Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 30 Jan 2011
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Wildlife Photography Awards (Hardcover)
In the past, I have been a keen collector of the "BBC Wildlife Photographer Of the Year Award" books which must hold some sort of record for the proportion of lack of text to amount of pleasure. However, the editions for 2009 and 2010 seemed a bit pedestrian in relation to previous editions and the controversy regarding a recent winner mean't that they no longer seemed quite the "must have" purchase that they had once been. I was therefore surprised to stumble upin this book which is a collection of the inaugural "British Wildlife Photography Awards" which covers almost the identical kind of territory but concerns itself with British wildlife as opposed to the global scope of the BBC books.

All in all, the pictures are wonderful and where the vision and imagination that I would associate with the BBC book is marginally inferior, this book scores highly due to the fact that everything is indigenous. The book covers everything from behaviour, marine, urban and plenty of remarkable pictures of insects. Whilst the usual suspects like hares and foxes are included, there are also some surreal images of animals such as sea slugs and cuttlefish. I would suggest that the comical images of the red squirrels playing in the snow is worth the money alone but then the whole book is full of delightful images whether it is a snail coming face to face with a hedgehog or dragonflies covered in dew. The photo of the wild cat licking his lips is also a favourite of mine.

Unlike the BBC publications, the technical information that is likely only to appeal to photographers is located at the back as an appendix. I have lost count of the number of times I have poured over this pictures in the last month and would thoroughly recommend this book - just the thing to inspire you to grab your binoculars and get out there in the wet and cold!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely pictures, 14 Dec 2010
By 
E. Allison (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Wildlife Photography Awards (Hardcover)
I was looking for a Christmas gift for an elderly gentleman who is very interested in wildlife and I happened to see this book featured in a magazine article. Amazon had it on offer at almost half the cover price and delivery was very quick indeed - excellent service. The pictures are lovely but there is undersatndably a certain amount of technical photographic information which might not be releveant to everyone. Overall, though, at Amazon price it's a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wildlife Photography book, 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: British Wildlife Photography Awards (Hardcover)
This book has the most wonderful pictures from around the British Isles. I bought it for a friend with the intention of going to some of the places to take photos ourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Photography, 27 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Wildlife Photography Awards (Hardcover)
I own a complete collection of Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolios, love decent wildlife photography and am an avid collector of anything of quality. I'd say this portfolio is on a par with anything else I have in my bookcase. The printing quality is very good and the photographs are crisply focused and beautifully saturated. I especially love the fact that the photographs are of British Wildlife, which for me, coming from England, gives the subjects in the shots much more immediacy. Also some of the macro shots are stunning. If you like the Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolios I would definitely recommend this book. At the price it's selling at it's a real snip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuning, 13 Mar 2011
By 
patrick (ipswich, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Wildlife Photography Awards (Hardcover)
As a collecter of Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolios I wasn't sure that a book limited to a small Island that has had it's wildlife and wild places depleated for centuries could possibly compare. How wrong. The pictures are stunning and made even more facinating by the fact they are animals and places I know well. There was even a picture taken less than a mile from my house! I'm already looking forward to next years book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Wildlife Photography Awards, 28 Jun 2011
This review is from: British Wildlife Photography Awards (Hardcover)
An excellent book, exactly what I expected from AA Publications. Beautiful pictures of just British wildlife at it's best and from some very different views. The type of book you can dip into time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 31 Jan 2011
This review is from: British Wildlife Photography Awards (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book with a fabulous collection of photos of British Wildlife. Too good to put on the bookshelf, will have to now buy a coffee table to casually leave it on! Only half the price of high street booksellers and delivered in a few days. My only criticism is to the publishers and that's that a lot of the photos are printed over both open pages which leaves the centre of the photo distorted by the fold in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
This review is from: British Wildlife Photography Awards (Hardcover)
Thank you for my purchase there lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up !, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Wildlife Photography Awards (Hardcover)
Great series off books, would recommend them all if you love wildlife and are a keen photographer :) will be buying next years too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Wildlife shots, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Wildlife Photography Awards (Hardcover)
Never a substitute for seeing the photography exhibition - especially as they are back-lit - but these award annual do make a great keepsake and reminder of what wonderful photography was on view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Wildlife Photography Awards
British Wildlife Photography Awards by AA Publishing (Hardcover - 30 Sep 2010)
25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews