book but I'd strongly recommend reading the series in order & not continuing to read this review if you're new to the series.

The end of the previous book saw Michael leaving Nikki in order to protecter her - both from himself and from the dangers from the life he leads - and despite his love for her he has managed to keep his distance and avoid all contact. Nikki is devastated that he has gone & is finding it hard to deal with the fact that he left her - she doesn't understand why he didn't even say goodbye. She is still working as a Private Investigator and when Nikki and her partner Jake came under attack when following a local teenager Jake was injured and is now critically ill in hospital. The teenager has vanished and it is up to Nikki to find him. Michael is asked to investigate the disappearance of several wealthy men and he finds himself in need of Nikki's help - it appears that the cases they are working on are entwined.

Michael is still determined to keep Nikki at arms length, but now that Nikki has admitted her love for him she is equally determined to be a part of his life. In spite of this they are going to have to work together if they are going to solve the mystery and survive this latest threat.

I really enjoyed the first book in this series & was not disappointed with this second installment. Once again the action was continuous and I didn't want to put the book down - the plot was fast paced and had plenty of twists. I'm enjoying seeing the relationship develop between Nikki and Michael and it makes a nice change that they can both openly admit their love for each other. It's also interesting to see how Nikki's psychic abilities are changing now that she is linked to Michael. I can't wait to read the next book in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the characters more solid and believable than the first., 7 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Hearts in Darkness (Nikki and Michael Vampire Novel) (Paperback)
This is the second book in the Nikki & Michael series by Keri Arthur and continues the story about 6 months after the end of Dancing with the Devil. I won't give spoilers for this book but I'd strongly recommend reading the series in order & not continuing to read this review if you're new to the series.
The end of the previous book saw Michael leaving Nikki in order to protecter her - both from himself and from the dangers from the life he leads - and despite his love for her he has managed to keep his distance and avoid all contact. Nikki is devastated that he has gone & is finding it hard to deal with the fact that he left her - she doesn't understand why he didn't even say goodbye. She is still working as a Private Investigator and when Nikki and her partner Jake came under attack when following a local teenager Jake was injured and is now critically ill in hospital. The teenager has vanished and it is up to Nikki to find him. Michael is asked to investigate the disappearance of several wealthy men and he finds himself in need of Nikki's help - it appears that the cases they are working on are entwined.
Michael is still determined to keep Nikki at arms length, but now that Nikki has admitted her love for him she is equally determined to be a part of his life. In spite of this they are going to have to work together if they are going to solve the mystery and survive this latest threat.
I really enjoyed the first book in this series & was not disappointed with this second installment. Once again the action was continuous and I didn't want to put the book down - the plot was fast paced and had plenty of twists. I'm enjoying seeing the relationship develop between Nikki and Michael and it makes a nice change that they can both openly admit their love for each other. It's also interesting to see how Nikki's psychic abilities are changing now that she is linked to Michael. I can't wait to read the next book in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampires, 12 May 2009
This review is from: Hearts in Darkness (Nikki and Michael Vampire Novel) (Paperback)
Really great read, couldnt put it down, read it all in a day and a half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hearts in Darkness (Nikki and Michael Vampire Novel)
Hearts in Darkness (Nikki and Michael Vampire Novel) by Keri Arthur (Paperback - 6 Nov 2008)
5.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews