Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent bullet-point guide to the essentials, 2 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This book is a great reference for new managers or those aspiring to a management role. It provides clear, bullet-point tips and advice on most of the essential skills of management. Each topic is covered in just a few pages so you don't have to trawl through a lengthy and boring book to get the information you need.
Ideal for "Just-in-time" and "Just-enough" individual training needs. A bit more detail on each subject would have been good, however I accept that this may have detracted from the quick accessibility of the information so no real gripes there.
Overall, an excellent resource and an excellent buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book, 18 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those interested in expanding their knowledge regarding the steps required in improving management skills - this book is great. The writing style is simple, yet concise and it covers much material that other (much longer) books fail to. I would stress though that there is not much depth to any one topic and if you wish to find out more you will need to read other literature as well, however this book is great for the BASICS. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading book., 20 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book for new managers, to understand what management is about and what the management (manager) role is about. For managers with some experience, I would treat this book as a good reminder and guide. If you are a professional, probably you'll be looking for something more detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "To manage, or not to manage", 14 Dec. 2008
By 
Phillip Taylor (Richmond Upon Thames, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
THAT IS THE QUESTION- AND THIS IS THE BEST ANSWER TO MANAGING MANAGEMENT!

Armstrong's book has been a phenomenal success since it first appeared in 1983 as `How to be a Better Manager'. Yep, it has grown from strength to strength with each edition selling very well with a tally of over 120,000 copies sold so far. And its success is well-deserved.

It is the book I do see at railway station bookstalls for the traveller who doesn't want something too intellectually heavy for his business journey, but wants to be well briefed before his next hairy meeting in a relaxed sort of way on the journey to the appointment.

It's 4 years since the 6th edition came out, and Michael Armstrong has updated this impressive work in some detail. His fifty key aspects of management have undergone extensive and necessary revision.

Armstrong has included eight new chapters dealing with how to achieve continuous improvement (so important for the zealous regulator of today), how to delight (make sure you control the jokes), how to manage risk (very important for solicitors), how to prepare customers and make a business case (the life-blood of the advocate), how to create a business plan (most important for barristers), and how to recover from setbacks (extremely important for advocates!)

Lawyers are managers and small businesses, and must have the skills outlined by Armstrong to be a success when they go up one notch to run (in other words, to manage) a case in court.... and succeed. The demands made on us in today's uncertain, demanding and turbulent world are on the increase. We are all in need of professional development at all times to keep abreast of new reforms which we need to brush up on and be current, and this book gives us the tips on practical management which will be of special interest to employment lawyers.

There is a great deal of common sense in this book and it will certainly reinforce the views of many of how modern management is managed. The 50 areas covered are self-contained, falling into three areas: managing people, managing activities and processes, and your own management and development (CPD).

The Foreword says this handbook is particularly useful for NVQs, PGCEs and CIPD/human resources functions but, for the lawyer and general reader, it goes further as it helps with the profiling of people whom we meet as clients as well as those we manage in our firms or chambers.

I liked the appendix in particular with its coverage of positive or negative indicators of performance which will be great for those entering conditional fee agreements and compiling risk assessments. Also, the general bibliography gives an informative reading list which shows the knowledge Michael Armstrong has given to us with this fine statement of how management works.

The purpose of continuous personal professional development (CPPD) and current reflective practice will help business people (including lawyers) build up their managerial knowledge and skills in most current situations we face with the splendid guidelines offered. This title is the best answer to managing management today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to be an even better manager -, 12 Jun. 2009
By 
Mrs. M. I. Mogg "Marion" (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is essential reading for all aspiring and established managers, full of useful hints and tips of what it's like in the real world when dealing with people and their problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 3 Feb. 2012
This review is from: How to be an Even Better Manager: A Complete A-Z of Proven Techniques and Essential Skills (Paperback)
I have had this book a while and dip in and out of it when I need a bit of motivation, I purchased the latest edition as a gift for a friend, so I really recommend it.

Well written with practical tips and inspiration even for very experienced managers who want to be the best they can to support their teams, their organisation and their own development. Good book also for anyone in HR who are supporting line managers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Managers/HR people - gain an insight into the black art!, 8 Nov. 2004
Whether you're New to management, just been promoted to a management position (yet haven't a clue on how you'll cope) or if you're working in HR management, you'll find this book useful. Well seasoned managers will intuitively recognise all the techniques many of which are common sense. Well laid out, good simple language and none of the touchy/feely HR stuff - its a good read overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True Story, 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to be an Even Better Manager: A Complete A-Z of Proven Techniques and Essential Skills (Paperback)
2010: Company Revenue was £45,900
2011: Purchased this book
2012: Company Revenue was £56,454,000

Not a bad investment really .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How to be a better manager book, 24 Jun. 2010
By 
Ms. Helen M. Barton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived as described and well packaged. I have still to read the book fully but have dipped in and out. Would compliment other books on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better manager, 22 Sept. 2011
i have found the information in this book really useful covers everything that you might come across at a bargin price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to be an Even Better Manager: A Complete A-Z of Proven Techniques and Essential Skills
Used & New from: £4.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews