Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good...
a great autobiography into howrds marks rise from a welsh kid in the valleys to the worlds largest dope smuggler. it gives a highly detailed account into how he starting smuggling and the fun he had a long the way up unyil his imprisonment in america's toughest prison. very enjoyable...
Published on 18 Sep 2011 by Gcrikey

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmmmmmmmmmmm
not sure what to make of howard marks as if you read his books then he makes out as though he was misguided and didnt do half of what they say he did, but if you read his friends acoounts which are much better then he was quite a naughty charachter and his own books dont portray him in that way
Published on 5 Jan 2010 by lapat"republic of mancunia...


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good..., 18 Sep 2011
This review is from: Mr Nice (Paperback)
a great autobiography into howrds marks rise from a welsh kid in the valleys to the worlds largest dope smuggler. it gives a highly detailed account into how he starting smuggling and the fun he had a long the way up unyil his imprisonment in america's toughest prison. very enjoyable...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Girlfriend Experience says - I would love to meet this man!, 29 Jun 2010
This review is from: Mr Nice (Paperback)
I love reading real life crime. You know that game where you pick 6 famous dinner date guests, well Howard would be on my list! :)

This is a fascinating tale by an interesting and charismatic man. I read this whilst on holiday in Thailand and it was thoroughly enjoyable. I don't know how much is sensationalised for the reader but it doesn't matter because it's such a great book.

Howard has spent most of his life dealing and smuggling cannabis, and had various stints in jail. He's mingled with the Mafia, IRA and has somehow been able to mix with a variety of conflicting unsavoury people/organisations without attempts being made on his life. Considering his choices he does seem in lots of ways to have been incredibly lucky!

Surprisingly many names (some well known) have been dropped into his story leaving me a tad confused, because of the nature of his dealings.

In some ways his behaviour was quite selfish because he had a wife and children who were left whenever he got hauled off to jail, but you just can't help but like this guy - Mr Nice :)

He doesn't take himself seriously. His sharp wit and superior intelligence makes this book incredibly entertaining. This book is highly recommended if you enjoy real life crime. I'd like to read his friend's and wife's story to see how they correlate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MR NICE IS MR ICE, 24 May 2011
By 
PONTYBOY (PONTYPRIDD,WALES) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr Nice (Paperback)
As soon as i picked the book up i did'nt want to put it down,sometimes its funny,sometimes its sad,even hard to believe how much dope he was dealing with.Watched the film before i read the book,dont bother with the film YOU MUST read the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A smoking read, 1 Mar 2011
This review is from: Mr Nice (Kindle Edition)
Not being an avid reader i thought i would struggle with this how wrong i was a great read once i started it was hard to put it down.BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a wonderful book !, 15 Nov 2010
By 
Geoffrey Pierson (Churt, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Nice (Paperback)
This is the story of an adventurer, entrepreneur, family man, maverick and thoroughly Nice person. Witty and memorable, it charts the career of Howard Marks who creates a multi-million dollar trade in cannabis largely, it seems, from using public telephone boxes. No mobile phones in those days. His natural charm is his biggest asset, and this is conveyed throughout the book. A super read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmmmmmmmmmmm, 5 Jan 2010
This review is from: Mr Nice (Paperback)
not sure what to make of howard marks as if you read his books then he makes out as though he was misguided and didnt do half of what they say he did, but if you read his friends acoounts which are much better then he was quite a naughty charachter and his own books dont portray him in that way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Man -, 25 May 2007
By 
P. Smart "Smarty" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Nice (Paperback)
The truly amazing story of a many men encapsulated into the life of one. A genuinely likable anti-hero.

A Welshman with enviable British charm, a real life gentleman rogue, a top class international drug smuggler, a traveller, a hippy, a criminal, a lawyer, a prisoner, a spy, a fugitive, a father, a brother, a son, a husband, a businessman, a student, a teacher, and the list goes on...... As do Howards number of alias', passports & bank accounts!

Most importantly Marks fits the bill of the 'thinking mans criminal' perfectly. Forget the Krays, the great train robbers, al capone, etc...What this story lacks in hard edged criminal violence and attitude, it more than makes up for with witty, intelligent, luck-filled (both kinds!) drug smuggling/smoking capers.

The pre-internet/mobile phone world that Marks operated his illegal/legal business in is far away now, and adventures of this calibre would be hard to repeat today.

An absolute 'Must read', without wishing to advocate Howards smuggling activities, at several stages through the book I seriously considered a career change!!! (Then I considered descriptions of his confinment in a US jail and reality hit!).

5 stars are not enough!! The 'nepalese temble ball' of Biographies!!!

Thankyou Howard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best auto-biographys I have ever read, 14 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr Nice (Paperback)
The great Howard Marks has proved to be as adept at writing as he was in hash smuggling. This book will have smokers crying with joy and sadness, as Marks recounts his, often surreal career, in the trade, as well as his part time work for MI5 (who were somewhat unimpressed when he smuggled drugs with the IRA instead of spying for them.) and his subsequent capture by the DEA. A fine autobiography of one of Britains most sterling rogues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spilling with charisma, a real eye opener, 21 Jun 2000
This review is from: Mr. Nice (Audio Cassette)
Howard marks will win the heart of even the most anti-drug reader, with this amazing story of the highs and lows of drug smuggling.A superb read 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: Mr Nice (Kindle Edition)
This was, for me, a great read. I thoroughly enjoyed tales of how Howard Marks evaded crime throughout his life. Hugely interesting, would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabacf624)

This product

Mr Nice
Mr Nice by Howard Marks (Paperback - 2 Jun 1997)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews