Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More murder for Thea
Thea Osborne has embarked on her second house-sitting assignment with her dog Hepzibah. She's hoping to spend some time walking in the surrounding countryside and exploring some of the disused canals in the area as she is interested in industrial archaeology. Unfortunately the body of a man is found hanging in a barn next to the house in which she is staying. The...
Published on 2 Dec 2010 by Damaskcat

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of A Cotswold Ordeal
A light and easy-going story set in the Cotswolds. The main character and her dog Hepzibah are house sitting in a farmhouse while the family holiday abroad. A body is found and things start to hot up. Towards the end the story becomes a little more grim with the tensions between the locals & 'outsiders' erupting in a certain amount of violence. But all ends happily. I...
Published on 20 July 2010 by January


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More murder for Thea, 2 Dec 2010
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thea Osborne has embarked on her second house-sitting assignment with her dog Hepzibah. She's hoping to spend some time walking in the surrounding countryside and exploring some of the disused canals in the area as she is interested in industrial archaeology. Unfortunately the body of a man is found hanging in a barn next to the house in which she is staying. The incident does have a good side in that it brings her into contact again with Superintendent Phil Hollis to whom she found herself attracted in the first book in the series Cotswold Killing, A (Cotswolds Mystery 1)

Thea thinks she has enough problems to deal with but her sister is about to land her with another one as she is having problems with her marriage and wants to stay in Thea's own house until the dust settles. Thea invites her to stay with her for a few days. I enjoyed this fast moving story with its many undercurrents and plot strands. It is soon clear that there is much more going on in the neighbourhood than either the police or Thea are aware of.

The villagers are an interesting collection with several very pushy and obnoxious characters who keep telling Thea it would be in her interests to go home as soon as possible. I found the characters interesting and the plot nicely complicated and the growing relationship between Thea and Phil was intriguing. I am looking forward to reading the rest of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wry and entertaining, 27 Aug 2009
This review is from: A Cotswold Ordeal (Cotswold Mysteries) (Paperback)
For me this was an entirely new take on the murder mystery genre. The whole is characterised by lucid description both emotional and physical (I have never felt so clearly 'oriented' in a novel before) and wry humour. It had me laughing all the time at Thea's (the heroine's) inappropriately appropriate observations and reactions. She places the welfare of her pooch first (quite right!), is irritated by her relatives, fancies one of the policemen... she proceeds by accident and is free of the irritating and incredible genius with which other lay-heroes are endowed. Can't wait to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an ordeal to read!, 1 Oct 2010
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Cotswold Ordeal (Cotswold Mysteries) (Paperback)
I love the Cotswolds so this had a great "place" interest for me. Not my usual crime fiction taste but I enjoyed it in one sitting on a rainy afternoon. An easy comfort read which demanded little of me other than to turn the pages. Quite satisfying really but certainly not literature. Enjoy it for what it is - a bit of escape from bad news which seems to surround us. Thea is very funny and doesn't really fit into the Cotswolds I know - not gentrified at all, which makes her all the nicer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Starting to dislike Thea, 26 Feb 2012
This review is from: A Cotswold Ordeal (Cotswold Mysteries) (Paperback)
This is the second book I have read in this series, and although the plot was good, the character of Thea began to annoy me, especially regarding her attitude towards her sister's situation, when she told her that she had too much to think about (i.e. the situation with a lot of strangers, which she could quite easily just walk away from) to be too bothered about the fact that her sister was being assaulted by her husband. In fact, towards the end she was glad when the husband showed up, meaning that Thea didn't have to put herself out going to visit her sister in hospital, not seeming bothered that the husband would be going alone.
The plot itself was intriguing, although I knew one particular character was involved somehow due to her obvious over-reaction at something earlier in the book, which I imagine was meant to be subtle, but in fact wasn't at all. The characters were well-written mostly, especially that of Valerie, the rude neighbour who thought she was being friendly.
I may have given this book two stars, but changed my mind when I got to the mention of Murder on the Orient Express. I haven't read this book yet, and thanks to A Cotswold Ordeal, I now know how it ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of A Cotswold Ordeal, 20 July 2010
By 
January (Shrops. Eng.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cotswold Ordeal (Cotswold Mysteries) (Paperback)
A light and easy-going story set in the Cotswolds. The main character and her dog Hepzibah are house sitting in a farmhouse while the family holiday abroad. A body is found and things start to hot up. Towards the end the story becomes a little more grim with the tensions between the locals & 'outsiders' erupting in a certain amount of violence. But all ends happily. I found the story a little slow in parts & slightly over-the-top in the end scenes, but generally it has a light, cosy feel to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly old fashioned who dunnit, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cotswold Ordeal (Cotswold Mysteries) (Paperback)
A very good who dunnit story. Reminds me of our visists to the Cotswolds everytime I read one of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, but Tedious at Times, 25 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cotswold Ordeal (Cotswold Mysteries) (Paperback)
Overall I enjoyed this book, but felt that there were places where it needed speeding up a bit.

I liked the developing relationship between Phil and Thea. You could feel the chemistry intensifying. I liked the relationship between Thea and Joss too. Even though they bicker, deep down there is a genuine sisterly bond between them.

I loved the way the Cotswolds are described in this book and can picture it all very well.

The setting for the murder is good and certainly a mixed bag of potential murderers, although this book does have plenty of twists and turns too, so you don't really know anything until it's revealed at the end.

Good book. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Muddy waters, 31 Aug 2014
By 
A correction first. The canal at Frampton Mansell is not the Cotswold Canal but the Thames & Severn. It, together with the contiguous Stroudwater Canal, are being restored by the Cotswold Canals Trust. The main character, who professes to be a canal and history enthusiast, would surely be aware of this fact and also of the normal lock layout thus avoiding much of the panic when her sister fell into the derelict lock. As for the book, the title says all. It's set in the Cotswolds and it's an ordeal to read. May be that's because I'm a man while the book is clearly aimed at women readers judging by the romantic interest. It did raise a smile, though, when a coloured police woman with a Yorkshire accent made a brief appearance. Winsome Jackson moonlighting from Peter Robinson's excellent DCI Banks series?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Can be irritating, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A reasonable read; not as good as the first in the series. Thea can be quite irritating at times, but the plot is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Irritating Thea, 4 Feb 2014
I have the audio version of this book and it really highlights what a pain Thea is, which is a shame, maybe I should stick to reading the books in future; also the narrator has an inflection to her voice that I find annoying and that is what has made me more negative about Thea I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Cotswold Ordeal (Cotswold Mysteries)
A Cotswold Ordeal (Cotswold Mysteries) by Rebecca Tope (Paperback - 31 Oct 2006)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews