Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars27
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2012
Very thin - not good value. I've since discovered that if you're an OU student you can download the PDF version for free from the Study Skills part of the OU web site. However, for someone new to writing assignments, the content is useful.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2010
Im returning to study after twelve years so to refresh myself on whats needed and how to do assignments i ordered this book. Its a concise guide to preparing assignments and some points were indeed very helpful and made to world of study a little less scary!
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2010
This guide is good, but it is short. I study with the Open University who wrote the book and it was helpful to know the layout and structure expected but I am not sure if all Universities are the same so I am not sure how useful it would be to someone studying elsewhere.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
I think I may have expected too much of this book, I was hoping for a little more insight into academic writing. Most of the content is just plain common sense such as 'read the question properly' and 'break your writing up into paragraphs'.

If your standard of written English is already good and you take the time to read the blurb at the beginning of assessments, this book is just a waste of money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
32 pages of common sense, nothing in it that I have not been told before, if you are thinking about buying this, save your money and avoid it
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
as per any Open university book it is full of information and good advice, much of it gleaned from and tested by OU students,
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2013
Was a great help in showing how to set out an essay and help get maximum marks for the work done
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2012
This book aims to help students preparing for Open University students although I found it very useful for courses in other diciplines as most of the info is generic and not specific to a particular feild of study. well worth a read whatever your discipline is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2011
Excellent addition to my stduying library. Full fo useful facts, hints and tips. Has made my return to formal study much easier. I found it very useful when preparing my firts assignment for the OU.Preparing Assignments
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
The book is full of useful information. It's just a shame that some tutors haven't read it first. It's easy to follow and the methods should help with writing a purposeful assignment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)