Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be cool, be bold, brand yourself, 28 Jan 2012
By 
A. Michaelides "Dimis Michaelides" (Nicosia, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ros Taylor has written a business book about the important stuff at work, about you and me, not profits and losses. It really does begin with you and me and a simple questionnaire on how we experience our own confidence. Then a highly readable review of some sensible theory from scientists not shamans, including Seligman's learned optimism and a self-assessment. To illustrate Ros Taylor offers us autobiographical clips from her childhood and family and from her experience as a clinical psychologist - cases of prisoners and institutionalized people - and as an executive coach - cases of CEOs and senior executives. And a hint on why the best confidence tricksters are first and foremost likeable people!

The book is peppered with intelligent tips. Simple, not simplistic. Tips on doing, tips on being. Be cool. Be bold. Brand yourself. What if you were a car, what's your favorite color?

A book on leadership that first gently urges you, as did the ancient Socrates, to know yourself. Then understand how you relate to others. Recognize the impact of first impressions. Be conscious of the "image" that you are broadcasting with your words and your movements.

And Ros Taylor's penmanship flows beautifully too.

You will love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confidence at Work - Confidently Confident, 29 Jan 2011
Professor Taylor's book is a cut above the average "self-improvement"/"motivational" shtick. It is thoughtful and if you'll take time to consider the implications of what's being said, quietly profound. The central idea is that "Confidence", while learnable, doesn't graft well. You don't buy it like a bag. Authentic Confidence (with a capital C) comes from within and is the product of self-awareness and a willingness to work at understanding and acquiring new skills. I suspect the "at Work" part of the title is the publisher's attempt to appeal to the peripatetic Airport Book Club crowd - but this kind of confidence works anywhere. That said, the book has plenty of examples and exercises and just enough philosophy to endow it with the clang of authenticity without burdening it with the deadening thud of "academe". Confidence at Work: Get It Feel It Keep It
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look success in the face and decide to go for it - skillfully, 2 Jun 2012
I had the pleasure of meeting Ros last month at a `Leaders in Scotland' event where she was facilitating a session on `Leadership and Confidence'. Reading her new book 'Confidence at Work' is just like being with her. Her bright personality, personal energy and professional ability shine through in this well written book to inform and entertain, with a vivid collection of `stories' from personal experience and from people she has known or interviewed.

I particularly like the way that Ros has researched and structured the book to make it easy to read and to build up a range of confidence skills in a very practical way. Other reviewers here have done a good job of bringing out the many positive features of the book, so I will gratefully acknowledge these rather than repeat them.

One of the comments about "authentic confidence" prompted me to think of Ariel and Shya Kane's book "Working on Yourself Doesn't Work - the 3 simple ideas that will instantaneously transform your life". This is about the power of self awareness, simple nonjudgemental seeing or experiencing in the present moment and the transformations that result from allowing thoughts and emotions to complete themselves naturally.

The authors of these two books take a fundamentally different approach to self development and self realisation. Ros' takes the psychologist's approach to change through self knowledge and behavioural skills development. Ariel and Shya's takes the anthropologist's approach to transformation through simple observation without judgement of how things operate and function, leading to natural human completeness and being.

Perhaps together they provide a complete guide to achieving inner and outer confidence in life. I would certainly recommend reading both books, and I congratulate the authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confidence at work - or elsewhere, 17 Jun 2011
A thoroughly enjoyable and interesting book from Ros Taylor which is full of useful tips for life. Easy to read. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very helpful book, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I I like the way Ros explained the topics with clear examples. she also gives me practical exercise to become more condfident.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, Interesting Book, 31 Jan 2011
Ros Taylor's 'Confidence at Work' was a great book! It was very interesting in that it wasn't just information; there were many real-life stories to back up each of her ideas and concepts. The different tests throughout bring the reader into the book and makes the reader apply the concepts to himself/herself. It was very relevant to today's workplace and incredibly helpful. It reads more like a novel which keeps the reader engaged and interested. Overall, I really enjoyed Ros Taylor's latest book about confidence and look forward to applying these concepts to my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confidence At Work, 26 Feb 2011
This book is well researched, practical, succinct and very useful.Ros had distilled her own considerable experience working with a wide range of people into a practical self help guide for all of us. She blends research, psychological underpinnings and individual case studies to provide insight into components of confidence and offers techniques and strategies to change the way we handle ourselves in a wide range of situations.
Anyone looking to increase their confidence will find plenty to work with. Anyone working in coaching or development will find it an invaluable resource. Get it, read it and spread the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner !, 14 Feb 2011
Confidence at Work is another superb self development guide book from Ros Taylor.Easy to follow and understand, full of engaging tales from industry leaders, amusing anecdotes, and great relevant exercises -- all designed to get you understanding yourself from the inside. Most helpfully, each chapter ends with a short summary punching home the essential learning points. Reading this book will certainly provide you with the "Steps to Confidence at Work".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Confidence at Work: Get It, Feel It, Keep It
Confidence at Work: Get It, Feel It, Keep It by Ros Taylor (Paperback - 3 July 2013)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews