Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible history for children
I bought this book for my six-year-old grandson. He had been inspired at school by work on the Great Fire. Someone had come to speak to the children and had really made the topic live. James also adores books so I browsed Amazon for a history book that he would be able to read and assimilate himself. This proved the perfect product! He loved the drawings and the...
Published on 8 Feb 2009 by Mrs. M. F. Baldwin

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Great Fire of London (Great Events)
Bought for a six year old who enjoyed reading the story which seemed a reasonable portrayal of the event. However, whilst having a colourful front cover the book's content pages were all black & white drawings & text, on poor quality paper, giving a rather dated appearance & little durability. Not very good quality or value when compared with other similar offerings in...
Published on 19 Feb 2012 by Johnny Robbo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible history for children, 8 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. M. F. Baldwin "literate grandma" (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Events: Great Fire Of London (Paperback)
I bought this book for my six-year-old grandson. He had been inspired at school by work on the Great Fire. Someone had come to speak to the children and had really made the topic live. James also adores books so I browsed Amazon for a history book that he would be able to read and assimilate himself. This proved the perfect product! He loved the drawings and the well-presented detail which was perfect for his age group. As the Fire of London is on the syllabus for Year 2, I would strongly recommend this book for any enthusiastic pupil. I only wish that History had been so well taught in my day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Marg B "marg" (Halesowen, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Great Events: Great Fire Of London (Paperback)
My 6 year old grandson is `doing' the Great Fire of London next term. This book seems ideal - written for a child of his age but seems to give all the relevant facts. I just hope he gets good marks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fire of London, 28 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Great Events: Great Fire Of London (Paperback)
The Great Fire of London (Great Events)
Great book I bought it for my 6 year old son who enjoyed it but also understood it. Short enough to keep them entertained but told the whole story accurately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Great Fire of London (Great Events), 19 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Events: Great Fire Of London (Paperback)
Bought for a six year old who enjoyed reading the story which seemed a reasonable portrayal of the event. However, whilst having a colourful front cover the book's content pages were all black & white drawings & text, on poor quality paper, giving a rather dated appearance & little durability. Not very good quality or value when compared with other similar offerings in this sector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for KS1 topic, 18 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Events: Great Fire Of London (Paperback)
Written in story form, this is accessible as a history topic source book for most of our children in Year 2. They enjoy reading this to each other and remember the factual details included in the narrative. Ideal for use as an alternative, child friendly information source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good book, 5 Feb 2014
By 
A. Shepherd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Events: Great Fire Of London (Paperback)
This is nicely written and informative. My son is learning this topic in school so it has been read and reread several times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Events: Great Fire Of London (Paperback)
I bought this for my son who's in year 2 as it's on their curriculum. He read it over and over and loved that when they learned it at school he could add to the topic using what he had read in the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book year 2 child, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Events: Great Fire Of London (Paperback)
Bought this and the plague for year 2 child, excellent books lots of details and easily read by my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Events: Great Fire Of London (Paperback)
Bought this for my grandson who's 6 yrs as was doing this subject at school. He loved it. Took it to school next day & when they went to the museum of London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 Mar 2013
By 
D. Davis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent book for children, short story, very informative and easy to understand. Brought this book for my child who is studying this subject at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Events: Great Fire Of London
Great Events: Great Fire Of London by Gillian Clements (Paperback - 13 Jun 2002)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews