Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixty Islands to Discover
Dixe Wills writes books about the outdoors and is a contributor to the Guardian newspaper, writing mainly about eco-friendly and no frills travel, typically around Britain.
There are hundreds of islands in and around Britain, apparently, so before researching and writing this book, the author came up with his own criteria for choosing the 60 tiny islands featured in...
Published 15 months ago by C. Colley

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Book
As an island nation we have always had an affinity with little places surrounded by water. These isles have in excess of 6,200 islands, 803 of which are significant enough to appear on maps.

Wills has visited 60 of them for this book, and for each island is a lovely hand drawn map, photos and details of how to get there, where to stay and other usefully...
Published 8 months ago by Half Man, Half Book


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixty Islands to Discover, 19 Jun 2013
By 
C. Colley (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tiny Islands: 60 Remarkable Little Worlds Around Britain (Paperback)
Dixe Wills writes books about the outdoors and is a contributor to the Guardian newspaper, writing mainly about eco-friendly and no frills travel, typically around Britain.
There are hundreds of islands in and around Britain, apparently, so before researching and writing this book, the author came up with his own criteria for choosing the 60 tiny islands featured in this book. Each island is given a few pages and includes a map, stunning photos, points of interest and the history of it, plus a full page of information on how to get there and what to do etc.
This book has various uses. It's a great reference book for anyone wishing to visit the islands, and if I was on holiday near to where any of these islands are situated, then I would use this guide to arrange a trip.
The book is also just pleasant to read and an ideal coffee table/ bedside table book. The islands sound fascinating and I enjoyed dipping in and out of the pages and reading about each unique Island. I very nearly made a list of all the ones that I'd like to visit, but quickly realised that I would like to visit all of them! Some of the Islands inspired authors and I made a note of a couple of books that I would like to read.
This book would also make a lovely gift for anyone who likes an adventure on their travels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tiny Islands book, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Islands: 60 Remarkable Little Worlds Around Britain (Paperback)
I think Dixie Wills writes fab books - I have his 'Tiny Campsites' one also.

As a family, we love the outdoors - camping, hiking would love to try wild swimming, and this book just epitomises everything we love in life - secret islands around Britain that you would never know existed without this little gem of a read!!

Well worth the money - if you're a fan of adventure and fancy a bit of 'Swallows and Amazons' then this book is for you.

To all budding Arthur Ransomes - buy it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent !, 7 July 2013
By 
Dr. Jones (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Islands (Kindle Edition)
This book is an absolute joy! Anyone with an interest in Britain and it's islands should definitely purchase this book! It is packed with lots of very helpful and entertaining information about our beautiful hidden gems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will arise and go now, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Islands: 60 Remarkable Little Worlds Around Britain (Paperback)
another engrossing book from Dixe Wills. Full of useful information - where the loos are, how to get there by train/bus/ferry, how far to a good cup of tea, and also interesting stories about the history and life of each island. It is just a fantastic book, with very good photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different!, 27 Aug 2013
By 
G. Dack "Dodge" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Islands: 60 Remarkable Little Worlds Around Britain (Paperback)
Excellent. A huge amount of research, much of which must have taken considerable effort and time, has secretly gone in to writing this book in order to present the detailed history of each little island. Unlike some "guides", the author has obviously visited each location and, in addition to the historical background, presents additional quirky facts, what to see, and detailed instructions of how to visit each one. I also love his style of writing - brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Islands (Kindle Edition)
If I rate this by judging how it describes islands that I know I can only praise it for the detail and the background history of the various subject islands. Very much worth the money and the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Islands: 60 Remarkable Little Worlds Around Britain (Paperback)
I got this out of the library a couple of weeks ago and immediately bought two copies on line for Christmas presents. Already visited a few of the islands and had a fantastic time. So interesting learning about the history of these little islands and I have hijacked this years holidays plans so can explore some more of them . Dixie Willis is a cool writer, so fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Book, 5 Jan 2014
This review is from: Tiny Islands: 60 Remarkable Little Worlds Around Britain (Paperback)
As an island nation we have always had an affinity with little places surrounded by water. These isles have in excess of 6,200 islands, 803 of which are significant enough to appear on maps.

Wills has visited 60 of them for this book, and for each island is a lovely hand drawn map, photos and details of how to get there, where to stay and other usefully information. Also for each island he has written a little potted history, some interesting anecdotes and an overview of his visit there.

It is a fascinating little book, written with wry wit and humour. His infectious enthusiasm with these places comes across in spades. I can recommend this book for those fascinated by Islands and our history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visit every island!, 6 Dec 2013
By 
G. Page - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Islands (Kindle Edition)
Witty, informative, well illustrated, this account of visits to the 60 Tiny Islands is an excellent read and companion. Some of my favourite places in the UK (eg Steep Holm, Burgh Island, Bass Rock) are described in a depth which added to my awareness of their nature and past. There are many very funny comments and descriptions within the text, and each island is described fluently, with visiting details and other information at the end of each description. It made me want to make a 2014 hope to visit many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tiny Islands: 60 Remarkable Little Worlds Around Britain (Paperback)
What a joy to read and discover such hidden and off the beaten places in th UK, will be working through this book for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tiny Islands: 60 Remarkable Little Worlds Around Britain
Tiny Islands: 60 Remarkable Little Worlds Around Britain by Dixe Wills (Paperback - 1 May 2013)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews