Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
12
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2008
Ms Knight, an accomplished and experienced writer obviously has a successful formula for her books, probably expected by the readers of her over 30 novels. Unfortunately the formula appears to have stifled a great deal of the possibilities in this novel. The beauty and magical breath of the Orkney Islands are lacking; a seal wife, lost princess and troll cave does not add suspense or describe life on these Northern Isles.
Coincidences, necessary for the story, are stretched a bit too far and the continuous use of foreshadowing of later events makes the first half of the book tiresome.
There was little flow and characters appeared only long enough to say a few sentences before disappearing into a study, cottages and without explanation. The answer to this murder mystery was not a surprise and in places the story was slow and over padded, especially when the rather dense heroine runs out of logic. Very disappointing.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
This was up to the standard you expect from this author. Taking Rose Quinn back to her roots you can almost hear, feel and smell the Orkney Isles. Very descriptive of both characters and local area it makes you feel you are taking part in the story line. As usual there was always the unexpected twist. I love to try to work out 'who done it', but it's never as obvious as it appears with Alanna Knight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Sometimes when reading a book something irritates beyond reason.....in this one - in fact in the whole series - it's the erroneous use of 'stepbrother' for half-brother. Does the author not realise that these are entirely different relationships? The stories themselves are well written if slightly predictable, and the language used modern but acceptable as an alternative to a stilted attempt at late Victorian speech, but the basic family relationship error is driving me bananas!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
As the plot uncovers more and more, Rose fears for the innocence of those closest to her, but is there the innocence to fear for? Added to the mystery is a great grandmother who she has never heard of, that lives in a small croft, that is more than a 100 years old and was rescued by the sea. Her premonitions are always true, her potions are potent, and she hunches when she walks, dragging her feet behind her into the mist, much like a...

(from [...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Enjoyed this story for the most part but felt the author didn't quite know how to end it. As if it was "oh heck, what do I do now". However it was a good story for all that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
Good competent stuff well set in period and plot handled sensibly. Roger Keevil could learn from her how to avoid messing up a worthehile plot by giving chacters silly names.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
Classic crime in the best tradition, nicely written with a real sense of place and character. very sucessful historical details, particularly
the cultural mores.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
I enjoyed this story very much and look forward to reading others in this series. I suppose it helped that I had visited Orkney but I also liked Rose's methods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
The plot carries you along, and most of the characters are credible, even if the hinted-at supernatural elements sometimes get in the way. An enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
I always enjoy Alanna Knight books, they're a good read with a slightly quirky supernatural feel in the shape of Thane the mysterious dog.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.