Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating historical read
The year is 1399. London is rife with rumours of the overthrow of an increasingly unpopular Richard II by Henry Bolingbroke. In the style of Chaucer's Canterbury Tales, Peter Ackroyd chronicles the intersecting lives of a wide array of the city's inhabitants caught in this world of dangerous political and religious intrigue.
Ackroyd has created a fast-paced,...
Published on 4 Mar. 2005 by gavinrob2001

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Having read a London: The Biography and The Life & Times of Sir Thomas More, I was looking forward to reading The Clerkenwell Tales. Sadly I was disappointed, as the book largely failed to live up to the sum of its parts. This historical novel delves into the usurpation of King Richard II by Henry Bollingbroke, and Ackroyd puts forward a grand conspiracy theory for the...
Published on 22 Jun. 2004 by Jimbo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Characters and story are slaves to the structure, 11 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Clerkenwell Tales (Paperback)
An absorbing read but ultimately lacking a bit of soul.There are simply too many characters in this book. One has no time to sympathise with any and many end up being entirely incidental. It also makes things rather confusing and gives you a lot of - colourful - names to remember.The historic detail is wonderful and the story,like other Ackroyd books, is based upon fact and conjecture. I love the spooky way he elides the supernatural and the rational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard work, 16 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Clerkenwell Tales (Paperback)
This is the first Ackroyd book I have read and I doubt I will go back. Its well written and it flows well, it also gives insights into past events - though the accuracy is not something I could possibly comment on.

The difficulty is getting into it, unless you like historic fiction I doubt very much you will get on well with this book, its not likely to be one to pick up on a whim, more a book to head towards it its within the realms of your favourite genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Clerkenwell Tales, 2 Sept. 2003
By 
James Bertoia (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Clerkenwell Tales (Hardcover)
A fascinating glimpse in to medieval intrique during the last days of the reign of Richard II and the rise of Henry Bollingbrook. Ackroyd masterfully evokes medieval London using the characters of Chaucer's Canterbury Tales to tell the story. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ackroyd fails again, 31 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Clerkenwell Tales (Paperback)
A great stylist, lovely writer at times. But often his books seem little more than that. This is one of the empty ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretentious rubbish, 1 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: Clerkenwell Tales (Paperback)
Ackroyd takes some (doubtless very erudite) historical research, and then builds a flimsy story around that research, rather using it to add to his story and characterisation. The result is a mishmash. I read it all the way through, because I didn't believe it could be so poor all the way through. But it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stars, 20 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Clerkenwell Tales (Hardcover)
I will stake my imagination on Peter, reason being is that there is no other author in this world who has made me so alive, so vidid, so creative, just from words, mingled with definitive outlines of such creative magnitude...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clerkenwell Tales
Clerkenwell Tales by Peter Ackroyd (Paperback - 1 April 2004)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews