Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good descriptive text
A good storyline and very descriptive of the landscape. I felt I was there! Haven't yet been to orkney but definitely will now
Published 5 months ago by valentino

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Orkney Magic
Ms Knight, an accomplished and experienced writer obviously has a successful formula for her books, probably expected by the readers of her over 30 novels. Unfortunately the formula appears to have stifled a great deal of the possibilities in this novel. The beauty and magical breath of the Orkney Islands are lacking; a seal wife, lost princess and troll cave does not add...
Published on 28 Dec 2008 by MeMyself


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Orkney Magic, 28 Dec 2008
By 
MeMyself (Highlands of Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Orkney Murder (Rose McQuinn Mysteries) (Paperback)
Ms Knight, an accomplished and experienced writer obviously has a successful formula for her books, probably expected by the readers of her over 30 novels. Unfortunately the formula appears to have stifled a great deal of the possibilities in this novel. The beauty and magical breath of the Orkney Islands are lacking; a seal wife, lost princess and troll cave does not add suspense or describe life on these Northern Isles.
Coincidences, necessary for the story, are stretched a bit too far and the continuous use of foreshadowing of later events makes the first half of the book tiresome.
There was little flow and characters appeared only long enough to say a few sentences before disappearing into a study, cottages and without explanation. The answer to this murder mystery was not a surprise and in places the story was slow and over padded, especially when the rather dense heroine runs out of logic. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Author knows how to write a mystery, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Dr. Ian Mertling-blake "I M-B" (Wester Ross, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good competent stuff well set in period and plot handled sensibly. Roger Keevil could learn from her how to avoid messing up a worthehile plot by giving chacters silly names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good descriptive text, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good storyline and very descriptive of the landscape. I felt I was there! Haven't yet been to orkney but definitely will now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spicy mix for a great winter read, 10 Nov 2013
By 
As the plot uncovers more and more, Rose fears for the innocence of those closest to her, but is there the innocence to fear for? Added to the mystery is a great grandmother who she has never heard of, that lives in a small croft, that is more than a 100 years old and was rescued by the sea. Her premonitions are always true, her potions are potent, and she hunches when she walks, dragging her feet behind her into the mist, much like a...

(from [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was up to the standard you expect from this author. Taking Rose Quinn back to her roots you can almost hear, feel and smell the Orkney Isles. Very descriptive of both characters and local area it makes you feel you are taking part in the story line. As usual there was always the unexpected twist. I love to try to work out 'who done it', but it's never as obvious as it appears with Alanna Knight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A revisit to Orkney., 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this story very much and look forward to reading others in this series. I suppose it helped that I had visited Orkney but I also liked Rose's methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic crime in the best tradition, nicely written with a real sense of place and character. very sucessful historical details, particularly
the cultural mores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 10 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. J. M. Parkes "J.P" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy Alanna Knight books, they're a good read with a slightly quirky supernatural feel in the shape of Thane the mysterious dog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Orkney Murder (Rose McQuinn Mysteries)
An Orkney Murder (Rose McQuinn Mysteries) by Alanna Knight (Paperback - 23 Sep 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews