Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy continuation of a great series
This book is the cause of great tiredness today - I tried to stop reading it at 11pm last night when wanting to go to sleep but it had become so exciting that I couldn't sleep and had to pick it up again, finally finishing it at 1am.

Book 4 of this excellent series is slightly different in that some time has passed since the end of book 3, rather than it being...
Published on 7 Jun 2006 by Helen Hancox

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars modern and urban fantasy
So, you've had a rough couple of weeks. You've died, been reborn, died again. Your boyfriend isn't human, and he's eating your energy bit by bit. This is were we find Joanne Baldwin, ex weather warden, current morning weather girl, heroine of the series. With David becoming an ifrit, a cruddy job, a recently divorced sister visiting, and ex bosses who want to strip away...
Published on 17 Sep 2010 by Rebecca


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy continuation of a great series, 7 Jun 2006
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This book is the cause of great tiredness today - I tried to stop reading it at 11pm last night when wanting to go to sleep but it had become so exciting that I couldn't sleep and had to pick it up again, finally finishing it at 1am.

Book 4 of this excellent series is slightly different in that some time has passed since the end of book 3, rather than it being a non-stop roller-coaster ride of Joanne's life. She's now working as a sidekick on a weather channel, living in a nondescript flat and not using her weather powers at all to prevent a power lobotomy. David, her seriously weakened lover/Djinn, has to spend almost all of his time in the bottle as he's draining her powers and is on the verge of becoming an Ifrit.

This story focuses rather more on Joanne and how she deals with different situations without using her powers. The usual list of characters are there - Lewis, Jonathan, Paul, Rahel, Alice, David and Ashan, but we also meet her sister, her sister's new boyfriend and a policeman who was a former partner of Quinn's.

There's a kind of subtext in this book about good and evil - yes, Quinn was evil but he also had some good. Another character who appears good turns out to be evil, but he also has some redeeming features. Although overall this series might come across as a battle between good and evil that's not always the case - yes, the wardens are manipulating the weather to prevent loss of life and damage through natural causes, but we learned in the last book that the Ma'at believe that the wardens have actually increased the problems from the weather due to their interference. We learn more about this at the end of the book as we discover the underlying reason that things are going wrong.

The romance between David and Joanne is still there in this book, as is the little surprise that David left for Joanne in the last book, but the story focuses more directly on Joanne. When the book finished I found myself breathless, waiting for what was coming next (I have several more months to wait for it to be published, unfortunately) but also slightly disappointed in the direction Rachel Caine had taken with a couple of the main characters. I shall wait and see how the follow-up pans out and if she brings these new threads into the story in a satisfactory way. Somehow I think she well, she hasn't let me down so far.

Overall this is a very good book; the dialogue is perhaps a little less sparkling than normal, but there's plenty of action and the characters keep growing, including Djinn who are so difficult to understand, Jonathan being the most impenetrable of them all. I recommend this series highly, although I think it's probably best to read them in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great installment, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windfall (Weather Warden) (Paperback)
Book Four of the Weather Warden series. Previous books are Ill Wind, Heat Stroke and Chill Factor.

Joanne is working as a weather girl in Florida and has been warned about ever using her Warden powers again. Which isn't much of a problem since David is feeding off her powers and they're running low. David is an Ifrit but he can take form after feeding, which he doesn't like doing because he knows he's hurting another Djinn by doing it. But a major storm is coming and bringing other dangers with it, Jo has a huge decision to make that will affect her whole life.

This series just keeps getting better. I love how Rachel keeps you on your toes wondering what's coming next. One thing I really love about Rachel's writing? Her chapters are nice and long, although this trifles with my "I'll read to the end of this chapter then go to bed" method of reading!

I love David so much so the "is he isn't he an Ifrit" theme in this book killed me! I just loved the scenes after he'd fed and he was back and all gorgeous and sexy as usual but then he has to go away again when his power starts to fade, urgh, so frustrating.

If you've read the first 3 you have to read on, it's the LAW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars modern and urban fantasy, 17 Sep 2010
By 
So, you've had a rough couple of weeks. You've died, been reborn, died again. Your boyfriend isn't human, and he's eating your energy bit by bit. This is were we find Joanne Baldwin, ex weather warden, current morning weather girl, heroine of the series. With David becoming an ifrit, a cruddy job, a recently divorced sister visiting, and ex bosses who want to strip away her powers there's bound to be trouble of epic proportions. The book was a bit of a downer. I eventually wanted to pop Jo in the back of the head when she bemoaned her inability to interact with David, this got worse with the introduction of Hot British Guy who proceeded to hook up with her sister. Her habit of getting dragged into problems that should be way out of her depth could get annoying if it weren't done so well. Her trading the nameless earth warden's dijin to Hot British Guy bothers me a bit, especially considering what happens afterward and that her relationship with David. The end was just satisfying enough to make me want to buy the next one ASAP. It gets a three out of five for being a solid novel and carrying the story well but for being a bit of a downer and for turning Jo into more of a whiner than usual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Windfall, 31 May 2009
By 
Clare "Bookaholic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Windfall (Weather Warden) (Paperback)
This is the fourth in Rachel Caine's brilliant Weather Warden series and my favourite yet!

Jo has nothing more to do with the Wardens and finds herself back in Florida doing a 'regular' job and is working as a weather girl on a local TV station. And thats if you can call it that as she doesn't get to predict the weather. And smiles at the camera through gritted teeth.

We see a new character in this instalment in the shape of Cherise who is fantastic! Cherise is another weather girl who gets a better deal of being a weather girl than Joanne does. Also introduced is Joanne's sister Sarah, but we still have our old favourites in the shape of Rahel and Jonathan.

There is more of a darker side to this book but, on the other hand there are some lighter moments too with Jo and her sister making things a little more 'human'. Joanne is still with David but, their relationship takes an interesting twist I won't say anymore but, its none too good!!

If you love Paranormal romance etc just get this series, its brill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you have read the morganville vampires you will also love these books even though they are not vampire related Rachel Caine is a great author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 30 Oct 2013
This review is from: Windfall (Weather Warden) (Paperback)
Probably the best one I've read!
Getting better, pacey, well written, just a few typos .. Will keep on reading the rest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars poor joanne, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Windfall (Weather Warden) (Paperback)
what a series of books this series of the weather warden is rachelcaine seems to get better and better if you think what happened in las vegas was good this is better joanne goes through everything but does she come through buy the book and find out this book was absolutely superb for readers who like rachel caine but the book but go back to the start of the weather warden series this is the best so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Windfall - Rachel Caine - good book, 13 Sep 2011
By 
M. Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Windfall (Weather Warden) (Paperback)
Great book in the weather warden series by Rachel Caine. I would recommend reading it, if you enjoyed the earlier books. They are action packed and a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Windfall (Weather Warden)
Windfall (Weather Warden) by Rachel Caine (Paperback - 3 Nov 2008)
5.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews