Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Days of Paula Spencer
Roddy Doyle was born in Dublin in 1958 and saw his first novel, "The Commitments" published in 1987. It was later adapted for the big screen, a version that saw Star Trek's Colm Meaney and a very young Andrea Corr among the cast. Doyle went on to win the Booker Prize in 1993 with "Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha". This is his sixth novel and was first published in 1996...
Published on 26 Feb 2007 by Craobh Rua

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary account of an ordinary messed up life
Well written, I thought the subject matter was dealt with in such an honest and succinct way that it neither dramatised nor understated the uneasy topic of domestic violence.
Published on 6 Jan 2002 by Corinna


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Days of Paula Spencer, 26 Feb 2007
This review is from: The Woman Who Walked Into Doors (Paperback)
Roddy Doyle was born in Dublin in 1958 and saw his first novel, "The Commitments" published in 1987. It was later adapted for the big screen, a version that saw Star Trek's Colm Meaney and a very young Andrea Corr among the cast. Doyle went on to win the Booker Prize in 1993 with "Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha". This is his sixth novel and was first published in 1996.

"The Woman Who Walked Into Doors" is set in Dublin and is told by Paula Spencer, a woman in her late thirties. Both Paula's parents are dead, while only two of her siblings `appear' in the book - her sisters, Carmel and Denise. She did have another sister, Wendy, who died in a motorbike accident, while her brothers - Roger, Edward and George - are only ever mentioned in passing. Paula's relationship with her father had once been good, though it seemed to have deteriorated as time went on. [...]. Paula, meanwhile, hasn't Roger in years, and isn't particularly bothered about it - theirs was another difficult relationship.

However, it's Paula's relationship with her husband, Charlo, that's central to the book. They have been separated for over a year as the book opens - though they are still technically, married. They couple had four children together, three of whom still live with Paula. (She hasn't seen her eldest son, John-Paul, in quite some time: she last heard of him squatting in some flats and suspects he's on heroin). She works as a cleaner, just about earns enough to make ends meet and is an alcoholic. As if all that isn't enough, the book opens with the arrival of a policeman at her front door to inform her of Charlo's death. Paula spends the book looking back over her life in general and her time with Charlo in particular.

While it isn't always a very cheerful book, Paula's story isn't one that will leave you feeling depressed. She proves to be a character you want the best for and, not only does she manage to raise a smile from time to time, she also manages to leave you with a bit of hope. Absolutely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doyle's Paula persona is so believable, you forget he's a he, 9 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Woman Who Walked Into Doors (Paperback)
Rarely is an author capable of writing the voice of the opposite sex in a realistic, un-gender-biased manner. Doyle's Paula is heartbreakingly real, both as a character and as a woman. Abuse is a painful topic to read about, and the diary-like frankness with which we learn about Paula's life is brutal yet without self-pity. She tells the story beginning to end, with the love and fear, hate and happiness as it happens. The regrets are obviously there, but the underlying power of this woman who survives, after everything, just survives...wow. I'm a huge Doyle fan in general. While this is a departure from the hilarity of the Barrytown Trilogy, and is a heavier undertaking than Paddy Clark (which is another incredible book) it it a fantastic book and a highly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was so choked with emotion whilst reading about Paula., 15 Sep 2000
By 
This review is from: The Woman Who Walked Into Doors (Paperback)
I had to read this for one of my modules on my degree course. I would have never picked it up otherwise, but I have never been so glad that a book was on my reading list! I really felt for Paula. To me, she became a real person, not just a character, After a couple of pages I completely forgot that the book was written by a man. It was such a tragic story, yet heartwarming and funny at the same time. If you liked "Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha", you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The woman who opened the door to Roddy Doyle, 10 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Woman Who Walked Into Doors (Paperback)
There is a little bit of Paula in all of us. A young woman drawn to the boy that you knew your mother would hate, Charlo, he oozes badness from every pore but it someone who we can all relate to. We have all been there, snogging the bad lad in the local disco, defying our parents wishes to find a decent young man. Rodddy Doyle excels himself here in his first novel written through the eyes of a young Dublin woman, he writes with such truth and reality that all women can identify with this book, a tear jerker, a shocker, one that you certainly can't put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to read, but hard to put down..., 13 Sep 2005
By 
Fantasy Lore - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Woman Who Walked Into Doors (Paperback)
I found this book to be a completely convincing account of an abused wife and mother, as well as a subtly moving and well crafted read. However, the central characters' lack of individuality, dependence on her husband Charlo and unwillingness to leave the man whose beatings she endures for years...might not endear some of you to her. Certainly those of you who prefer independent and feisty characters and who shout at the pages when they don't assert themselves will very likely find this book difficult, as I did to some extent.
But it's not just the content here that makes for often frustrating reading, but also the style- any other author dealing with the same topic would surely sensationalise the story of a character like Paula, but this story has more of a true-to-life feel in that the main character isn't made particularly sympathetic by Doyle- events are recounted as they happen with little emotion or judgement attached. And since only the events of Paula's past relevant to her current predicament (i.e. meeting, marrying and having children with her husband) are explored in the story...the reader doesn't get to see Paula as anything other than a daughter, wife and mother- the roles she plays with no concept of herself outside those signifiers. So putting it bluntly- following a character who acts solely as a cipher to those around her doesn't make for thrilling reading, especially as she does very little to become anything more, or even has any great desire to leave her husband. But in spite of her temperament, or perhaps because of it, I definitely sympathised with her and found it easier as a result to believe how she could stay with her abusive husband, as she really doesn't see any viable alternatives.
Although adding to the reader's discomfort- the acerbic and emotionless tone of the narration works well in complimenting the torture Paula endures at the hands of her spouse. But it isn't just the grim tone, or even the descriptions of physical violence here that makes for depressing reading- it's Paula herself. The ease with which she grows accustomed to such barbaric treatment over time and how she becomes this person who cares so little for herself has a stark quality that's genuinely unnerving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A memorable tale of a contemporary Dublin woman's life, 14 May 2001
This review is from: The Woman Who Walked Into Doors (Paperback)
I hated "Paddy Clarke ha ha ha" and was unable to finish it; but with this book Doyle redeems himself. A sensitively told story of Paula's life, and told with such empathy that it is hard to believe that it was not written by a woman, as parts of it strike a chord of guilty recognition. Paula sense of self-worth has been ground down by her education to the point where she believes the brutality she suffered at the hands of her husband was inevitable: "That fist was always coming towards me". The irresistably bad Charlo is himself damaged and the product of another brutalised upbringing, without enough love. Paula triumphs in the end, breaking the cycle of brutality as she determines her daughter will not suffer as she was. This is a story which needed to be told; as Paula had been invisible for so many years as no-one even questioned her injuries. Like Joyce's Dubliners, the characters are afflicted by paralysis and unable to break out of their cycle of their miserable lives. Compulsive reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this book will give you goosebumps, 3 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Woman Who Walked Into Doors (Paperback)
The most unforgettable of Paddy O'Doyle's books which I read years ago during the last painful years of my marriage. It explains convincingly why women stay in abusive relationships. Although not in a violent marriage, I identified so well with guilt-ridden Paula who is convinced that she somehow brings on her husband's abusive behaviour. Like so many women, she lives from one day to the next hoping in her despair of that day that everything will be fine tomorrow. Paula shows us, how high our threshold of pain is and how our virtue - endurance - becomes our doom. It takes years of suffering for Paula to realize the tomorrows keep turning back into the todays and that she needs all her courage to break out of the cycle. A book which will make you think. Dealing with a depressing topic, the book still gives me goosebumps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopelessly hopeful, 30 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Woman Who Walked Into Doors (Paperback)
This is a story told by a man, but you'd never guess. This is a story about a woman. This is the story of Paula. Paula was once young, sexy, pretty and full of hope; but Paula, by the time you meet her has become "The Woman Who Walked Into Doors" Through this intimate tale, Doyle brings us to an understanding of how the subtle judgments of society degrade and devalue its weakest members. But this story also leaves the reader with the helpless frustration, of the bystander, who would help if only they weren't on the outside. This story is painful. Sometimes you need to put it down. But as salty as the inevitable tears taste, the story remains peppered with humour; and as tragic as the journey, Paula remains massively brave, and for that you keep willing her on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving , true to life, 24 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Woman Who Walked Into Doors (Paperback)
I have never read a women written so well by a man before. Paulas falling in love with Charlo as a teenager brought back the exact feelings for me all those years ago.Roddy Doyles understanding of the complicated emotions involved in Domestic Violence was spot on. This is a book I will always remember and I will suggest it for my book club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dark side of Barrytown., 28 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Woman Who Walked Into Doors (Paperback)
The Barrytown trilogy and `Paddy Clark, Ha, Ha, Ha' were the greatest feel good comedies to come out of Ireland and `The Van' and `Paddy Clark, Ha, Ha, Ha' were respectively and justifiably nominated for and awarded the Booker Prize. So the question was where next? Roddy didn't leave Barrytown for his next project but showed us it's seedier underbelly in the dark and harrowing TV show `Family'. This introduced us to the Spencer family with its domestic violence and abuse. Each episode focussed on a member of the family, Charlo, John-Paul, Leanne and Paula `The Woman Who Walked into Doors.'

Although grim `Family' didn't quite prepare us for `The Woman Who Walked into Doors' which was quite a departure for Roddy. As with `Paddy Clarke, Ha, Ha, Ha' the book is written in the first person and again the form was a complete success with Paula's voice being totally convincing. That Paddy Clarke, a ten year old boy, could be brought to life by a middle aged man was a testament to Roddy Doyle's talent but that he could give voice to an alcoholic working class woman in an abusive relationship is quite unbelievable. Literature is littered with talented male writers who's writing of women parts is two dimensional and unconvincing, so to tackle this is the first person and with such emotive subject matter was a huge risk. Fortunately it succeeded and the book is a triumph as indeed in Paula's part in the battle of life.

The story works well within the form switching from childhood, adolescence and different stages of the marriage to allow the reader to piece the story together but still not prepare them for the ending of the book. I was so impressed with this form that when I decided on the subject matter of my own novel I used it as the template to tell a very different story.

When I first read `The Woman Who Walked into Doors' I didn't know how Roddy Doyle could follow `Paddy Clarke, Ha, Ha, Ha', I certainly had no idea it would be possible to better it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Woman Who Walked Into Doors
The Woman Who Walked Into Doors by Roddy Doyle (Paperback - 5 May 1997)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews