Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Cotswold Mystery by Rebecca Tope
I am very glad to have discovered Thea Osborne a sympathetic lady detective. The Cotswold settings are pleasing , there is human interest and an engaging mystery.The writing is good and tension and detection are satisfying!There is little violence or gore. I read at night and was reluctant to put the book down and go to sleep!The format lends itself to further stories as...
Published on 3 July 2009 by M. I. Hine

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cosy without being too sickly sweet.
A COTSWOLD MYSTERY is light reading without being too cosy. There is a cast of interesting characters and the descriptions of Blockley and its history make the reader want to visit the area. The relationship between Thea and Jessica in particular is well portrayed. The pair are close, but their relationship is frequently prickly so there are flare ups and squabbles. It...
Published on 12 Jan. 2008 by Sunnie Gill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cosy without being too sickly sweet., 12 Jan. 2008
A COTSWOLD MYSTERY is light reading without being too cosy. There is a cast of interesting characters and the descriptions of Blockley and its history make the reader want to visit the area. The relationship between Thea and Jessica in particular is well portrayed. The pair are close, but their relationship is frequently prickly so there are flare ups and squabbles. It is just what you'd expect from a strong-minded mother and daughter.

I liked Thea and Jessica a great deal and found the mystery to be engrossing. If there is a criticism of the book it is that perhaps the resolution felt a little rushed, but it is a minor quibble. A COTSWOLD MYSTERY is Rebecca Tope's fourth in the Cotswold Mystery series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Cotswold Mystery by Rebecca Tope, 3 July 2009
By 
M. I. Hine (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Cotswold Mystery (Paperback)
I am very glad to have discovered Thea Osborne a sympathetic lady detective. The Cotswold settings are pleasing , there is human interest and an engaging mystery.The writing is good and tension and detection are satisfying!There is little violence or gore. I read at night and was reluctant to put the book down and go to sleep!The format lends itself to further stories as the detective acts as a house sitter with her dog.I can recomend this book especially to the feminine reader.

Margaret Hine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not sure how to desribe this ..., 9 Sept. 2010
This review is from: A Cotswold Mystery (Paperback)
I was a little taken aback at the finish of this book. It ended so abruptly that I thought someone had torn the last page out of it.

Was the editor on holiday at the time?? Was there an editor at all?

The author tells us who's responsibe for the crime well before the end (not that that was a surprise).

Here's a little mundane background: the main character is going to take her spaniel out into the garden for a late night walk. I, and many others, can guess why this needs to be the case. I do not need to know that the dog needs to take a 'widdle'.

Widdle? What the heck?!

On the other hand, I genuinely applaud the author on succeeding with her ongoing publications about Thea. Obviously not for me, but she's an author and I'm not, so I wish Rebecca Tope all best wishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Cotswold Reader, 15 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cotswold Mystery (Paperback)
I think of Rebecca Tope's Cotswold mystery series as Agatha Christy blended with Katie Fforde. I know and love the Cotswolds and the setting is lovely and portrayed accurately. Nothing too exciting happens except the odd murder, but the novel is a good, uncomplicated, read.A Cotswold Mystery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cosy Cotswold conundrum., 19 Oct. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To date I have read four of this series of books. They are cosy, curl up in front of the fire english village murder mysteries without too much gore and to that end they do exactly what they say on the tin. As I say I've read four so far , however disappointingly I still feel that I do not really know the character of Thea. She always seems to be described in a similar way by the author and as a result I don't feel that her character developes through the books. This is a shame as a growing understanding of the main character alongside good plot lines is something which tends to keep me reading through a series such as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Cotswold Mystery, 16 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cotswold Mystery (Paperback)
I thoroughly recommend this as a good escapist detective novel with a very likeable housesitter as the detective. The Cotswolds are beautifully described which is an added bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent light reads, 22 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent light reads. Thea is a very engaging character, sad and a little lost . A new widow trying a find a life for herself by escaping to house sit for other people. Everywhere she goes murder happens, and she solves the crime. Evocative like Midsomer Murders, beautiful villages and houses, some abrasive characters but always beautifully descriptive and always interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Know your neighbours!, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this novel as it was a very cosy read and not so complicated that I was unable to solve the mystery myself. The descriptive passages about the Cotswolds are well done and bring back happy memories. It is easy to get somewhat hooked on the series because they are not over demanding and there is always a chance that the human relationships may eventually become clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars lightweight easy reading, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
typical of the series, although this one is slightly more challenging in terms of whodunnit? It's not going to frighten anyone. Not in the same league as the bestter writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good book and follow on from the previous story, shame about Hollis but that's life looking forward to reading the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Cotswold Mystery
A Cotswold Mystery by Rebecca Tope (Paperback - 28 Aug. 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews