Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking,yet inspirational
Push documents the life of 16year old Precious,who is pregnant to her father for the second time and receives abuse not only from him, but also from her mother,her peers,figures of authority such as her teachers, but most of all from society.The book documents her struggles to survive and her story is one that has to inspire.Although the contents of the book may be...
Published on 22 May 2002 by clairedoyle2002

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short & Shocking
I chose this book due to the largely positive reviews of the recent film based upon it. I was therefore aware it would be quite shocking and gritty and indeed it was. Takes a while to 'get into' the style of writing but once there it proved a rather compelling read although there is always the feeling the author has lured the reader in with shock tactics and keeps up...
Published on 12 May 2010 by O Twist


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking,yet inspirational, 22 May 2002
This review is from: Push: A Novel (Paperback)
Push documents the life of 16year old Precious,who is pregnant to her father for the second time and receives abuse not only from him, but also from her mother,her peers,figures of authority such as her teachers, but most of all from society.The book documents her struggles to survive and her story is one that has to inspire.Although the contents of the book may be shocking and horrifying, they are true to life as each and every day we hear reports about severe cases of abuse of children,adults,power etc.The book is superbly written in the language of Precious herself,meaning that it is at first difficult to understand,being somewhat illiterate.However,the reader is invited to travel with Precious through her world and through her achievements.The whole book is a story of strength,perserverance and determination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 20 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Push: A Novel (Paperback)
I first read this book when i was 18. It opened my eyes. I had never heard of this level of abuse a person could go through from people she should have been able to trust. It is not an easy read. Despite the horrendous desciptions, it became one of my favourite books because of her pure grit and determination to not be a victim and overcome all obstacles that were put in front of her. A very inspirational read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A difficult and harrowing book, 25 Jan 2010
By 
Bobby Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Precious is a character that most of society would prefer not to read about - with her life story being a depressing sign of the times for how children are introduced to the mysterious world of adults - just at a time when their hormones are making life confusing enough. Be warned, for this book is hard to 'enjoy' - with the subject matter often jaw dropping with its shock value. The book is not a true story but based on people who have gone through similar experiences. I can well believe, however, that the stories in it are true, especially given the expose over here of the baby 'P' tragedy. In a sense this book is more than a tad voyeuristic - with the reader being allowed to dip into a world they (thankfully) can steer clear of. The moral, though, of the book is clear: why ignore the problems of society just because they are difficult? If one child is saved through someone reporting abuse then Push has achieved more than a host of Booker prize winning books or 'celebrity' memoirs. If you want a book to stretch you and make you look inside your own head then buy this. If you want to stick your head in the sand then buy Jordan's latest book.
If you like this then I also recommend another book about overcoming adversity: One Love Two Colours: The Unlikely Marriage of a Punk Rocker and His African Queen by Margaret Oshindele-Smith (my wife). This is the true story of a UK based Nigerian woman and her marriage to a white working-class punk (me!) - another difficult book but one with an inspiring message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly harrowing but uplifting view on society today, 23 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Push: A Novel (Paperback)
"Push"is an eye opener;exploring the harsh and destructive ways of life that are experienced by many unfortunate people in todays' society.It explores vividly the abuse of one girl,abuse that is both sexual,physical and mental, experienced at the hands of both her mother and her father.It is disturbing and plays on the mind afterwards,therefore the author ultimately achieves their goal,as the message that is conveyed throughout the novel stays with us and challenges our views on society,on life and on childhood and the loss of innocence.The novel mixes humour with poetry and is heavily weighted with adversity.The story is gripping and I found this novel impossible to put down,in fact I read it in about 3 hours,but it's contenet stayed with me for days afterwards.The voice demands attention and concentration and the novel made me experience a variety of emotions.The writing is extremely powerful,directly engaging the audience with the main character Precious,so much so that you cheer her on and pray that she makes a go of life and an escape from her oppressive childhood. The novel tackles issues of the day in a complately effective and engaging way voicing concerns of many in a vivid and descriptive way that sickens the reader.It is impossible to say that the book is throroughly enjoyable because the content is so disturbing and sickening,but it demands to be read and it truly is an admirable and fantastically inspiring novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Precious Book That Must Be Read, 26 Jan 2010
By 
Simon Savidge Reads "Simon" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
From the very first paragraph we are taken straight into the world of Precious Jones and truth be told its not a world for the faint hearted. Pregnant for the second time by her own father Precious has grown up illiterate in the back streets of Harlem where the only thing she wants is an education which will bring freedom and opportunity. She lives with her abusive mother who is living off the money she receives for having her daughter and granddaughter living in the house, though in truth Precious's daughter has been shipped off to her grandmothers while her mother claims the extra money.

As we join Precious she is reflecting on her life and how she came to be in the position she is in and as you come to know her back story it not only makes you sad it also makes you quite angry. Precious is soon kicked out of high school under the pretext of simply `being pregnant'. However a teacher takes sympathy on her and has booked her on an alternative education course Each One Teach One. This is, Precious knows, probably the last chance she has of an education along with the likes of Rhoda, Jermaine and Rita (all with dark and unfortunate pasts) but with a second baby due, a mother who doesn't want her to do anything but be a slave and a means of benefits is Precious really ever going to change her life?

I thought, though in parts it made me angry, that this is one of the most amazing books I have read in a long, long time. It brings home the lives that some people live in modern times who could really be in the same city as we are and we just don't notice as though the book is set in the 1980's this is still going on. Precious is a remarkable character and a sign of hope in dark times, as are all the girls in her class at Each One Teach One and her teacher Blue Rain, having humour when most of us would give up. Though fictional this book packs a huge punch as you know that these things are really going on out there. We need books like this and people need to read them, especially when they are written with such a compelling, honest, emotional and occasionally funny voice. Not an easy read but most certainly a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Persist with Push, 13 Mar 2010
By 
LouLou (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push: A Novel (Paperback)
Every now and again a book comes along that really makes you think- 'Push' is one such book

I'm really glad that i read this book- yes its uncomfortable reading, but its also very uplifting. Yes, its at times harrowing, but its also at other times funny. Yes, it makes you feel angry that such things could ever happen, but it is an important and relevant story that needed to be told. The sad reality is that there are many more young people in the U.K. who have to go through this type of abuse every day, than any of us realise. Hopefully this book can create more knowledge, understanding and awareness of abuse, and will encourage more people to support organisations such as ChildLine.

In the book, Precious describes how the 'Colour Purple' is one of her favourite books... well, in my opinion 'Push' is the modern day 'Colour Purple'- It is a difficult read, but my advice is to persist, its well worth it in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Push: A Novel, 31 Mar 2010
This review is from: Push: A Novel (Paperback)
Excellent, true-to-life story about neglect, abuse, despair, helplessness, but ultimately full of courage displayed by the heroine, leading to a passion for learning and self-improvement. This in turn leads to her providing a rich learning foundation & loving environment for her baby. Through her own experiences, Precious helps facilitate a healing process for her similarly abused peers; the reader is privileged to read their testimonies, & almost experiences the healing process they are gaining through this. It's uplifting to participate in a building-up of self esteem that Precious gradually achieves, & the language of the novel proves a very appropriate, often humourous, channel to reveal this. Finally, it's a harrowing & distressing novel, but the reader senses true optimism and happiness as Precious & her friends support each other on their journeys towards healing & achieving self-worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have watched the movies however I feel that the book was a lot better than the movie. The movie missed out many parts to this story however the book provides what the movie missed.

A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book or Movie, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push: A Novel (Paperback)
Well I saw the movie and I thought it was horrific, but I wanted to get a little bit more from the story and I wanted to get to know the characters more intimately, and the book is just as dark, cold, stark, lonely, fear-inducing as the movie, but I mean those it all the kindest ways, because the characters in the book are so intriguing and so human that it's so worth the read. The follow up book "The Kid" is a must read too, its a lot longer and follows some of the same characters after the events of Push.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Graphic Yet Simply Poetic, 7 Nov 2011
I picked this up the other day as I was waiting for a library book to come through and didn't want to start anything too big/long. Stupid idea as I read this in one sitting so still had the same dilemma of having nothing to read whilst waiting for the library book.

This is a captivating read. Utterly depressing and melancholic. I loved the style and pace of writing. The entire account is mortifying and horrifying yet quite poetic in the author's prose.

When I first started reading it, I was immediately reminded of the Celie's limited style of language and naivety in Alice Walker's 'The Color Purple', so I was pleasantly surprised when Sapphire started talking about the same novel and making subtle comparative notes with her character and Walker's.

This was a quick read but utterly depressing and rather graphic in the accounts of child abuse and rape so certainly not for everyone. I'm intrigued to read the novel 'Push' now, but think I need some light entertainment before I do as I have an inkling it will just plunge me into despair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Push: A Novel
Push: A Novel by Sapphire (Paperback - 5 Feb 1998)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews