Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good solid, YA read
Young Bess is the first in a trilogy Margaret Irwin wrote on the life of Elizabeth Tudor and begins towards the end of Henry VIII's life during his marriage to Catherine Parr. Upon Henry's death Bess goes to live with the widowed Catherine who soon marries the new King's uncle Tom Seymour - but was Catherine really Tom's first choice for a bride or would he have preferred...
Published on 1 Jan 2010 by Misfit

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Young Bess
Couldn't get into it very easily not what I was expecting so I didn't finish it. I may go back to it.
Published 10 months ago by ldal0


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good solid, YA read, 1 Jan 2010
By 
Misfit (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Young Bess (Good Queen Bess 1) (Paperback)
Young Bess is the first in a trilogy Margaret Irwin wrote on the life of Elizabeth Tudor and begins towards the end of Henry VIII's life during his marriage to Catherine Parr. Upon Henry's death Bess goes to live with the widowed Catherine who soon marries the new King's uncle Tom Seymour - but was Catherine really Tom's first choice for a bride or would he have preferred to marry the young princess to further his own ambitions? Bess is barely on the cusp of womanhood and Tom's *flirtations* begin to appear most inappropriate and Catherine must step to nip it in the bud and separate the two.

The book continues through the reign of her brother Edward as Bess and Tom face the consequences for their reckless actions. The trilogy continues in ELIZABETH, CAPTIVE PRINCESS and ELIZABETH AND THE PRINCE OF SPAIN. While I did enjoy this novel a great deal and Irwin's writing is top-notch this book didn't bring any new knowledge to *the table* either. I believe this was written for the YA market and would do very nicely for today's younger readers new to the period as well as for those who do enjoy a YA book on occasion. Readers looking for a heavier going read should look elsewhere, and I highly recommend Susan Kay's Legacy (which BTW is being reissued by Sourcebooks in 2010).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great start to the trilogy!, 1 April 2009
By 
Elizabeth Watch "bubbles" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Young Bess (Good Queen Bess 1) (Paperback)
I adored this book from start to finish! It's an easy-to-read book with a flow of words that makes it extremely enjoyable. It definately made me want to get the other two in this series. Believe me they are well worth buying,not just ordering from the library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different...special, 4 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Young Bess (Good Queen Bess 1) (Paperback)
Much better than most of the Tudor industry tripe. Her prose is beautiful, perfect and strangely evocative. Read this when I was a wee bairn. It stands up twenty years later. Read the whole trilogy, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 3 Jan 2009
By 
Lindymck (Falkirk, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Young Bess (Good Queen Bess 1) (Paperback)
a look at Queen elizabeth's life as a child and teenager. starting just before Henry VIII death and ends when she is aged about 19/20. written in a romantic style rather than some other historical books which are a bit factual in style. very interesting period in Elizabeth life as she shows the strength of character and opinion she would been known for as queen when is a child. not a period i know anything about so was interesting to read something new about her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read a lot of historical novels especially of the Tudors. Irwin evokes the period beautifully. The young Elizabeth is perfectly portrayed as a child and teenager and shows how she went onto become one of England's greatest monarchs. This novel is for anyone who enjoys historical fiction.

I will now go on to read all Irwin's other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elizabethan history at its best, 19 Jan 2014
By 
MRS (KIRTON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think that Margaret Irwin has a superb way of telling history. I read this novel years ago and felt that it gave as faithful account as possible of the history of this period. Many books have been written on the subject of Elizabeth and although this attempt must definitely be regarded as a novel and not a history reference book, it does have the ring of truth in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Young Bess, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Couldn't get into it very easily not what I was expecting so I didn't finish it. I may go back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good reading, 22 Sep 2013
By 
beu "decker" (stoke-on-trent u.k) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm enjoying reading this book good author historically good would recommend to anyone who enjoys reading historical novels look forward to reading other books by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read for those who enjoy historical fiction, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a bit of historical romance. Brought to life some of the characters and political intrigue of the time and a very innocent Elizabeth 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Review for Young Bess, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting if you want to learn about history but story about a much wider scene than Bess and is more about the happenings at court at that time - Bess is just a small part of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Young Bess (Good Queen Bess 1)
Young Bess (Good Queen Bess 1) by Margaret Irwin (Paperback - 27 Aug 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews