Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The modern motorist could learn a lot!
I'm in my 60's and I still - despite the governments aim to fleece the motorist while making us feel guilty for owning a car - enjoy motoring. I respect other motorists and the laws of the road and have a clean license to prove it and also have an extensive 'motoring nostalgia' library so this book attracted me. It was bought on a whim but it was humorous and had...
Published on 21 July 2012 by KARL SHERIDAN

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear
Whatto chaps ... given this by the ol' ball and chain as part of the Yuletide festivities ... due to the dashed bad weather last weekend ... settled down in the drawing room ... poured myself a large glass of mothers ruin and ran the ol' peepers over the contents

If you like this sort of thing ... I suppose this book might be worth a look ... I didn't find it...
Published 11 months ago by Tony King


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The modern motorist could learn a lot!, 21 July 2012
By 
KARL SHERIDAN (East Riding of Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gentleman's Guide to Motoring (Hardcover)
I'm in my 60's and I still - despite the governments aim to fleece the motorist while making us feel guilty for owning a car - enjoy motoring. I respect other motorists and the laws of the road and have a clean license to prove it and also have an extensive 'motoring nostalgia' library so this book attracted me. It was bought on a whim but it was humorous and had interesting illustrations that made me chuckle as indeed did the authors comments. Its a hark back to the days of 'I say, sir - that's a spiffing car!' and although a bit tongue in cheek actually contains some very interesting facts.
If you are a baby boomer you will enjoy this book as I did. Real old school and well worth the pennies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trying to bring the civilising influence of early 20th century motoring back in 'Chap' magazine style, 20 Jan. 2013
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book works really well as an antidote to driving today - Vic Darkwood takes the readers back to the early part of the 20th century, when we were motoring rather than driving, and when the activity was exhilirating, exciting and sociable, rather that the drudge it is often seen to be in today's world.

The book is divided into specific chapters, such as on what to wear, how to choose a motor, how to behave to other motorists, etc. It is peppered with quotes from automotive publications from the 1890s to the 1960s throughout and has many illustrations (from the same timeframe) illustrating the points.

In the style of the 'Chap' magazine (same author) you get a good dose of hillarity, although having said that women may find it a bit less gender equal than would be expected of a today's publication.

Overall a nice and humorous way to let you rethink a pretty important activity that pretty much all of us engage in on a frequent basis and make it a bit more fulfilling.

A final criticism of the Kindle edition being that a lot of hte Figures, which are properly annotated and hyperlinked, fail to display - i.e. there is a blank space where many of the pictures are supposed to be (hopefully something that will be corrected at some point).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spiffing book chaps!, 17 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Gentleman's Guide to Motoring (Hardcover)
Very entertaining book. Delightfully written guide to surviving todays roads with etiquette style grace and panache. The tone of the book is very amusing and the idea of upholding gentlemanly virtues on the roads of the modern day is a brilliant concept!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 29 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Gentleman's Guide to Motoring (Hardcover)
Whatto chaps ... given this by the ol' ball and chain as part of the Yuletide festivities ... due to the dashed bad weather last weekend ... settled down in the drawing room ... poured myself a large glass of mothers ruin and ran the ol' peepers over the contents

If you like this sort of thing ... I suppose this book might be worth a look ... I didn't find it at all funny ... it rehashed the same old jokes from start to finish ... One star because there isn't an option to give it none

So ... there you have it ol' bean ... cover to cover stuff and nonsense ... must go now ... Chivers is running me and the ladywife down to Tesco in the Ford Fiesta! ... I take it Tesco sell Purdey shotguns ????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gentleman's Guide to Motoring (Hardcover)
This was bought for me by my wife. A jolly good present and very easy to read and very amusing. It is a lighthearted look at motoring. Great gift kept me amused for ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars motoring whimsy, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gentleman's Guide to Motoring (Hardcover)
really enjoyable read. graze or read it through, cover to cover. a book to be savoured for those who yearn for the old days of the open,and uncluttered , road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars as a would be gentleman, this book is an essential purchase, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gentleman's Guide to Motoring (Hardcover)
Great book full of humour and old photos of the early days of motoring. It has an excellent 'tongue in cheek' approach to the topic and thus informs at the same time as it entertains. It is recommended fully to those benighted loved ones searching vainly for a gift idea for the males (and some females) for whom presents at Christmas or birthdays are too much of a challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Entertaining, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read this book will amuse petrol heads and non petrol heads alike.
A very entertaining and well written book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, the current Mrs W, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gentleman's Guide to Motoring (Hardcover)
very good, the current Mrs W, has learned the errors of her ways trying to drive and think about making my tea at the same time.

Now she just thinks of making my tea, thank you Mr Darkwood for showing the little lady & myself for the correct way to drive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars then best not bother with the Kindle version, 6 Sept. 2014
By 
Robert Spence - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are thinking of buying this book, then best not bother with the Kindle version. I have bought it, and although all the text is there, most of the illustrations and diagrams referred to in the text are not! Sadly given up with it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gentleman's Guide to Motoring
The Gentleman's Guide to Motoring by Vic Darkwood (Hardcover - 1 Jun. 2012)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews