Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny tale
Caroline Trent is kidnapped by Blake Ravenscroft, who mistakes her for "Carlotta" a dangerous enemy of the crown. On the spur of the moment Caroline decides to play along as she needs to hide away from her relatives until she reached her majority and inherited her fortune.
Blake Revenscroft's mission was to bring this little temptress to justice not bed the...
Published on 11 Aug 2004 by Ladybubbles

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Adequate Romance
Miss Quinn has come up with a whimsical romance about Caroline Trent, a runaway who is mistaken for a notorious spy by Blake, a government agent. Sparks fly between them, and the story takes place mainly in Blake's country manor. The jokes come fast, mainly due to Caroline's over-enthusiastic attempts to impress Blake and a surprise visit from Blake's sister.
Now, I...
Published on 18 Jun 1998


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny tale, 11 Aug 2004
By 
Ladybubbles (Croydon, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Caroline Trent is kidnapped by Blake Ravenscroft, who mistakes her for "Carlotta" a dangerous enemy of the crown. On the spur of the moment Caroline decides to play along as she needs to hide away from her relatives until she reached her majority and inherited her fortune.
Blake Revenscroft's mission was to bring this little temptress to justice not bed the wench!
Hilarious, I have never laughed so much. You will love what antics Caroline gets up to and Blake's reaction to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ludicrous, but always funny, 8 May 2007
By 
Book Gannet (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Caroline Trent is not having a good evening. Firstly her guardian's son, Percival, attacks her on his father's orders - for which she, quite rightly, shoots him in the shoulder. But no sooner has she escaped the house then she's accosted by a man who will insist on calling her Carlotta de Leon.

However, for Caroline this turn of events couldn't be more fortuitous. With just six weeks to go until she comes into her inheritance, she's more than happy to let this stranger keep her out of sight. After all, the last thing she wants is for her guardian to determine her whereabouts.

Yes, everything is going perfectly, until the Marquis of Riverdale arrives, takes one look at her and confirms that she is NOT Carlotta de Leon.

For Blake Ravenscroft, Caroline's captor, this news is both relieving and infuriating. Having worked for the War Office for nearly a decade the prospect of failing is galling in the extreme, but nowhere near as bad as being attracted to a traitor.

But Caroline is no traitor, just a young woman unconsciously tangled up by circumstance. Even so, Blake fights the attraction, because he's sworn never to marry...

The plot of this book is really quite ludicrous, and the fact that Blake is supposed to be one of the War Office's top agents never quite rings true. However, who cares, because this book is hilarious. The exchanges between Caroline and Blake veer from childishly entertaining to laugh-out-loud funny, with poor James (the Marquis) either caught in the crossfire, or doing his best to wind Blake up even further. And then there are the servants. Brilliant.

Too much of the plot remains hazy at best and unexplained (why Oliver is so desperate for Caroline's money, the traitor's plot and aftermath, etc), but to be honest it doesn't matter. Caroline is too amusing for such things to hold this book back.

Let your sense of humour loose, sit back and enjoy! (Then get hold of 'How to Marry a Marquis' because James is back, and he's wonderful.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 25 Mar 2010
By 
C. Frye "Bookadict" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To Catch An Heiress: Number 1 in series (Agents for the Crown) (Paperback)
This was the second Julia Quinn book i have read and it is one of my favourites. The main female character, Caroline, is strong willed and really funny and the main male character, Blake, is a little irratating at first but he has come to be one of my favorite men in Julia Quinn's books. Caroline has to escape from her awful guardien and Blake finds her and assumes that she is the spy he has been looking for. The events that unfold are humourous and at some points cringe worthy! It is a historical romance and although i do not usually like historical novels but all of Julia Quinn's are funny and entertaining with great heros and brilliant heroins. I have now read this book more than once and i enjoyed it just as much. All my friends that have read it enjoyed it just as much. I would recomend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny...great dialogue, 6 Jun 1999
By A Customer
Having read numerous romance novels over the years, I have found myself becoming rather sated with them all recently so I started reading this book with not much expectation but I was pleasantly surprised. It was very very funny...I found myself laughing out loud at the dialogue between not only the main protagonists but also when the Marquis and Blake's sister were involved. The romance between Blake and Caroline was very entertaining and Blake's surrender to love was sufficently protracted. The book was well written and kept me reading to the end without jumping pages as I have found myself doing recently with other books...so why did I only give it 4 crowns? Only one reason...maybe this is a bit trivial but I kept being distracted by the time it took for the characters to get from near Portsmouth to near Bournemouth and vice versa. I lived near those areas for over 4 years and it takes (even as the crow flies) well over an hour to get from one to the other by car. On horse-back in the 19th century it would take even longer. So Ms Quinn, if you read this, I'm sorry for nit-picking because I really really enjoyed the book but please check out distances when writing about Britain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jula Quinn: Hilarious Author, 19 April 2007
When I read a Julia Quinn I read it as I would any romance, forget the regency historical aspect, she's just brilliant. She's witty and enchanting and her female characters are always strong and funny. Caroline Trent has got to be one of the funniest characters ever. She's bubbly and intelligent and is always delivering a speech which will have the reader doubled-over because of the sheer hilarity of her comments.

Of course the fact that it's a regency means who cannot love the time period and setting? The only thing is that I'd have liked the spy plot to be a little more developed; I'd have liked an earlier appearance of Carlotta... maybe an attack on the house or something... the romance really good as was the comedy. The plot concerning the spies... could have been better.

But aside from that, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Adequate Romance, 18 Jun 1998
By A Customer
Miss Quinn has come up with a whimsical romance about Caroline Trent, a runaway who is mistaken for a notorious spy by Blake, a government agent. Sparks fly between them, and the story takes place mainly in Blake's country manor. The jokes come fast, mainly due to Caroline's over-enthusiastic attempts to impress Blake and a surprise visit from Blake's sister.
Now, I enjoyed this book, but why didn't I give it 4 stars or more? Well, I have a few problems with this book:
(a) The absence of "movement" of plot - the story never moves outside the country house and I feel "trapped" after a while,
(b) Sometime the story loses steam as Caroline pours something or falls over Blake for what seems the millionth time, <c> A lack of chemistry between the two leads. By chemistry I mean heat and sexual tension. Here the sexual tension is at the minimum.
Despite the faults, I still enjoyed this book. But I wouldn't consider it anything more than the light-heartedromp it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plan A or Plan B?, 23 Mar 2013
This review is from: To Catch An Heiress: Number 1 in series (Agents for the Crown) (Paperback)
Review taken from my Blog Post (#44) in November 2010 after I borrowed the book from the local library.

Which method do you think would work to Catch an Heiress:

(a) Arrange for your son to rape her, and then force her into marriage?;

or

(b) Wait until the rape was attempted, then for said Heiress to flee her Guardian's home and then kidnap her by gunpoint because you thought she was a spy, tie her to the bedpost and be generally horrible for a few weeks?

You'll just have to read the book to find out.

The story of Caroline Trent and Blake Ravenscroft.

Full of the usual whit and laugh out loud moments.

I loved it, and highly recommend you give it a whirl.

A 4.5 star read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To catch a book, 2 April 2011
This review is from: To Catch An Heiress: Number 1 in series (Agents for the Crown) (Paperback)
Great book, fun and resfreshing! You just can't stop reading it, it's impossible. You absolutely want to know the end! Julia Quinn transort us in another world all along! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart and funny, 28 Sep 2009
You know, every Julia quinn's book is funny and loveable, and this one is as well, probably more than others :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful witty read, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The plot is a bit far fetched but Caroline is one of JQ's funniest heroines and Blake, although not the usual "JQ" rake is just as witty as her other heroes, but much more moody because of his broken heart. They make an excellent pairing. I also love James and can't wait to read the next book "How to Marry a Marquis" to read his story. Special mention to Perriwick the butler as well. I simply adore him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To Catch An Heiress: Number 1 in series (Agents for the Crown)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews