Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Arts Good Study Guide
I would have to disagree with the comments made above regarding this book, as I found it very helpful when undertaking A103 Introduction to the Humanities (Open University). I have been out of further education for 16 years, and was somewhat daunted by the prospect of essay writing, and even general note taking. This book helped me to grasp the basics of both of these...
Published on 14 Feb. 2005 by David M Littleson

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perfect oil for mental cogs
You can't really expect a book about good study to be a scintillating read, but this manages to offer a lot of good advice while staying on the right side of interesting.

It includes many exercises and helpful hints to help you produce work to the best of your ability. It helps refresh study skills that may be rusty or require improvement to achieve decent...
Published on 24 Dec. 2007 by Erisia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Arts Good Study Guide, 14 Feb. 2005
This review is from: The Arts Good Study Guide (Open University Set Book) (Paperback)
I would have to disagree with the comments made above regarding this book, as I found it very helpful when undertaking A103 Introduction to the Humanities (Open University). I have been out of further education for 16 years, and was somewhat daunted by the prospect of essay writing, and even general note taking. This book helped me to grasp the basics of both of these skills, and have already made the first month of my course much easier to deal with. I would recommend the book to anyone taking A103 or a similar course in the humanities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perfect oil for mental cogs, 24 Dec. 2007
This review is from: The Arts Good Study Guide (Open University Set Book) (Paperback)
You can't really expect a book about good study to be a scintillating read, but this manages to offer a lot of good advice while staying on the right side of interesting.

It includes many exercises and helpful hints to help you produce work to the best of your ability. It helps refresh study skills that may be rusty or require improvement to achieve decent marks. It's also very clearly arranged, so you don't have to wade through the lot to find the help you're after.

If you are returning to study or simply hoping to improve your marks on a current course, I recommend this book. I honestly believe the price is worth it for 'Chapter 5: How to Write Essays' alone, which offers refreshingly sensible and practical assistance in completing those all-important Uni assignments.

Best of luck with your studies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just excellent!, 1 Nov. 2000
This review is from: The Arts Good Study Guide (Open University Set Book) (Paperback)
I'm really glad to meet this book. Since I'm taking an art history course in Japan through distance learning course of Canadian university, I wanted to learn how to read text bood efficiently or how to write an essay effectively. This book helps me a lot! It's not only for an adult student in English speaking country but for a non native student like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good condition, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arts Good Study Guide (Open University Set Book) (Paperback)
The book was in excellent condition, but I didn't find it very useful during my course. it doesn't work well as a quick reference to a specific problem as when you find the subject you are looking for there is usually limited information. It may be very good if you work through the book methodically but that would take time away from your course materials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good help for art students, 30 Jan. 2007
This review is from: The Arts Good Study Guide (Open University Set Book) (Paperback)
I got this book when I did A103 An Introduction to the Humanities with the Open University in 2003. They highly recommened that I buy and read this book before I start the course and I did that and found it helped me with starting the course. It helped me develope my writing style and my reading style.

I didn't read it other than that once but have since gone back to it again because I am starting a hard Open University course and I thought I could do with as much help as I can get. I am pleased about reading this book because I am finding out so much more than I did the first time that I read this book and it has been such a great help for me.

If you are returning to studying after a long time away then get this or if you are moving onto Univsersity level then this is a great book to help you at various stages as you can dip into this book as and when you need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but basic, 31 May 2006
This review is from: The Arts Good Study Guide (Open University Set Book) (Paperback)
Having come from a science background, this was a good introduction to approaching the study of arts subjects. A little basic in places, and a large amount is just common sense. But, it was very reassuring and useful as reference during the first year of my degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arts Good Study Guide (Open University Set Book) (Paperback)
Preparing me for university, although I haven't had time to read it all yet, what I have read is great for preparing me for my course and I cannot wait to start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent price., 22 Oct. 2011
By 
Ms. J. A. Hollis (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Arts Good Study Guide (Open University Set Book) (Paperback)
This was an optional book for use on my open university course. I was in two minds whether to purchase it or not, but when I saw it at a fraction of the full price (used) I jumped at it. It is a very useful resource and I would recommend it.Very glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for OU Study, 17 Jan. 2014
By 
Helen Jones "HJ" (Shrewsbury, Shropshire. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arts Good Study Guide (Open University Set Book) (Paperback)
Clear and concise. Presented in well set out in sections. The few scribble in it have also been helpful to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arts Good Study Guide (Open University Set Book) (Paperback)
Very useful and handy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Arts Good Study Guide (Open University Set Book)
The Arts Good Study Guide (Open University Set Book) by Andy Northedge (Paperback - 1 Dec. 1997)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews