Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing
Quite simply, this is an amazing book. Nearly 70 rides, all over Britain, lasting from an hour to a full day. But it also includes tours of Scotland, Wales and the south of England. (The book would be worth having for these alone.)

The directions are detailed and very clear - Simon helpfully warns of turnings that are easy to miss and helps out with...
Published 18 months ago by Paul Gordon

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks like it has nice nice routes
It's got a lovely conversational style in its writing, and the routes are well laid out. My two gripes (suggestions really) is that each route should have a tiny map of Britain and a red dot marking its location. I've lived here 8 years, and still am not that familiar with the locations of even some of the larger towns (part of the reason I got a bike, and this book is to...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, 18 May 2013
By 
Paul Gordon "psgordon" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bikers' Britain: Great Motorbike Rides (AA) (Spiral-bound)
Quite simply, this is an amazing book. Nearly 70 rides, all over Britain, lasting from an hour to a full day. But it also includes tours of Scotland, Wales and the south of England. (The book would be worth having for these alone.)

The directions are detailed and very clear - Simon helpfully warns of turnings that are easy to miss and helps out with landmarks, eg turn left after the church, or as soon as you pass the 30 sign. Distances and times needed are given and many rides are done as loops, helpfully bringing you back to where you started. He also suggests other interesting roads in the area.

Very nicely produced too, spiral-bound so it won't fall apart too easily, and small enough for a tank bag, it also has many ideas about things to do and see on the way.

But at the heart of the book is the riding and Simon's a wonderful guide to all the great rides out there, showing you don't have to go far to find them, wherever you happen to live.

This will be my constant companion for years, as I discover new places and revisit old ones. Anyone who wants to have fun on a bike should get one.

Paul Gordon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does as it says on the cover, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bikers' Britain: Great Motorbike Rides (AA) (Spiral-bound)
1st class book,great information,covers routes ,mileage and time taken on tours,and places to eat and stay .Great directions.Best of its kind for touring Britian,evan tells you petrol station to refuel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now !, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bikers' Britain: Great Motorbike Rides (AA) (Spiral-bound)
Best 8 quid I've spent in a long time!
Loads of tips and some great rides
Buy it, I'ts money well spent...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bikers' Britain: Great Motorbike Rides (AA) (Spiral-bound)
I've been cutting out the various routes Mr Weir has been on via RIDE magazine over the past year or so...and here they are in a great, well thought out book..Also with, for example, a 6 day tour of Scotland, 4 day tour of Wales etc. etc. Great layout, plus lots of additional info and easy to read map routing..Bring on the next book covering France..(please..!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bikers' Britain: Great Motorbike Rides (AA) (Spiral-bound)
Excellent, very good range of rides from a few miles to hundreds of miles. Maps very clear and commentary on each ride is descriptive, written in a good style with just the right amount of detail.

Can't wait to try out some of the routes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks like it has nice nice routes, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bikers' Britain: Great Motorbike Rides (AA) (Spiral-bound)
It's got a lovely conversational style in its writing, and the routes are well laid out. My two gripes (suggestions really) is that each route should have a tiny map of Britain and a red dot marking its location. I've lived here 8 years, and still am not that familiar with the locations of even some of the larger towns (part of the reason I got a bike, and this book is to visit them!) so I get a little lost when browsing.
The other hand feature would've been an overview of the routes on a large map of britain - linking to what page the route is on.
Essentially my complaint is about indexing, rather than content.

I've done a 1700 mile tour of Britain based largely off routes in this book, and when it says a road is lovely, it's right. It's worth it for their equivalent of the route 66.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for hubby, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bikers' Britain: Great Motorbike Rides (AA) (Spiral-bound)
Bought as a Present hubby who thought it excellent and can't wait to try out some of the rides this summer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great routes to try out, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bikers' Britain: Great Motorbike Rides (AA) (Spiral-bound)
Well laid out easy to follow guide book with different routes around the country wherever you live. Book is flip type so you can follow it on the move on your tank bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the keen biker., 13 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bikers' Britain: Great Motorbike Rides (AA) (Spiral-bound)
I bought 2 of these - one for a mate - and he's as delighted as I am. The author has also done similar routes for France for his national publication and is a top journo. Well pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some great ride ideas, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bikers' Britain: Great Motorbike Rides (AA) (Spiral-bound)
A well presented book that had clearly been well researched by the author. I have discovered some excellent routes locally using the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bikers' Britain: Great Motorbike Rides (AA)
Bikers' Britain: Great Motorbike Rides (AA) by Simon Weir (Spiral-bound - 30 April 2013)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews