Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Celebrating Landscape Photography, 27 Dec 2007
By 
C. France (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Landscape Photographer of the Year: Collection 1 (Hardcover)
I couldn't wait for this book, and I am please that this exciting event has had a book printed in its honour. Charlie Waite, one of the UK's most celebrated and respected landscape photographers is this events brainchild and the book is published by AA Publishing.

The book opens to an introduction, covering the competitions categories, the sponsors and special prizes. There is then a foreword by Charlie, giving his thoughts about the subject of landscape photography, environmental issues, the judging and expressing his love of the land.
The book is very well put together physically, the pages are of very high quality, and the images are printed to a very high resolution, meaning the viewer receives their full impact and details. Each image has a page dedicated to it, some bleed onto two pages. Where this happens, I find that the image becomes slightly disjointed and the viewers eyes are unable to rest on the image as a whole, however, it is not too much of an issue. Each image is credited to the photographer, with a title, followed by a small written piece about the location and the reasons behind the photographers justification to taking the image. Unfortunately there are no technical details at all covering camera, exposure, film, filters and post production etc. I don't think it would of been too much of an issue to include such information, after all, most people who will purchase this book will be photographers. Again, the photographers themselves have their website details printed at the back of the book giving the reader a chance to visit and view further works.

To sum up, a very good quality book, in both materials and presentation, lacking a little with information, however this is not detrimental over all, and the images are of a good size giving the viewer satisfaction. Well done Charlie, well done the AA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to get hold of the next in the series, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Landscape Photographer of the Year: Collection 1 (Hardcover)
I received this book as a Christmas present, and was not disappointed. (I had requested it). Nicely laid out, with images of a sufficient size to appreciate the subject matter and skills of the individual photographers. The book is a joy from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Landscape Photographer of the Year Collection 1, 14 Nov 2010
This review is from: Landscape Photographer of the Year: Collection 1 (Hardcover)
This is a quality item. Beautiful images with a diverse range and thoughtful presentation. The quality in the publication and reproduction is five stars. Its very insightful to read the photographer thoughts which accompany each images. Now having the first three of these collections I consider them in the top ten photography books I have ever viewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, with hopefully more to follow!, 6 Dec 2007
By 
Mark Gould (Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Landscape Photographer of the Year: Collection 1 (Hardcover)
The book starts with a page of information about the competition and it's categories. The descriptions of the categories are quite succinct and in a way I would have liked to have known more as to what the judges were looking for in each of the categories. There is then a couple of pages about the judges.

The photographs in the book are divided up according to the categories of the competition (classic view, living the view, your view, and phone view) and further subdivided by adult and youth. The categories of the competition do seem a little unusual and I did wonder why an image might have been submitted to 'my view' rather than 'classic view'. I enjoyed the 'living view' category as it had some beautiful images, with people as their subject, that were a welcome departure from those in the 'classic view' category. There weren't many images in the 'phone view' category!

It is a credit to the organisers of the competition that, in this first year, the standard of the images was so high. Almost every image is stunning. The reproduction quality is very high (although my copy has been misprinted on a few pages). The paper of the pages has a good feel to it and the book sits open nicely on a table when reading. This last point is important as quite a few of the images spanned two pages. I don't normally like this as it makes the image harder to view. I appreciate that the images can reproduced larger like this, but I'd still rather view an image on a single page. Reproducing the image as large as possible seems to be high on the agenda as usually the images are printed edge to edge. Again, I'd prefer a little white space around the image. Otherwise the layout is good. There is never more than one image per page (except at the end in the 'phone view' section), and each image has the photographers name, the location and a photographers comment on the image. The only other thing I found myself wanting to know was what equipment was used to produce the photograph.

Lastly there are a couple of pages with the photographer's websites listed. This is a great idea as many of the photographer's websites are setup for print purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 19 April 2014
By 
Reider (Norfolk England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Photographer of the Year: Collection 1 (Hardcover)
These photos are so inspiring. I will be looking at this book many times to admire these beautiful images. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Photos, Great Inspiration, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Photographer of the Year: Collection 1 (Hardcover)
Bought for a pro photographer, so could be improved by gving more technical details about the shots and equipment used. Beautiful book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Landscape photography book, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. S. J. Rolph (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Photographer of the Year: Collection 1 (Hardcover)
A book full of beautiful photographs - very exciting and inspirational - a perfect gift for a budding photographer friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for lovers of landscape, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Photographer of the Year: Collection 1 (Hardcover)
beautiful book for photographers lovers of landscape all weather ....
beautiful compositions, beautiful colors
each landscape photographers must have these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended item, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Photographer of the Year: Collection 1 (Hardcover)
Recommended book for everyone who is interested in landscape photography. I plan to buy other books from this nice collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Landscape Photographer of the Year: Collection 1, 21 April 2010
By 
Andrew Fuller (Tasmania, Australia.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Landscape Photographer of the Year: Collection 1 (Hardcover)
The first in this compelling series of landscape shots of the United Kingdom, taken by professional and amateur photographers alike. Numerous beautiful works litter it's every page and make this a must for your collection, or simply for leaving out for others to admire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Landscape Photographer of the Year: Collection 1
Landscape Photographer of the Year: Collection 1 by Charlie Waite (Hardcover - 17 Sep 2007)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews