Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need from a travel guide
I currently live in Lisbon so I use this guide quite.
Most importantly for a travel guide, it contains no factual innacuracies (or none that I've found yet).
It contains all the information you might possibly need, from transport to places, costs, opening times, maps, and a brief historical/contextual information. It's all presented really well, in a way that is...
Published on 20 Mar. 2009 by Ian Shine

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unlike the city the guide is well out of date
I have found some citypack guides most useful and like the plastcised map. The sections are helpfully set out. The massive downside is that the timings and general information on the different historic sites are often wildly inaccurate.The restaurant section might as well be ignored. There is no mention of the handy travel card which costs 50 cents and can be purchased at...
Published on 3 Mar. 2012 by Nelson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need from a travel guide, 20 Mar. 2009
By 
Ian Shine (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lisbon (AA CityPack Guides) (Paperback)
I currently live in Lisbon so I use this guide quite.
Most importantly for a travel guide, it contains no factual innacuracies (or none that I've found yet).
It contains all the information you might possibly need, from transport to places, costs, opening times, maps, and a brief historical/contextual information. It's all presented really well, in a way that is easy to read and browse. You can easily find what you want in 30 seconds, or spend longer reading up on something if you wish.
The pictures are great, the pull out map is excellent and waterproof (Lisbon can be very wet from November to February), and I couldn't possibly ask for anything more from a city guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 11 July 2011
By 
L. Dunn (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lisbon (AA CityPack Guides) (Paperback)
Already have AA guides for previous City breaks. They always list the top 25 places to visit and the colour coded areas are great as you can see exactly what is available in each district. Lisbon is a great City to visit, lots to see and do and transport system is very frequent and not expensive. Would recommend these books for any short breaks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unlike the city the guide is well out of date, 3 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Lisbon (AA CityPack Guides) (Paperback)
I have found some citypack guides most useful and like the plastcised map. The sections are helpfully set out. The massive downside is that the timings and general information on the different historic sites are often wildly inaccurate.The restaurant section might as well be ignored. There is no mention of the handy travel card which costs 50 cents and can be purchased at all metro stations for as little as a 24 hour period and topped after thereafter.This card gives unlimited use of the trains, trams,metro, lifts and funiculars which given the gradient of some of the hills is a real bonus. The Lisbon tourist office in the centre will save you wasting your money on this guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A helpful back-up guide but too lightweight, 10 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Lisbon (AA CityPack Guides) (Paperback)
I used this in tandem with the TimeOut Guide which is overall better, containing more history, more information on everything (from museums to restaurants). Highlights are:

1. the pull out map is very good and durable, although the Bairro Alto and Alfama areas do not easily lend themselves to accurate mapping

2. the section on Belem (a must see area) is very good and remedied the very brief treatment in TimeOut.

3. the metro and tram map is very clear.

Letdowns are:

1. the list of hotels and restaurants is slender

2. overall there is a lack of information which makes the guide frustrating for more than a flying visit

In short, a qualified recommendation but worth it for the map and section on Belem alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent city guide & map, 30 Jun. 2012
By 
Jimbob036 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lisbon (AA CityPack Guides) (Paperback)
I've never used an AA Citypack guide before, and I was very impressed with this one. I found it very useful for many reasons- chiefly for the quality waterproof fold-out map covering much of the city in a single map. Many guides split their maps between the front & back covers, so you need to do a lot of cross-referencing to work out where you're going. On the reverse side is a comprehensive indexed list of street & place names & a map of the metro, funicular, bus & tram network. The map is still looking good despite a week of being thrust in & out of my pocket & being blown about by the wind!

The guide itself is a good size to fit in your pocket, and starts off with an introduction to Lisbon. There are a couple of suggested itineraries, followed by some more information. It then divides into 6 sections, covering each district individually, lastly with a Further Afield section.

The last section covers essential information, such as some phrases in Portuguese, where to stay & travel info. I was surprised to find the travel section didn't mention the re-useable tag cards, which for 5 Euros per 24-hour period (plus 25 Cents to purchase the actual card) allow unlimited use of most transportation. These can be purchased form machines in all metro stations. But in fairness, this scheme may have been introduced after the book was published. I have to say this is one of the most useful travel guides I've ever used, and would recommend it for anyone travelling to Lisbon for a short, or longer break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lisbon (AA CityPack Guides) (Paperback)
Helpful info and pocket/handbag size
Recommended
The first copy I received did not have the map included, but the suppliers provided me with a 2nd copy whichdid include the most useful map
I was glad I contacted them
They were most helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars DESCRIPTION LACKING DETAIL, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lisbon (AA CityPack Guides) (Paperback)
NO PULL OUT MAP, NOT MUCH USE WITHOUT IT, CAN READ ABOUT ALL THE NICE PLACES BUT DONT KNOW WHERE THEY ARE IN THE CITY.
PERHAPS THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN INDICATED IN THE DESCRIPTION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lisbon is better than the guide, 31 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Lisbon (AA CityPack Guides) (Paperback)
This was the most disappointing travel guide I have ever purchased.

There are many factual and significant errors in the text, for example the guides states that the number 28 tram goes to Belem, it doesn't!

The text refers to places and gives you the street names, often these streets are not labelled on the maps, so your chances of finding them are slim.

Some of the descriptions don't encourage you to visit the places, for example one of the restaurant write-ups describes the food as, "nothing special". So why was it in the guide you might ask?

I have never been overly pleased with travel guides that I have bought in the past but this one takes the biscuit and moved me to review it.

Fortunately Lisbon itself saved the day and I had a great trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lisbon (AA CityPack Guides) (Paperback)
Good item added to collection, will be enjoyed fully when needed, very useful and a great addition, will be added to my travel library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars christmas present, 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lisbon (AA CityPack Guides) (Paperback)
This came just as the item was described. It came before the date stated so I was well impressed with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lisbon (AA CityPack Guides)
Lisbon (AA CityPack Guides) by AA Publishing (Paperback - 15 Jan. 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews