Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly completely brilliant and wonderful
This is the most beautiful and lovely and clever and bewitching book I've seen for years and years. A really rare example of a simple and brilliant idea which won't be exhausted by a mere ten minutes' perusal - you want to spend time with this book and appreciate the effort, wit and considerable invention that went into it. I'm going to buy about five copies to give away...
Published on 10 Oct 2008 by Bruno Vincent

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's alright.
It's an alright book, for what it is, but I was expecting a little more. It is just literally photos of the envelopes - no description, no anecdotes, nothing. A little sparse and doesn't really hold up to repeat readings, but if you like this sort of thing it's worth a punt.
Published on 3 Feb 2009 by Suzanne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly completely brilliant and wonderful, 10 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Envelopes. A Puzzling Journey Through the Royal Mail (Hardcover)
This is the most beautiful and lovely and clever and bewitching book I've seen for years and years. A really rare example of a simple and brilliant idea which won't be exhausted by a mere ten minutes' perusal - you want to spend time with this book and appreciate the effort, wit and considerable invention that went into it. I'm going to buy about five copies to give away. I think it'll be the one that everyone's talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascenating!, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: Envelopes. A Puzzling Journey Through the Royal Mail (Hardcover)
Really captivating book.
Harriet Russel has such a great imagination.
I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars post cards, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Ms. D. Bodewes "DaisyMay" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Envelopes. A Puzzling Journey Through the Royal Mail (Hardcover)
I'm doing a postcard project of myown, and this was a fun added artist to look at.great imegery, no long written pieces and some fab ideas!
but i do think the best were shown int the advert :s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Confusing the posties, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Envelopes. A Puzzling Journey Through the Royal Mail (Hardcover)
I have done this and sent postcards to a friend. Im now on 1st name terms with her postman. I think my last one has got lost in the post unfortunitly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely little book.., 5 Dec 2011
By 
E. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Envelopes. A Puzzling Journey Through the Royal Mail (Hardcover)
I purchased this book as a present for a friend - when it arrived (promtly as ever, thank you Amazon) i sat and became fascinated, turning each page until before i knew it i had finished the book. It's an ideal small gift for the person who has everything. Perfect for those who are creative and it would make a fantastic coffee table book. Made me want to start puzzling my postman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 5 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Envelopes. A Puzzling Journey Through the Royal Mail (Hardcover)
was such a good buy, looking at each page is just delightful and entertaining, though as you're just flicking throught it, it takes a total of about 10 minutes to finish. totally wonderful though :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Envelopes, 10 Jan 2010
By 
M. Abery (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Envelopes. A Puzzling Journey Through the Royal Mail (Hardcover)
My son requested this book as a gift. After delivery I thumbed through it as I was intrigued to see what it was all about. I was unexpectedly fascinated by it. I have since "borrowed" it from my son to share with my schoolchildren who are equally enthralled by it. It actually helped support a whole weeks literacy lesson. It is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, 30 Dec 2009
This review is from: Envelopes. A Puzzling Journey Through the Royal Mail (Hardcover)
I saw this book at the shop and I totally loved it so bought it off amazon (where it was 40% off the price at the shop!). It is such a cute and interesting book, great for a coffee table :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tenacity of Postman Pat!, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Juanita Lever "vivlever" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Envelopes. A Puzzling Journey Through the Royal Mail (Hardcover)
Congratulations to the many postmen and women who perservered to find the addresses of these sometimes excrutiatingly irritating hidden addresses.
Whilst Harriet Russell's creativity is to be admired, the ingenious perseverence of the postal workers deserves big applause.
Plese declare yourselves - it would be great to hear your side of the story.
Everyone l gave a copy to at Christmas has located it in their loo...perfect location for this fabulous little book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic idea and very amusing, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Ms. H. L. Sturla "Han810" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Envelopes. A Puzzling Journey Through the Royal Mail (Hardcover)
This book is excellent, i bought one for my sister, then another for a friend and now i want one for myself! Such a lovely book to look through, in fact my sister wants to try out some of the envelopes herself! It really makes the perfect gift. You won't regret buying this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Envelopes. A Puzzling Journey Through the Royal Mail
Envelopes. A Puzzling Journey Through the Royal Mail by Harriet Russell (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2008)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews