Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Young Person's Guide to Individuation
In his third work, Mr Happy, Hargreaves takes us on a Jungian journey to the integrated self.

The story starts by introducing us to the supposedly perfect life that our eponymous hero appears to live - the tranquilized bliss and counterfeit euphoria of Happyland. Yet what is it that leads Mr Happy to wander away from an existence that, if truly flawless, should...
Published on 28 Feb 2010 by Hamilton Richardson

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than most Mr Men stories
Mr Happy is better than most Mr Men books and the illustration is a bit more imaginative. The story is good and best read if your child is feeling a little miserable.
Published on 26 Jan 2009 by Daddy-O


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Young Person's Guide to Individuation, 28 Feb 2010
In his third work, Mr Happy, Hargreaves takes us on a Jungian journey to the integrated self.

The story starts by introducing us to the supposedly perfect life that our eponymous hero appears to live - the tranquilized bliss and counterfeit euphoria of Happyland. Yet what is it that leads Mr Happy to wander away from an existence that, if truly flawless, should suffice to satisfy and sustain him? Why this need to venture deep into the mysterious unknown of the forest? To open a door in a tree-trunk and descend a staircase beneath the ground to the deepest recesses of the unconscious?

Here lays the crux of this exploration of analytical psychology - the defining happiness of our central character is revealed as nothing more than a persona. His name and outward appearance are a mask to the outside world and from himself. It is the very inauthenticity of this state of affairs that drives him on the voyage to seek out and confront the root of the dissonance that this generates within him.

For indeed, what does he come face-to-face with at the foot of these stairs but his own repressed sadness? This comes in the form of his miserable alter ego - physically identical, polar opposite in mood. It is only through this confrontation with the shadow that his unsustainable persona can find authentic resolution and true integration of the self be achieved. These archetypes are quite literally brought to light as Mr Happy coaxes Mr Miserable up to the surface and into view of the conscious mind in a climax of now genuine peace and bliss.

In a knowing nod to his source material, Hargreaves depicts Mr Happy as round - a shape he shares with the mandala.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to make you smile., 16 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr. Happy (Mr. Men) (Paperback)
This book will make you smile. This book is the first book in the Mr. Men series that I read and it made me fan of Roger Hargreaves. This is not just a book for children it is a book for adults as well. The perfect book to read after a hard day's work. The book will do the same to you as it does to Mr Miserable it will make you turn your mouth up at the corners and smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MR MEN CLASSIC, 15 Jan 2008
This review is from: Mr. Happy (Mr. Men Library) (Paperback)
MR HAPPY IS PROBABLY THE BEST KNOWN OF THE MR MEN.HIS BRIGHT COLOUR AND HUGE SMILE ARE VERY APPEALING , HE EVEN MANAGES TO CHEER UP MR MISERABLE! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, THIS BOOK IS AN ABSOLUTE CLASSIC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Love these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow amazing you learn a very very good amazing life lesson from that book bye poppy Molly kilbey xxx wow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ah, Mr Happy!, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such a wonderful fellow. My son loves his big, yellow face and so do I! (And he is an all round good chap too. See Mr Quiet for proof.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book. It makes me happy, I can't put my finger on why. Mr Happy is a delightful fella, and I found myself wanting to be in Happyland with him and the smiley worms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mr happy, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
everyone recognises Mr happy and these little books are a good way of teaching children different values in different people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic for a reason, 19 Mar 2013
By 
N. Francis "happyfrancis" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One I remember from my own childhood. Reading this to my son now, it does look a little aged in the illustrations, but the simplicity and honesty of it, along with Hargreaves jolly wit, makes the story still enjoyable to read. With all the harshness of modern life (do our children see it as we do, or will they look back on their childhoods' as innocently as we do ours?) I find myself seeking out only the most positive children's books to share, I guess in the hope that our kids have at least a few years without experiencing great amounts of worry. Mr. Happy fits the bill nicely in this respect and being available on Kindle makes it all the better. Now I can carry the kids' whole library to bed with us at story time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The kids loved it and insist on it being read again and again. I would recommend to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Happy (Mr. Men Library)
Mr. Happy (Mr. Men Library) by Roger Hargreaves (Paperback - 3 April 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews