Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything in its place, 23 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Systemic Coaching and Constellations: An Introduction to the Principles, Practices and Application (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, fully deserving its five stars and highly suited to the audience John is aiming for. I would recommend it to anyone.

What is good about it? To be brief, I'll focus on five areas.

First, it is fit for purpose. The purpose is to bring into coaching (where the aim is to make the client more effective in their business role) a method developed in family systems therapy, where the goal is resolving a personal issue. This book gets the tone just right, not just in its application to organisational and business examples, but in its sensitive references at the end of the book to ways of bringing personal work in where necessary: 'using the family system as resource isn't therapy: it's resourcing' (p.216).

Second, it's full of useful, practical examples - from how to introduce the systems approach, and the constellations method, into coaching, right through to well written and convincing examples supplied, not just by the author, but by a range of business coaches.

Third, it's well researched and inclusive. John understands systems thinking, and the constellations method, very well, as all his examples show, but he has not forgotten that other methods work too - having an introduction from David Clutterbuck (who writes generously, 'Coaching the client must inevitably involve coaching the system') shows his readiness to include all valid coaching methods, rather than seeing everything through a constellations lens.

Fourth, it's very sound. John understands the principles of systemic work very well and he makes those tangible and real.

And finally, it's elegantly put. 'Working without intention ... all behaviour makes sense in the context of the system to which it belongs ... the coach as useful, not helpful ... (f)actors and actors ... the sentences are the voice of the system, not the coach' - all these sum up why this is so respectful, but also so powerful, a method. My favourite is the wonderful distinction between 'agreeing TO' and 'agreeing WITH'. The second is often completely inappropriate to this kind of work: the first is essential to it. It's a good place to end the review of this thoroughly worthwhile book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Vasco Gaspar (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemic Coaching and Constellations: An Introduction to the Principles, Practices and Application (Paperback)
This is THE book I was looking for years about Systemic Coaching and Constellations. The author not only provides an easy reading but, at the same time, deeply packed with examples, exercises, tips and many other resources. I just started integrating some of the contents in my work of Human Performance Facilitation and the results are amazing.
In one word: Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guide to getting unstuck, 16 Sep 2012
By 
Christopher Dalton "CCD" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Systemic Coaching and Constellations: An Introduction to the Principles, Practices and Application (Paperback)
This book is about a complex subject, and one that others have struggled to put into words. John Whittington has done a remarkable job in sharing his considerable skills and experience in systemic constellations with a lay audience in a way that anyone reading this can understand.

For the novice, this book will stimulate interest and pique curiosity. The next step should be to go and attend an organisational or (even better) family constellation session and experience that part of this which is not so easy to put into words first hand. For those who have some experience, this book is a brilliant reference and reminder of the basic principles. Working systemically with constellations is rather like playing the Irish Penny Whistle, easy to pick up and a lifetime to master.

A welcome addition to what is still a lamentably small canon of literature on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great 'easy to read' introduction to a complex subject, 8 Aug 2012
By 
Ms. S. A. Hobson "Sarah" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Systemic Coaching and Constellations: An Introduction to the Principles, Practices and Application (Paperback)
For a subject that seems at first glance rather complicated and too ungraspable to put into words, John has managed to write a very practical and informative guide to Systemic Coaching while still acknowledging the ungraspable nature of the work.

Working as an executive/leadership coach with individual clients in the main, i am increasingly struck by how multi layered and complex my client's system is in which he/she operates. As a result I am noticing more and more that focussing on a clients' personal and leadership development, without holding the wider system in mind and addressing some if its issues , is just not cutting it anymore. So this book is very timely, and has become one of the more valuable and important additions to my library.

John sets out clearly and insightfully the principles of systemic coaching while bringing it to life with lots of real life examples and applications. It was a breath of fresh air to read. I am an experienced coach, but new to systemic coaching/constellations and this book, together with John's teaching, has subtly though significantly impacted the way I work.

If you're curious about the subject this is a highly recommended read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 2 July 2012
By 
This review is from: Systemic Coaching and Constellations: An Introduction to the Principles, Practices and Application (Paperback)
This is an excellent book on Systemic Coaching and Constellations! Highly recommend it if you are interested in understanding more about it and learning to coach in this very intuitive way. John writes so clearly and the chapters (and their sub-sections) are so well laid out that it makes it possible to dip in and out easily. He also includes some very useful exercises for coaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a generous guide, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemic Coaching and Constellations: An Introduction to the Principles, Practices and Application (Paperback)
There is not a wasted word in this guide to systemic coaching and constellations. It is clearly written and full of case studies and exercises to help the readers understand cognitively - and through embodying the experience. I will go back to it frequently as a reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book outlining some simple to use constalltion methods, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemic Coaching and Constellations: An Introduction to the Principles, Practices and Application (Paperback)
I must admit, I enjoyed this book thoroughly. John's theoretical model is clearly defined from the outset. Based on that model he goes into a wide variety of simple to use constellation moments that can be used with both individuals and with groups. He gives the beginner tools that can be easily used from day one, and refined with experience. There are other issues that he might have included in his theory, but the book in of itself is a big enough starter to constellation theory that you might not even need the main course or the dessert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemic Coaching and Constellations: An Introduction to the Principles, Practices and Application (Paperback)
An easy to understand introduction to Systemic Coaching and Constellations. Definetely worth a read if you are at all curious about constellations and how it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and comprehensive, 28 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Systemic Coaching and Constellations: An Introduction to the Principles, Practices and Application (Paperback)
I had the pleasure to recently attend John's course on this topic.
John is truly a reference in this field.
This book has been a great complement in re-affirming what was taught and experienced during the course.
It is a good guide/handbook to keep referring back to when developing one's own approach to integrate the systems part.
I also really like the fact that it was easy to read, giving practical case studies and showing you how to "start from the start" when experimenting with the approach on one's own clients.
I highly recommend this to anyone interested in exploring systemic coaching and constellations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect guide to the practice of systemic coaching and constellations, 27 Jun 2012
This review is from: Systemic Coaching and Constellations: An Introduction to the Principles, Practices and Application (Paperback)
This is a practical book, an easy and enjoyable read. Thoroughly recommended for any of us in the "helping professions" regardless of context, as we acknowledge the need to include a systemic approach into our practice.

The book is well structured, introducing the origins, key concepts and benefits of systemic coaching and constellations. John uses relevant examples that help bring the theory behind this approach to life. The book also provides a number of illustrations and experiential exercises for 1:1 and team interventions, that are simple to follow and implement, giving the reader clarity and confidence in applying this powerful way of working with clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews