Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Historical Romance/Mystery
With Amanda Quick's novels, there is always a lot of quickie, hot sex, domineering women and masterful men, and in this, 'Slightly Shady' is no exception. However, the emphasis in this story is more on a murder mystery coupled with a frustrated romance than just romance.
As I love historical mysteries, this gave the book added appeal for me and kept me turning...
Published on 8 July 2011 by Crux Roesia

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Shady is more than slightly disappointing
Amanda Quick has written some delightful, five-star romances, especially her earlier works; however this isn't one of them. This romance lacks solid character descriptions: We don't know much about their backgrounds or what motivates them. We don't even know what the characters look like until way into the middle of the book. An example of the plot weakness is that it's...
Published on 29 Sep 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Historical Romance/Mystery, 8 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slightly Shady: Number 1 in series (Lake and March Trilogy) (Paperback)
With Amanda Quick's novels, there is always a lot of quickie, hot sex, domineering women and masterful men, and in this, 'Slightly Shady' is no exception. However, the emphasis in this story is more on a murder mystery coupled with a frustrated romance than just romance.
As I love historical mysteries, this gave the book added appeal for me and kept me turning pages. But if you like your stories centred more on the romance, then this may not be the story for you.

Lavinia Lake, a rather cash-strapped widow, meets the infuriating Tobias March in Rome, when he trashes her antiquities shop to make it look like she has been robbed, and to potentially save her life. Unbeknownst to her, her shop is being used as a criminal's post office, placing her and her niece Emeline in danger.
Back home in London, Lavinia once again crosses paths with Tobias, this time over a dead body. The man now deceased had been attempting to blackmail her with threats to spread sordid embellished tales of her Italian life around the ton and scupper Emeline's chances of an advantageous marriage. Joining forces, the two set off in search of a missing diary, a macabre waxwork artist and a murderer, finding themselves drawn more and more to each other along the way.

A good mystery (though I did guess the twist at the end), a nice if not-that-romantic entanglement and love affair between the two sleuths and good co-stars in the guise of Emeline, Anthony (Tobias's ex brother-in-law) and the deceptively quiet Crackenburne. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 21 April 2008
Nice plot, interesting characters. never loses momentum and has it's funny moments. The ending is unlike any of her other books and it's up to the readers to draw their own conclusions. This is the 1st installments of 2 books with the same characters. Tobias, Lavinia, Emilline and Antony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Shady is more than slightly disappointing, 29 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Slightly Shady (Hardcover)
Amanda Quick has written some delightful, five-star romances, especially her earlier works; however this isn't one of them. This romance lacks solid character descriptions: We don't know much about their backgrounds or what motivates them. We don't even know what the characters look like until way into the middle of the book. An example of the plot weakness is that it's hard to imagine someone as poor as Lavina having genuine expensive artifacts to sell. The story is very developped. This is reading-lite, too light. It's all surface and no substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun read, 24 Jan 2012
I really enjoyed this as a light read. It is not a romance like many of her other books but rather a murder mystery in a historical setting with chemistry between Lavinia and Tobias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Oct 2014
This review is from: Slightly Shady: Number 1 in series (Lake and March Trilogy) (Paperback)
Ver4y good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A must have for Amanda Quick fans, but mediocre at best., 7 April 2001
By 
Christine M. Zukeran (Honolulu, Hawaii USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slightly Shady (Audio Cassette)
I love Amanda Quick,Jayne Ann Krentz,Jayne Castle but this is lukewarm at best. The plot holds but the character development is illdefined. Sexual/Sensual titillation factor is sadly lacking. Perhaps with age the edge has softened?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slightly Shady: Number 1 in series (Lake and March Trilogy)
Slightly Shady: Number 1 in series (Lake and March Trilogy) by Amanda Quick (Paperback - 2 Oct 2008)
£7.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews