Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than other similar titles
I had found the content of other numeracy testing books to be far too easy than is required in the actual tests. However, the level of this one is, as it promises, somewhat higher. Most people will probably need to spend some time brushing up their general maths and statistics before they attempt some sections but this book asks questions of a fairly similar level to...
Published on 23 Aug. 2002

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So many answers are wrong!
I'm using a version of this book which has a different cover to the one advertised, so hopefully this means that there is a new version of this book, which has fixed all the errors mentioned in other reviews. But, while this book is good for practicing higher level questions, many of the solutions are at best dubious, or at worst blatantly wrong/contradictory - which make...
Published on 13 Sept. 2007 by wonderstufff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than other similar titles, 23 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Pass Advanced Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
I had found the content of other numeracy testing books to be far too easy than is required in the actual tests. However, the level of this one is, as it promises, somewhat higher. Most people will probably need to spend some time brushing up their general maths and statistics before they attempt some sections but this book asks questions of a fairly similar level to those in real numeracy tests and so is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So many answers are wrong!, 13 Sept. 2007
This review is from: How to Pass Advanced Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
I'm using a version of this book which has a different cover to the one advertised, so hopefully this means that there is a new version of this book, which has fixed all the errors mentioned in other reviews. But, while this book is good for practicing higher level questions, many of the solutions are at best dubious, or at worst blatantly wrong/contradictory - which make it very confusing to use. I've used other similar publications and not been aware of such poor accuracy. Not to be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Filled with errors, 30 Sept. 2010
By 
G. Andreou - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book definitely provides a wide variety of numerical excerises. Where it miserably fails however is the in the accuracy of the answers, where the sheer number of mistakes, not typos but the actual numerical mistakes this book is trying to teach you to avoid, is beyond reason.

If you are confident with your numerical skills this book will offer you a good practice. But if you intend to use this book to actually learn numerical skills keep well away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars How can you publish something with so many glaring errors?, 27 Nov. 2012
I thought this would be a useful way to prepare for the psychometric tests that are now commonplace for most graduate schemes. It isn't. It seems there simply wasn't enough time/resources for at least one human being to proofread this before it went to print. On this point alone it should be disregarded. Even if one overlooks these problems (graphs without labels, clumsily worded questions and answers that are just plain wrong) the book still lacks a coherent focus. What do I want from a book like this? Lots of the difficult data analysis questions that come up in real tests. What do I not need? Questions about the functional dependence of curves, definitions of business lingo or business judgement graphs (none of which I have ever seen come up on tests for the many business and management related schemes I have applied to). I have gotten far more out of practising the free online practice tests that can be found scattered around the web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK, 27 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Pass Advanced Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
Not really very concise. Better off using websites that exist nowadays - I bought this 4/5 years ago when there was a lack of online material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not very advanced, 11 Feb. 2010
This book offers plenty of practice, which is certainly useful, but overall the level was lower than the one required for the - really advanced it seems - test I had to take during the assessment process for a company. It's good practice, but if you need sth advanced, look for another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good brainteaser, 23 Mar. 2005
This review is from: How to Pass Advanced Numeracy Tests (Paperback)
If you want to have a taste of what real numerical tests are, this could well be your choice. It has very similar level of difficulty as that of the ones you'll face in reality. Try to practice everyday up to your test day, and don't skip the advice at the beginning of the book.
A bit of warning though, some problems are literally confusing; a few questions have obviously wrong answers; as for the mock tests, some time allowance are more than necessary while others are extremely tight. So don't be put off, all you need is a balance between speed and accuracy. Finally, questions in mock test 4 have more than one answers(why didn't he tell us in advance??)
Overall, I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Riddled with errrors, 28 Sept. 2012
By 
Please believe the reviewers who talk of the annoying number of mathematical errors. If you do get the book you should certainly be spotting them as you go through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars xxxxx, 10 Feb. 2010
This book does not provide a detailed explanation of how to solve the questions. If you are looking for a guide to learn how to understand and slove advanced numerical reasoning questions look elsewhere. This book is more suitable for someone that wants to practice what they already know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this one in desperation for my son some time back - while he was successful it frankly wasn't the result of this publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Pass Advanced Numeracy Tests
How to Pass Advanced Numeracy Tests by Mike Bryon (Paperback - 28 Jun. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews