Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning conclusion to a magnificent trilogy
The Wind on Fire trilogy is truly wonderful. In the Publishing Aftermath of the enormous success of the Harry Potter books, many less great books have been published, with Potter-esque storylines, and other assorted fantasy elements. Most of these books are terrible. The Wind on Fire trilogy stands out among these. It is obviously not trying to cash in on Potter's...
Published on 28 Oct 2002 by Joshua J. Seymour

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Derivative at best and sloppily-written
I read this with my 11-year old, shortly after reading 'The Hobbit'.

I found the story derivative (of 'the Hobbit', to be sure, but also of '1984', of Douglas Adams, of L. Frak Baum, and even of 'Harry Potter' (though I concede it is better written than the Hp series!))

The continual politicking I found irksome and clumsy - done much better (if we...
Published on 24 July 2011 by mark0000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning conclusion to a magnificent trilogy, 28 Oct 2002
By 
Joshua J. Seymour "darkjosh" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Firesong (The Wind on Fire III) (Hardcover)
The Wind on Fire trilogy is truly wonderful. In the Publishing Aftermath of the enormous success of the Harry Potter books, many less great books have been published, with Potter-esque storylines, and other assorted fantasy elements. Most of these books are terrible. The Wind on Fire trilogy stands out among these. It is obviously not trying to cash in on Potter's success, and it is original and far more epic than Potter. The first book works on many levels. It is a enthralling adventure, layered with myth and magic. It was also part satire, with much comedy and brilliant character detail. The second book far topped it, with inspired new characters such as the princess Sisi, and wonderful developments of already known characters. It also had astonishing locations, such as the Mastery compound and scenes of pure tension, such as the final attack and Bo's confrontation with the Master. I thought there was no way the first two books could be topped. And then I picked up Firesong.
It surpasses the first two books hugely. It manages to contain as much of the thrilling action of the first two, while acquiring an emotional edge, which culminates in a finale which would draw tears from the most hard-hearted of readers. It is beautiful and poetic, and the entire book is full of sly jokes, metaphors, and clever imagery, brilliantly evoked by Nicholson's warm, generous writing style. It is a masterful, magical, totally compelling conclusion to a trilogy which is distinctive, original, and will hopefully join the ranks of modern fantasy classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect end to a perfect trilogy., 9 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Firesong (The Wind on Fire III) (Hardcover)
From the very first moment in 'The Wind Singer' I was enthralled. William Nicholson writes unlike any other author, creating characters you really love or hate.
But 'Firesong' has to be my favourite out of the three. I though the journey to the homeland was well written and was fraught with just the right amount of hidden dangers and unexpected joys. What Bo and Kestrel learn from Albard is magical and is magically told. The end of the book left me sobbing for Kestrel, Ira and all the characters I love. In 'Firesong' William Nicholson has created a world of wonder that cannot fail to enchant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest book ever!, 30 May 2002
This review is from: Firesong (The Wind on Fire III) (Hardcover)
To say this book is exellent is an understatement. William Nicholson brings this story to life with imaginatism and detail. The adventure follows Kestrel and Bowman Hath, brother and sister and the long and weary journey of the manth people to their homeland. In the previous two books the story has come across great wonders. In this the third and final book, everything is brought together in a totally new light. As you think you can guess the ending, something totally unexpected will leap out at you. This is my favourite book and i'll always have a copy on my bookshelf! It's truely the best read of my life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best book ever!!!, 25 Oct 2002
'The Wind On Fire' trilogey is my all time favourite when it comes to fantasy books. It consists of 3 books, 'The Wind Singer', 'Slaves of the mastery', and 'Firesong'.
It follows the tale of two twins, Kestrel and Bowman, children of the prophet Ira Manth and they are gifted with special powers of the Singer people. It also follows the story of the rest of their family and the Manth people from the city of Aramanth, who always manage to stick together no matter what. I'm not going to give the plot away, you'll find it out for yourself.
They are extremely imaginative and easy to understand. The only bad thing about it is that once you start reading it, you can't put it down!!! And even after you've read them once you'll probabily end up reading it again and again.
Adults and children alike will find this book great fun to read and you'll probabily find yourself crying with sadness at some parts and with happiness and laughter at others. I give these books an all time high of 10/10 (and I only give these in exceptional circumstances!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The series is The Best!!!, 5 Dec 2004
If you ever see The Wind On Fire Series, it is a "must have" Trilogy. It contains:
#1) The Wind Singer
#2) Slaves of the Mastery
#3) Firesong
#1) The Wind Singer:
It starts off with long ago, when the building of the mysterious 'Wind Singer' took place. Then it zooms foward in time, to the great walled city of Aramanth. Here the twins Kestrel and Bowman Hath live. Kestrel creates alot of havoc, when she shouts out swear words through the Wind singer, after running out of school. A very funny, but stupid boy, Mumpo, with an unknown family, falls in love with her, and follows her every where she goes. Maslo Inch, the high examiner of Aramanth, tries to teach her a lesson, where she escapes, and finding the emperor, Creoth the 6th, who gives her a map, and she then sets out on a quest, with Mumpo and Bowman, to bring back the Wind Singers voice. Only then can the city of Aramanth be freed from the evil Morah...
#2) Slaves of the Mastery:
5 years have passed, the city free from the evil Morah, but then the ruthless soilders of the Mastery strike. Kestrel escapes all of the killing, when she realises that her family and her people have been taken away, under slavery. She follows, and meets up with the people of Gang, where she meets the beautiful Sisi. She wants to continue searching for her beloved brother and family, but Gang is holding her back. But what she dosen't know, is that they are on their way to the Mastery. Meanwhile, Bowman learns the secrets of the singer people, who live a long way off on The Island of Sirene. Pinto, Bowman and Kestrel's younger sister has fallen in love with Mumpo, who is no longer stupid, but strong and handsome. He lears to dance the deadly Manaxa. The bride of the person who led the soilders into Aramanth (you will have to read to find out who the bride is), creates alot of havoc, when she refuses to marry, because she loves Bowman. The mastery try to kill all of Gang, and then, Bowman makes his move...
#3) Firesong:
It is now the time of crulety, and the Manth people leave the ruined Mastery, to find the homeland. Only Ira Hath, The twin's mother can lead them there. They face Blizzards, mind controlling flies, and the evil of the Morah. Bandits steal their young woman, but with the help of Bowman, Mumpo, Rollo Shim, and a few other boys, get them back. And also, they see a rather familliar face among the bandits, fighting them off. Death is near in the snow, when Kestrel, as if it were just like magic, finds a jungle, which is almost too hot. They meet The very fat Captain Canobius there, who has an evil plan, but seems nice. Bowman eagerly awaits the summons from Sirene, and Kestrel becomes jelous.
And all the while, The wind is rising...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These books will set your imagination on fire!, 22 Nov 2003
My brother and I read these books not so long ago and found them absolutely amazing! Nicholson truely is a genius at work.I reccomend these books to anyone, however we think that anyone under a reading age of around 12 might struggle with some possible complexities in the books.But my brother, who is quite advanced in his reading, read them at 10, and probably grasped the concept better than me!Over all the books are really a brilliant read and I would advise everyone to get a copy now.Some say it has'nt got anything on Harry Potter, but i found it a pleasant escape from the cliches of J.K Rowling.Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best fantasy I have read, 19 Nov 2003
By 
G. R. Gabb Williams "megan_williams2" (Fleet, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These books are a fantastic read for all ages (my mum loved them too!) The way the books were written I could almost feel what the characters were going through, and I couldn't wait to find out what happened to them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take your time, 20 Feb 2006
By A Customer
I'd advise all of you not to read this book in a day as it starts off fine but by the time you reach 6pm you've sort of gotten all irritable with people for some reason. But still, the fact I did read it in a day proves what a good book this was! Not as good as the first two but still highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...amazed..., 14 July 2003
This review is from: Firesong (The Wind on Fire III) (Hardcover)
It can be funny how the best books are usually the ones you see and decide to pass up on...
Had it not been for a boring moment on holiday I would never have picked up the first book in this series and therefore missed some of the greatest books written.
The first two books are alive with skill and characters brought to life so well you could imagine they were real. But the third topped them all - I can guarantee anyone who reads it that they will laugh, cry, and be left with the satisfaction of a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Firesong, The Ending Which Made Me Cry!, 15 Jun 2003
By 
FireSong was one of the best books i read out of the wind singer sets. It made me cry so much at the end but i wont say why because it'll spoil it. It was the best book of the three.
Bowman, Kestral, Mumpo, the whole gang! Trecking for miles after they escaped the horrible rueling of 'The Master'
What will become of the special powers we found out that Bowman had before?
Will SiSi's love for Bowmen ever make it? All is revealed in the sad yet thrilling tale, of FireSong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Firesong (The Wind on Fire III)
Firesong (The Wind on Fire III) by William Nicholson (Hardcover - 22 April 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews