Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant Read for aspiring leaders
This book is a first class read for any aspiring leader in any environment.It is now mearly a historical record, but examines the fundamentals of leadership and looks at the lessons which we can draw.

The conclusions seems to be as relevant today for modern leadership as they were in Muhammad's lifetime.

An excellant read and recommended as another...
Published on 20 July 2010 by Procentus

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A very superficial book. Profoundly disappointing.
This is a very poor and disappointing book which does its subject scant justice. Whatever one's views on Islam, it is almost universally recognised how towering a figure Muhammad was as a spiritual, political and military leader and as a law-giver. Indeed, not just during his life-time. Unlike Alexander The Great, Napoleon and others, what he achieved did not collapse...
Published 3 months ago by Seamus Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars A very superficial book. Profoundly disappointing., 19 Sep 2014
By 
Seamus Martin (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leadership of Muhammad (Hardcover)
This is a very poor and disappointing book which does its subject scant justice. Whatever one's views on Islam, it is almost universally recognised how towering a figure Muhammad was as a spiritual, political and military leader and as a law-giver. Indeed, not just during his life-time. Unlike Alexander The Great, Napoleon and others, what he achieved did not collapse upon his death or earlier, but his legacy actually endured. And huge amounts are known about Muhammad including the precise date he died in the year 632.

So it is both surprising and sad that the author has spurned the opportunity to draw upon and examine this vast treasure trove of widely available information about Muhammed and his leadership. Instead the author has given us a very superficial, lightweight book which indulges largely in conjecture, not fact and analysis. What a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant Read for aspiring leaders, 20 July 2010
This review is from: The Leadership of Muhammad (Hardcover)
This book is a first class read for any aspiring leader in any environment.It is now mearly a historical record, but examines the fundamentals of leadership and looks at the lessons which we can draw.

The conclusions seems to be as relevant today for modern leadership as they were in Muhammad's lifetime.

An excellant read and recommended as another significant contribution to the understanding of leadership in practice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book written about great man, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leadership of Muhammad (Hardcover)
Well written by professor John Adair about Prophet Muhammad's Leadership qualities.
I would highly recommend this book to muslims and non-muslims who are interested in not just developing their leadership skills but also we can learn so many other things in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 7 Nov 2013
By 
S. Shamma "Suad" (Abu Dhabi, UAE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book very impressive, and concise. John Adair did a really good job in collating some of the most important points about leadership and using the prophet as a fine example. It was really interesting reading the stories of Muhammad (pbuh) and highlighting all the positive leadership aspects, even more so was the fact that things that applied thousands of years ago still apply today.

A lot of the points made in the book are things that all of us know and should be acting upon, however it's always good to remind yourself of these things so take it as a refresher, if anything. This book will definitely point any aspiring leader to the right direction, in fact, even parents could learn a lot from this book.

I finished reading it in one sitting, and walked away feeling inspired. One of the points that resonated with me most was the idea of leading by example, something that is truly lacking today.

Very well written book, in clear, simple English. I can guarantee you there are many lessons to draw from this read and it is well worth the money spent on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art Of Leadership, 5 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Leadership of Muhammad (Hardcover)
In short, if you never read another book about leadership, make sure you read this one. In my opinion, and no doubt you will agree, this short book contains distilled wisdom that can help any aspiring leader, current leader or even parent. Put simply, it's a rule book, has guidelines and sets out the criteria for what a leader ought to be like. Don't hesitate to buy this book either - thinking it's all about religion - it's not. Muhammad is used as an example, an epitome of what a leader might be like, an example that is lacking today both in the Muslim world and Western World. Spending a few pounds on this book will broaden your horizons about leadership per se and possibly curtail the need to spend thousands on a leadership course or hundreds on further academic material. Most importantly, this book highlights the disparity between Muslims in a mainstream sense and how Muslims are portrayed in mainstream media. The Professor gives a detailed account of his personal endeavours that led him to write this book and the most apparent thing is how objectively it is written. The core principle weaved throughout the book is of a universal idea of leadership existing, the 'cloud' if you like, which harbours the most important character of leader: integrity. And the best thing about the book is that it's written in plain, crystal clear English (the dozens of quotes from 'great thinkers' aren't a bad addition either). Go on, give it a go...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not quite fulfilling its potential, 28 July 2012
By 
Adil Hussain "adilson05uk" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leadership of Muhammad (Hardcover)
I had great expectations for this book after listening to a talk by the speaker introducing it and also receiving recommendations from friends who had read it before me. Reading it however I couldn't help feel a little disappointed. It's a small book (this I knew before I bought it) and even then the mention of The Prophet Muhammad and his examples of leadership are few and far between. Each chapter (there are eight) takes one concept of leadership exemplified by the Prophet Muhammad and elaborates on why it is important and how particularly it ties to the Bedouin/Arabian society that the Prophet Muhammad found himself in. Overall, great idea for a book and not a bad book, but not quite living up to its potential (and my expectation).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top, 16 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Leadership of Muhammad (Hardcover)
I thought this book was truly inspirational.

Considering the author has a vested interest and well-known expertise in the field of Leadership, this makes the subject at hand all the more relevant and interesting.

I'd definitely recommend this book for anyone interested in the topic of Islam, Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him), Leadership in general or someone just looking for a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clear and focussed read, 27 April 2011
By 
A. Ahmed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leadership of Muhammad (Hardcover)
This book is not very bulky but is an excellent read. Adair uses examples to explain the leadership qualities tha Muhammed had and how these can be applied in todays leadership models. The experiences tha Adiar had with bedouin in Arabia also adds value to his arguments for the need of 'moral authority' to be a real leader of a people. It provided an example and evidence for the reality of true leadership, where the leader of a people is always at their service. Strongly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Muhammad as a leader, 11 April 2011
This review is from: The Leadership of Muhammad (Hardcover)
This is truly an interesting book. It is well written an picks specific examples to demonstrate the prophet's skills as a leader. I wasn't expecting this level of detail by the author in his understanding of the impact by the prophet on Muslims and his ability as a leader. The author's detailed understanding is impressive. Good book - well worth a read - valued purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Leadership of Muhammad (Hardcover)
excellent + thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Leadership of Muhammad
The Leadership of Muhammad by John Adair (Hardcover - 3 July 2010)
£14.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews