Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voices from the past
Sister Agnes is surprised to hear from an American academic who knew her father in the last years of his life. He wants to meet her so that he can pass on some of her father's papers. Then an inmate of the hostel where Agnes works is found dead of an apparent self inflicted overdose which seems out of character. There are members of the criminal underworld hanging...
Published on 12 Nov 2008 by Damaskcat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Suitable sinister story solved by Sister Agnes a woman of superior intelligence
A crime classic with a intense dedicated investigator a unconventional character who solves mysteries This is an unusual story with a religious solving the crime and a good read.
Published 5 months ago by Dr. R. Jameson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voices from the past, 12 Nov 2008
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Violent Act, A (Hardcover)
Sister Agnes is surprised to hear from an American academic who knew her father in the last years of his life. He wants to meet her so that he can pass on some of her father's papers. Then an inmate of the hostel where Agnes works is found dead of an apparent self inflicted overdose which seems out of character. There are members of the criminal underworld hanging around as well which makes everyone nervous and Father Julius wants Agnes to go and see a woman dying of cancer. There are several strands to this complex plot and Agnes wonders whether she will ever get to the bottom of her own mysteries let alone anyone else's. I think this is the best Sister Agnes story so far - I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Sister Act, 23 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book I have read by Alison Joseph and it was an excellent read.

She has a great writing style and I found the book completely absorbing. It's not that it's action packed but she draws you into to her characters particularly the main protagonist Sister Agnes. I have an eclectic taste in books and particularly like mysteries although these can verge on the Dan Brown style. There are a million books out there related to crime fiction and writers are continually trying to come up with new more weird detectives and bizarre, action packed stories with a multitude of thinly drawn characters.
Alison Joseph does not pander to this type of audience, instead she writes a fluent engaging and quite in-depth story that has crime almost as an incidental aside to her main story of the nun and her various thoughts and feelings. The book is multilayered and truly interesting with her growing concern about some of the crimes interspersed with revelations about her absent father who had died a few years previously. There are some lovely red herrings where she might have taken you down the archeological thriller path but she never loses her thread and ultimately brings it all to a very satisfying climax.

I shall be reading more of this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars P D James quality crime, 26 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first Alison Joseph - Sister Agnes novel I have read. Quality writing and a well rounded main character. It's not fast moving, but pretty deep. I tried to think how best I could describe this, or with whom I could compare the writing. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Suitable sinister story solved by Sister Agnes a woman of superior intelligence, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Dr. R. Jameson (Liverpool England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A crime classic with a intense dedicated investigator a unconventional character who solves mysteries This is an unusual story with a religious solving the crime and a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but guessed from the beginning who did it, 3 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is set in London.

Sister Agnes turned to the sisterhood when she ran away from a violent marriage.

Sister Agnes works at a hostel helping people over come their problems.

One of the young girl's is over coming her addiction to drugs and is hoping to move out and live on her own well that is until she is found and it appears she has committed suicide with heroin.

Whilst Sister Agnes is coming to terms with the loss of one of her charges she receives a letter from someone who said that he worked with he father, she found this strange as her father had died years earlier and wondered why he had contacted her now after all this time.

Another young person at the hostel has a pet rat who is found dead and this is a warning of sorts which apparently he doesn't take on board as he is found dying at the hostel door with a stab wound.

When you read this book and see all the character involved I soon realised who I thought was the murderer.

Good story but does go on a bit once you have come to the conclusion of the killer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb52091f8)

This product

Violent Act, A
Violent Act, A by Alison Joseph (Hardcover - 26 Aug 2009)
17.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews