Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for practice!
I got this book because I'm looking to join the Fire Service and one of the entrance parameters is Psychometric testing. Therefore I got this book to practice and it is great. You get about 300 questions on each section so there are lots of questions and category's to choose from.
Published on 18 Mar. 2007 by Adam Barclay

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too easy and has many errors
This book is useless if you're a graduate seeking a challenge. This book will NOT prepare you for any psychometric tests from SHL or from any other employer. I have passed these and am currently on a graduate scheme this book did NOT help at all. A waste of time and money. There were also many errors in the book!?!

An example question:

15 x _ =...
Published on 7 May 2013 by Sultan Ali


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too easy and has many errors, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Psychometric Test Book (Paperback)
This book is useless if you're a graduate seeking a challenge. This book will NOT prepare you for any psychometric tests from SHL or from any other employer. I have passed these and am currently on a graduate scheme this book did NOT help at all. A waste of time and money. There were also many errors in the book!?!

An example question:

15 x _ = 45

This is a true example, this book is wholly inadequate for any graduate let alone a primary school child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Detrimental to development, 2 Aug. 2008
This review is from: The Ultimate Psychometric Test Book (Paperback)
This book is not only laden with mistakes in the answers section, but it has fundamental drawing errors which mean that questions relying on pictures are incorrect or make no sense. The advice it offers is sometimes very poor and sets up rounding errors. The non-verbal reasoning section is misleading and the sequence patterns that it uses are unintelligent and thus unlike any decent IQ or psychometric tests. In summary it is a very badly made psychometric test book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caution advised, 27 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: The Ultimate Psychometric Test Book (Paperback)
I agree with one of the other reviewers that there are quite a lot of mistakes in the answers. This is very frustrating when you are self-testing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for practice, 10 May 2006
This review is from: The Ultimate Psychometric Test Book (Paperback)
Although this book offers plenty of practise on the different types of question, I came accross several definite errors in the answer section (I got out my calculator and checked to be sure). There are few things more annoying than errors in books that are supposed to test you, and that was discouraging. Otherwise a good all-round introduction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not difficult enough for the top grad schemes, 6 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate Psychometric Test Book (Paperback)
The tests are not nearly difficult enough for most of the top grad schemes out there today, e.g. NHS, Civil Service, P&G etc.

The author does actually admit that the tests are of an 'intermediate level' early on in the book, and that you should buy a more advanced book for more advanced grad schemes, but I would have preferred to know this before buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Answers are full of mistakes - AVOID, 9 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The Ultimate Psychometric Test Book (Paperback)
This book is useless. There are multiple basic errors in the answers. The greatest use of this book is having to double check the answers using another source, and thus having more exposure to the question. AVOID THIS BOOK AT ALL COST so that you do not end up thinking that the errors are the correct answers. It is surprising that this even got published
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It would have been a much better value book if it was full of examples/questions as ..., 10 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Psychometric Test Book (Paperback)
Approx. half of the book is pointless reading about strategy and the science behind it all; I really didn't get this book to write a thesis on the nonsense of psychometric testing! It would have been a much better value book if it was full of examples/questions as this is the only way to get to grips/improve on such testing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Use with caution, 19 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Ultimate Psychometric Test Book (Paperback)
The answer section is full of errors and the questions used are not nearly hard enough to prepare you for the realities of the tests used by top recruiters. While it can be used as a warm up for those who haven't used their maths skills in a long time, I would strongly advise against basing your preparation around this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for practice!, 18 Mar. 2007
This review is from: The Ultimate Psychometric Test Book (Paperback)
I got this book because I'm looking to join the Fire Service and one of the entrance parameters is Psychometric testing. Therefore I got this book to practice and it is great. You get about 300 questions on each section so there are lots of questions and category's to choose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect service but the book was not in pristine condition, 17 Nov. 2009
This review is from: The Ultimate Psychometric Test Book (Paperback)
Fast, efficient service. The book arrived much earlier than the estimated delivery date. The only issue was that the book was not pristine. It was obviously new but maybe during transport it got knocked about a bit. But overall very pleased with my purchase and the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Psychometric Test Book
The Ultimate Psychometric Test Book by Mike Bryon (Paperback - 3 Feb. 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews