Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for executive coaches
Liz Hall: Kogan Page, London, 2013.

This is a very substantial but intensely accessible book from an author who is has deeply immersed herself in what it is she is writing about. That personal knowledge shines from every page as she grapples with the tricky problem of how does an executive coach get busy executives to stop for long enough to understand and...
Published 23 months ago by Dr P T Brown

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't engage me at all - way overpriced too!
I really didn't like this book. It didn't engage me at all. I bought it because it had a number of highly rated reviews which on reflection were probably not genuine. I didn't like the structure or the writing style, I found I just couldn't get into it at all. It;s certainly not worth the price tag - that's for sure. In my opinion there are far better writers on this...
Published 17 months ago by In My Opinion


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for executive coaches, 19 April 2013
This review is from: Mindful Coaching: How Mindfulness can Transform Coaching Practice (Paperback)
Liz Hall: Kogan Page, London, 2013.

This is a very substantial but intensely accessible book from an author who is has deeply immersed herself in what it is she is writing about. That personal knowledge shines from every page as she grapples with the tricky problem of how does an executive coach get busy executives to stop for long enough to understand and themselves grapple with what they are missing in the under-used / unexplored / unknown parts of their brains.

It is not just a book that comes from personal experience, however. Liz Hall makes continuous easy reference to the more readily available scientific and clinical literature in support of her general proposition that mindfulness, which has been around various guises `for more than 2,500 years', can substantially improve effective executive functioning. And she cites supporting evidence that major world-wide organisations are harnessing its value.

An endearing comment in the Introduction says: I confess I'm not a huge fan of the word `mindfulness' as I think it's misleading, implying we're just talking about the mind or the brain. I prefer the term `present-moment awareness', perhaps. But Liz Hall stays with the word `mindfulness' because it is well known.

That `perhaps' is, (perhaps), not insignificant. To be so passionate about the topic but not keen on its name suggests a branding problem that needs solving - as is the case with so much within the applied neurosciences. It is not resolved within the book, but there is a very honest and effective section on introducing mindfulness to clients. And the whole book is grounded on a survey in 2012 that the author conducted among coaches with regard to the knowledge and use of mindfulness. 156 respondents in 10 different countries around the world gave some insight into what they found useful and practised.

It is clear that the practice of mindfulness strengthens the immune system in all kinds of ways. When emotional viruses invade so much organisational experience for so many people in so much of their lives, practical antidotes rather than pills are invaluable. And when the practical antidote has measurable added benefits in improved performance and personal well-being, even more so. This will become a key book pointing the way to how organisations must change if they are to become sustainable - that individuals find new ways of relating to their own sense of themselves, to each other, to the organisational world they inhabit, and to a world based on the quality of relationship not just the power of profit.

P T Brown PhD / Vientiane, Lao PDR.
Previously Visiting Professor in Applied Neuroscience, London South Bank University and in Individual and Organisational Psychology, the Nottingham Law School.
Neuropsychology for Coaches: Understanding the basics (Coaching in Practice)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for coaches, 7 May 2013
This review is from: Mindful Coaching: How Mindfulness can Transform Coaching Practice (Paperback)
This book is an essential read for coaches who want to understand the power of mindfulness and how to incorporate it seamlessly into their coaching practice. I have been coaching for some years but am relatively new to mindfulness. Liz Hall makes the connections between coaching and mindfulness in ways that any professional coach will understand and find natural. The extent of her research is extremely impressive but the research is there in service of our understanding rather than for its own sake and it's the way in which she combines the research citations with her own, very human, voice as a coach and as a woman that makes the book special. I learnt a great deal whilst experiencing a sense of validation in doing what feels right both in my personal mindfulness practice and in my coaching. My only wish would be to have all her mindfulness scripts in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent addition for both mindfulness and coaching practitioners, 28 April 2013
This review is from: Mindful Coaching: How Mindfulness can Transform Coaching Practice (Paperback)
Liz Hall manages to make a compelling case for the use of mindfulness for both coaches and their clients. Written with an engaging style this book is accessible and comprehensive and will undoubtedly be of great value and interest to professional coaches and to anyone who uses coaching-style conversations in the workplace - leaders, managers, teachers. I would also suggest that mindful practitioners who are not coaches would find this a worthwhile addition to their bookshelves. Thanks Liz, a great gift to the coaching community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Handbook for Coaches Interested in Mindfulness, 15 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Mindful Coaching: How Mindfulness can Transform Coaching Practice (Paperback)
Liz Hall's book is first class.

There's a lot of talk about mindfulness and, to those who understand both coaching and mindfulness, the marriage is an obvious one. But where to begin to build it into your practice? How to deal with the cynicism you'll encounter from some coaches? How to decide if it's an appropriate intervention for your client?

These are all themes that Liz Hall takes on in an extremely comprehensive manner. While she doesn't shy away from the more 'technical' information on how mindfulness works and why it's appropriate to coaching, she also manages to address that area so often lacking in books or articles on the topic: practical application.

This book links mindfulness to all conventional coaching themes in a convincing and practical manner

A really great source book for the professional coach.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading to build mindfulness into your coaching practice, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindful Coaching: How Mindfulness can Transform Coaching Practice (Paperback)
Mindful coaching is a book I would whole heartedly recommend not only to deepen our practice as coaches but also to widen our understanding of the field of mindfulness. Liz's book is comprehensive as she weaves into the text several strands that deepen our understanding of the topic. She pulls on the synergy between coaching and mindfulness such as developing presence, compassion and working non-judgmentally;she discusses how we can work with our coaching clients mindfully using her FEEL model. Liz also outlines tips on making a business case for mindfulness and what some of the pitfalls can be and pulls out the benefits of mindfulness with the supporting scientific evidence such as how it reduces stress and increases resilience, develops emotional intelligence, supports creativity and builds what Boyatzis calls resonant leadership.Knowing these benefits that have been scientifically validated how can we not work with mindfulness in our coaching practice and in our lives?

What makes this a gem of a book is Liz's engaging writing style as she generously weaves in her own examples of working with mindfulness over the years and you can resonate with the wisdom that Liz draws from the practice.She has poured her passion for the topic into the book and worked hard to engage us on so many different levels. I love her description of it as 'mind-body-heart-full-ness'.What also brings the book alive are the mindfulness practices such as the body scan, awareness of breath and three-minute breathing space that can get you started on your own mindfulness journey aswell as your client. Finally, it is the useful case studies of practitioners already using a mindful coaching aproach that brings the topic alive and makes working with the concept 'mindful coaching' accessible.

In short, this is diamond of a book illuminating the many facets of working with mindfulness in our coaching practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A finger pointing the way........, 2 Aug. 2013
By 
S. Azmatullah "Azmat" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindful Coaching: How Mindfulness can Transform Coaching Practice (Paperback)
As an executive coach with a long-standing interest in mindfulness practices I was delighted to see that a book is now available showing how such practices can transform coaching practice. 'Mindful Coaching' presents an excellent and comprehensive survey of the wealth of evidence now available showing how mindfulness practices can produce a large array of benefits all of which contribute to more effective coaching. The mindfulness practices are described in easy to follow steps.
Specific chapters cover important topics such as promoting resilience, dealing with stress and anxiety, leadership, ethics and creativity. These chapters reveal how mindful coaching can make a broad impact in the business environment as well as improving compassion and work-life balance.
Important concepts such as Daniel Siegel's 'mind-sight' (using mindfulness to explore the various functions of the mind in the moment) are introduced and the recent neuroscience research providing the biological basis for the effectiveness of mindfulness practices is covered simply and well. The author also places the work in its historical and contemporary contexts, linking it to its origins in the wisdom traditions and its connection to other current psychological approaches such as gestalt and transpersonal coaching.
The way in which this broad range of material is covered and presented is engaging, informative and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading!, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindful Coaching: How Mindfulness can Transform Coaching Practice (Paperback)
This is a gem of a book. Well worth reading, whether you are new to the idea of mindfulness coaching or already use mindfulness in your coaching practice.
A great resource for any coach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very complete book, 1 July 2014
This review is from: Mindful Coaching: How Mindfulness can Transform Coaching Practice (Paperback)
If you want to know how to work with Mindfulness as a part of many of the key coaching models and approaches, Liz eloquently describes how. As a coach, I haven't yet discovered another book that does this so comprehensively.
The book is thoughtfully organised, so that you can dip into any topic and find information, practical advice, case studies and hints & tips.
Here and there, Liz also gives her personal 'take' on the subject - and I think that the book would have benefited from her doing this a little more.
I feel much better equipped to work with Mindfulness as a result of reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't engage me at all - way overpriced too!, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really didn't like this book. It didn't engage me at all. I bought it because it had a number of highly rated reviews which on reflection were probably not genuine. I didn't like the structure or the writing style, I found I just couldn't get into it at all. It;s certainly not worth the price tag - that's for sure. In my opinion there are far better writers on this topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mindful Coaching: How Mindfulness can Transform Coaching Practice
£26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews