Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Product absolutely great!
This book is great. If you enjoy gentle strolls through the countryside and you live in the Lancashire area then this book is perfect for you. My girlfriend and I have been ticking of the 50 walks as we go and so far we have enjoyed every walk we've done.
Published on 24 Jun. 2012 by Anthony Mills

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreliable
Having used other books in the series for some very enjoyable walks we tried Walk 26 from this edition (Blackstone Edge) fully expecting a well defined walk. Right from the beginning we found ourselves cross checking every instruction along the route as many were unclear or ambiguous. Once we climbed to the top of the ridge the instructions became very difficult to follow...
Published on 10 Oct. 2011 by Trevor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreliable, 10 Oct. 2011
By 
Trevor (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lancashire & Cheshire (AA 50 Walks Series) (Paperback)
Having used other books in the series for some very enjoyable walks we tried Walk 26 from this edition (Blackstone Edge) fully expecting a well defined walk. Right from the beginning we found ourselves cross checking every instruction along the route as many were unclear or ambiguous. Once we climbed to the top of the ridge the instructions became very difficult to follow and we are seasoned walkers. We realised that we were completely lost when the next instruction was 'take the lower path towards a pylon' at a point where the path divided into two and both paths headed towards a pylon. After realising that we were trying to descend down the wrong valley we reverted to the use of an OS map and compass and eventually found ourselves back on the correct route. I took this to be an unfortunate one off incident but having read the other reviewer comments I would rate this book as not being fit for purpose (and possibly dangerous for inexperienced walkers).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong directions!, 29 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Lancashire & Cheshire (AA 50 Walks Series) (Paperback)
My partner and I have this guide and 2 others for different counties bought for us as a gift.
We've used this one twice. The first time we were just unsure about the instructions - they're not very clear, but we put this down to inexperience.
The second time we used it (Lyme Park) within the first 5 instructions we were taken a mile out of our way and had to double back!

It was a basic mistake on the part of the author - "Turn right at the Fork" - we took the right and headed downhill (as said would happen) but came to a boundary gate instead of a car park.
We went back and took the LEFT at the fork and low and behold - the car park was there.

Luckily this was at the beginning of the walk, it was mid morning and we were still within the boundary of Lyme park. IF this had been half way through the 6+ mile walk we could have been in serious trouble as the entire instructions were unclear and had you second guessing the instructions the whole way scared of becoming lost.

We are inexperienced and thought that these books would be a fool proof guide to helping us enjoy some countryside walking.
I am now too worried to use them again in case we get stranded in the middle of nowhere!

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ANYONE unless they are experienced and have a backup map, compass etc.
It's not worth the risk :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars useless, 18 April 2011
This review is from: Lancashire & Cheshire (AA 50 Walks Series) (Paperback)
Be careful if you are thinking of buying this book. We have tried to follow a couple of routes in it now and both times have found it almost impossible to follow the directions.

We are both experienced walkers but were left puzzled too many times for this book to be of any further use to us.

An example of some directions would be, "turn left, then turn right, turn left again" with no measurements or landmarks mentioned.

We did manage to get a laugh out of the book recently when trying to follow a walk in the Trough of Bowland. Several times we had to retrace our steps and found ourslves criss-crossing fields over and over trying to make sense of the book. We also spotted antoher couple who also seemed to be lost, but alas no, they too had a copy of this book in their hands. We all agreed it was of little help at all. We all cut the walk short and instead followed a direct road back to the start, all to traumatised to attempt to follow the directions any further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Product absolutely great!, 24 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lancashire & Cheshire (AA 50 Walks Series) (Paperback)
This book is great. If you enjoy gentle strolls through the countryside and you live in the Lancashire area then this book is perfect for you. My girlfriend and I have been ticking of the 50 walks as we go and so far we have enjoyed every walk we've done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The walks are clearly described with good basic maps and recommendations for places to eat etc, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lancashire & Cheshire (AA 50 Walks Series) (Paperback)
I couldn't find this in print anywhere else. I have a copy for myself and wanted to buy it as a gift. The walks are clearly described with good basic maps and recommendations for places to eat etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars walker's book, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lancashire & Cheshire (AA 50 Walks Series) (Paperback)
Great little book plenty of varied walks. Looking forward to trying them as soon as the weather decides to cheer up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD WALK ND EASY TO, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lancashire & Cheshire (AA 50 Walks Series) (Paperback)
WORTH HAVING. GOOD WALK ND EASY TO FOLLOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lancashire & Cheshire (AA 50 Walks Series)
Lancashire & Cheshire (AA 50 Walks Series) by AA Publishing (Paperback - 28 Feb. 2009)
Used & New from: £0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews