Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2010
Motorways are shown too thick, Toll and non Toll motorways are the same colours. The maps too busy with place names as in English and how that country would spell/write it. The pages look as if printed off a globe. I think this is absolute rubbish , But it is my fault, I should have looked before buying even though I was replacing a AA 2005 road atlas that was excellent
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2010
Dreadful atlas. There is no way of knowing which motorways are toll roads and which are not, many non-motorway roads have no road number on them and in places the scale is such that you could never effectively navigate using this map! Came wrapped in celophane so not sure if returnable, certainly don't want mine and will not use it!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
I've always bought big AA road maps, which for me always lived up to the "Clearest Mapping" tag line. However I won't do so again unless they revert this map to the clarity it previously exhibited.

I can only echo other reviewers' comments - no toll road distinction, motorways shown far too thick. It's in 'busier' road areas where this map really falls down, after the motorways there's little room for anything else. The over-large typeset for towns and cities makes it hard to see which town is actually which, and the route finder for central Europe is far too compressed. And what happened to the city route maps?

All in all, dreadful. The last version of this I bought was brilliant, which marketing 'genius' thought this would be an improvement? Although I'm loathe to ignore a completely new atlas that I paid good money for, I'm very tempted to just chuck it and look for an alternative. It'd be cheaper than crashing.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2010
Bought this atlas for a driving holiday in Europe. The scale of this map is not large enough for anykind of meaningful route planning. My TomTom was brilliant though and did not need to use this at all. My advice, get yourself a decent satnav.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2011
Well, AA, I am really disappointed. This map was delivered to me to replace one I had lent. I am not impressed. The wording and maps are placed as if you are looking at a globe. Ok to a degree, if you live in the northern hemisphere, what happens if you live in the southern half, presumably you would have to turn the map upside down on this theory. Turning a map at an angle to read is not conjusive to happy motoring. I will certainly not be using it on my forthcoming trip to France. What were you thinking of printing this and calling it 'clear'. Also, no city plans. Also, I am english and have no need of multi language thank you.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
I dont know why any one would buy this rubbish,the map book is of poor quality also it only shows main roads ,I tried using it to return from Munich at the end of last month ,got lost more times than I care to recall,very poor product,not what you expect from the AA or Amazon ,if your looking for maps with definition dont buy this,regards Bill Perry
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
This road atlas is extremely disappointing. Legibility is poor. It is printed on a tilt. The editing and layout are most peculiar with several pages showing mostly sea! To cap it all I later saw the identical atlas much cheaper in The Works.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
Excellent product and print. Book is a little big and scale is not perfect if you are planning to check small cities. Perfect if you are travelling to the continent and are using the major roads
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
Main roads oversize obliterating detail. Loss of minor placenames colours so strong that you cannot see the "wood from the trees" Could go on! Most disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2010
Cartography, & scale are not what I expected.
I would be the first to put my hand up & accept that I probably didn't read the description thoughly enough.
I was replacing an out-of-date Michelin atlas. - This was a larer scale I believe: - Certainly, it was thicker.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)