Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful gentle humour
Put simply I enjoyed the Beiderbecke Trilogy so much I gave it to so many of my friends to read that I no longer own a copy.
Wonderful gentle humour set in the moon-struck outer limits of Leeds. Some wonderful characters like Big Al and his extended family made me laugh again and again as the run the local white economy (it used to be the black economy but they are...
Published on 30 Oct 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleased
Bought this for a friend. They were pleased with it
Published 21 days ago by E. Biernath


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful gentle humour, 30 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beiderbecke Trilogy (Paperback)
Put simply I enjoyed the Beiderbecke Trilogy so much I gave it to so many of my friends to read that I no longer own a copy.
Wonderful gentle humour set in the moon-struck outer limits of Leeds. Some wonderful characters like Big Al and his extended family made me laugh again and again as the run the local white economy (it used to be the black economy but they are trying to improve it's image). It is amazing where the search for Jazz recordings can take you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beiderbecke Trilogy, 28 May 2009
By 
Mrs. J. Skeet "wellington boot" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beiderbecke Trilogy (Paperback)
If you enjoyed the use of language in the television programmes then you will enjoy hearing the voices ringing in your ears as you read this. Some of the books were written before the filming and some after; it's interesting to compare the story lines and note the differences. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beiderbecke Trilogy - book, 2 Mar 2012
By 
January (Shrops. Eng.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beiderbecke Trilogy (Paperback)
I really love this book as well as the TV series that was made as a result of the book. This trilogy contains 'The Beiderbecke Affair' 'The Beiderbecke Tapes' and 'The Beiderbecke Connection'. Alan Plater is a witty & clever writer. I love his style. The stories are lighthearted with much witty banter which is really funny. It is set in the 'moonstruck outer limits' of Leeds and the 2 main characters both teach at the local comprehensive, 'San Quentin High'. The setting strongly evokes the 1980's when, as a teacher at that time, I remember there being very few materials or books etc available because of government cuts. These 3 books are filled with the music of Bix Beiderbecke, which, for the sensitive reader, you will hear echoing through the pages, together with a few other jazz musicians. The stories are a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beiderbecke Trilogy (Paperback)
i'd seen and enjoyed the films, i read and enjoyed the books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pleased, 1 July 2014
By 
E. Biernath "Book worm" (LEAMINGTON SPA, Warks, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beiderbecke Trilogy (Paperback)
Bought this for a friend. They were pleased with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beiderbecke Trilogy, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beiderbecke Trilogy (Paperback)
I bought this because my old copy was falling apart, as I have read it so many times and I still laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, lots os subtle humour., 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beiderbecke Trilogy (Paperback)
Having read one of the trilogy years ago, really enjoying revisiting the story and being able to carry on through the complete set. A real comfortable read, characters somewhat influenced by the TV series if you've seen that , but still a very enjoyable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A trilogy to love, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beiderbecke Trilogy (Paperback)
Looked for this for some time. Book provided in excellent condition. Alan Plater is a superb writer with dialogue and description surpassing the very excellent TV portrayal. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speedy service, 22 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Beiderbecke Trilogy (Paperback)
I ordered later than I should have and then the snow came and played havoc with deliveries. Despite that however, the book arrived in time for Christmas and in great condition. Very happy with the speed and quality of the service. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beiderbecke Trilogy
The Beiderbecke Trilogy by Alan Plater (Paperback - 27 May 1993)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews