Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearest best explanation of the City ever published
This is the clearest, best explanation of the City ever published. It helped me clinch a job as a City banker. I wish I'd had this book three years ago and I'd have got ahead sooner. Read it and you will understand the City and how it works. It knocks the other books into a cocked hat. Explanations of derivatives and money markets particularly clear. This book helped me...
Published on 12 Aug 2006 by Selina

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy something else
The book is full of advertisements, which doesn't leave much room for content. Writing style is therefore pretty glib, just a collection of sentences and statements rather than flowing prose.

It reads more like an average newspaper article rather than a well-written book - buy something that hasn't been written by a journalist, poor.
Published on 11 Jan 2007 by A. Schaffer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy something else, 11 Jan 2007
By 
A. Schaffer "theschaff" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book is full of advertisements, which doesn't leave much room for content. Writing style is therefore pretty glib, just a collection of sentences and statements rather than flowing prose.

It reads more like an average newspaper article rather than a well-written book - buy something that hasn't been written by a journalist, poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearest best explanation of the City ever published, 12 Aug 2006
By 
Selina (Ealing, London) - See all my reviews
This is the clearest, best explanation of the City ever published. It helped me clinch a job as a City banker. I wish I'd had this book three years ago and I'd have got ahead sooner. Read it and you will understand the City and how it works. It knocks the other books into a cocked hat. Explanations of derivatives and money markets particularly clear. This book helped me take the all important overview of the City and see where the individual products fell in place. The author has a gripping style and the book is an exciting read. A previous reviewer is right that it reads sometimes like a novel. Highly recommended - you can dip into this book but it is best to read the whole thing to get the full overview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sound guide to investing in London's square mile, 29 Jun 2010
By 
Gaurav Sharma (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the second book authored by Alexander Davidson that I have read (and reviewed). I feel it is a pretty good reference point akin to one of his previous works - How to Understand the Financial pages. The latest print copy is the third edition of this particular title, and it has shown improvement and expanded its remit to include readers who would perhaps not normally pick up such a title at the book-shop.

Following the global financial crisis, if your curiosity is aroused by how the city really works, then Davidson's work would be a good starting point when it comes to deciphering industry gobbledegook, city work practices and market dynamics. The language and tone used is simple and non-complex and can be easily comprehended by someone with a low to medium investment or financial knowledge.

Loosely spread over 375 pages, with 37 chapters containing split sub-sections, this book touches on a multitude of subjects from explaining the role of the Bank of England within our financial system to valuation of equities and shares, from spread betting to reinsurance. The later chapters discuss what went wrong in Iceland and the mechanism of Islamic finance. Ethics and integrity may not find a place in some quarters of the city but they certainly find a place in a chapter of this book.

Furthermore, it is well referenced with useful appendices. There is one minor irritant. Davidson's credentials as a financial writer hold him in good stead. As a consequence, the popularity of this book has resulted in advertisements, 12 to be exact, being scattered throughout the copy. One argument is that it disrupts the reading flow. But my answer is that, if it does, simply flip the page and come back to the advert later (if you want to). However, all of this does not diminish the content in my opinion.

What is most purposeful is that the sub-section pagination is mentioned in the contents list. So, assuming that the reader wishes to check or refresh a quick point then he/she can instantly return to it with the minimum of fuss and flipping pages. I would be happy to recommend this book to anyone with an interest in how the London financial market operates. It could also serve as a good reference book for students of finance and economics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much advertising, 1 Mar 2008
By 
A great pity that the pages and pages of advertising weren't kept together at the beginning or end of the book. Disrupts the reading process and adds little to the book from the reader's perspective. Agree with the other reviewer who suggests buying something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not miss this book, 4 Aug 2006
By 
The Financial Services Action Plan and European directives are rewriting the rules of the City. Nothing new here, but it is easy not to see the wood for the trees. This book offers fresh perspectives on how the UK's regulator, the Financial Services Authority, is attempting to direct these changes. The insights are based on the frank views of City contacts and other interviewees well-placed to comment.

The book explores the tacit trade-off between profitability and regulatory risk and the climate surrounding the London Stock Exchange's continued wooing of foreign companies for UK listings. The author speculates on the credibility of foreign corporate governance and focuses on the FSA's special relationship with the US Securities & Exchange Commission.

This is a great book for learning about the City and I strongly recommend it for this purpose. The easy-to-read style makes a refreshing change from some of the alternative reading - with no sacrifice of sophistication. You will not get bogged down in jargon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 11 July 2006
By 
This gave me a great insight into the mechanics of the City and those that inhabit it; both firms and individuals. Some really juicy stuff on City scandals, both old and new. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would thoroughly recommend this title, by an experienced trader, 11 July 2006
By 
S. Jenkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I read this book I was amazed by how much goes on in the City! In places, this reads like a novel. This is a good introduction for people who understand nothing about the City.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book!, 14 Mar 2012
either you're a law/finance student or just curious about financial markets, this book is the perfect first step to understand how it works. it deals with both banking, insurance, islamic finance and many more and everything is well explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews