Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gloriously funny
This is a wonderful book, clever, intelligent, and very funny.
Suitable for any child from two upwards, it is the slight tale of Mr Wolf's attempts to make some pancakes, despite the rude lack of support from his friends around town, including the three little pigs, Mother hubbard et al.
Delightfully illustrated, it subverts the image of big bad wolf, turning...
Published on 19 Sep 2003 by Martin Talbot

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute; leaves a smile.
Wolf wants to make pancakes. As he doesn't read well, count well or own a shopping basket so he politely asks for some help from his neighbours, the piggies, chicken licken, little red riding hood etc. But his neighbours are rude and refuse to help. We all know why, they have seen this chap somewhere before! Wolf manages to make his pancakes alone. Once the neighbours...
Published on 8 Nov 2003 by canmus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gloriously funny, 19 Sep 2003
By 
Martin Talbot (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a wonderful book, clever, intelligent, and very funny.
Suitable for any child from two upwards, it is the slight tale of Mr Wolf's attempts to make some pancakes, despite the rude lack of support from his friends around town, including the three little pigs, Mother hubbard et al.
Delightfully illustrated, it subverts the image of big bad wolf, turning him into the victim, until the hilarious denoument which, on reading it for the first time, had me creasing up in laughter (which interrupted my daughter's bedtime story that night).
Glorious, highly recommended. Buy it for a friend's child too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful book for young children, 2 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr.Wolf's Pancakes (Picture Mammoth) (Paperback)
Mr Wolf's Pancakes by Jan Fearnley takes traditional fairy tale characters and gives them a modern touch. Young children can easily identify with the problems Mr Wolf has making his pancakes...not being able to read...can't count his money.The ending is particularly unexpected! Wonderful illustrations really make you love Mr Wolf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Mr Wolf, 31 July 2004
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr.Wolf's Pancakes (Picture Mammoth) (Paperback)
Mr Wolf wants to make pancakes, but his rude and uncooperative neighbours won't give him any help. Wee Willie Winkie, the Ginerbread Man, Little Red Riding Hood and the Three Little Pigs all give him the brush-off, so in the end he has to make them himself. When it comes to eating them though it's a different story, and everyone wants some. Then Mr Wolf gets his revenge! This is a very funny book with delightful illustrations, any children with a sense of humour should enjoy it, and their parents too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Wolfs Pancakes, 6 April 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Mr.Wolf's Pancakes (Picture Mammoth) (Paperback)
I think this book is good even though I'm seven.Even daddy likes it and he is 37.Me and my sister love to cuddle up with mummy who is 36 whilst we listen to the story about Mr Wolf doing his best to make delicious pancakes.My favourite charecter is the Gingerbread man and my worst is Wee Willy Winky.I love this book and I think everyone should have a go reading it no matter how old or how young that person is and no matter what size or shape they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My 4year old loves it, 31 Oct 2009
Even though she doesn't understand the sarcasm. I thought it could be a bit scary as Mr Wolf always eats up the others, but my daughter doesn't seem to be bothered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute; leaves a smile., 8 Nov 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr.Wolf's Pancakes (Picture Mammoth) (Paperback)
Wolf wants to make pancakes. As he doesn't read well, count well or own a shopping basket so he politely asks for some help from his neighbours, the piggies, chicken licken, little red riding hood etc. But his neighbours are rude and refuse to help. We all know why, they have seen this chap somewhere before! Wolf manages to make his pancakes alone. Once the neighbours get a whiff of what's baking in Wolf's house they go over and demand some food. Well, Wolf eats up all his pancakes and......
Cute little story if not a little hurried. Children might need some reminding where else they know wolf from. Worth having for the children (3 to 7 year olds) Not a jewel of a find but nor a dissapointment. To buy or not to buy? Buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 27 Oct 2004
By 
Mrs B Robertson (South Shields United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr.Wolf's Pancakes (Hardcover)
This story is well thought out and is fantastic for young minds. My 3yr old granddaughter can not get enough of it. Jan makes all of her books come alive with her great storylines and out of this world drawings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Wolf, 12 July 2010
used this in class to discuss traditional stories. V similar to Little Red Hen but with a modern twist. Adults and school age both enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pancakes!!!, 29 Jan 2010
My nearly 2 year old received this book for Christmas and LOVES it, he asks for "pancakes" every night at bedtime and I'm planning on doing him a Mr Wolf themed 2nd birthday party!! A really lovely funny book for young children, be prepared to read it again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Wolfs Pancakes, 6 April 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Mr.Wolf's Pancakes (Picture Mammoth) (Paperback)
I think this book is good even though I'm seven.Even daddy likes it and he is 37.Me and my sister love to cuddle up with mummy who is 36 whilst we listen to the story about Mr Wolf doing his best to make delicious pancakes.My favourite charecter is the Gingerbread man and my worst is Wee Willy Winky.I love this book and I think everyone should have a go reading it no matter how old or how young that person is and no matter what size or shape they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr.Wolf's Pancakes (Picture Mammoth)
Mr.Wolf's Pancakes (Picture Mammoth) by Jan Fearnley (Paperback - 15 Sep 1999)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews