Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-moving and emotionally fraught
Seventh in the Charlie Fox series, this finds the bodyguard and ex-special forces trainee living in New York with her lover Sean Meyer. When her father appears on TV and makes some unexpected personal confessions, Charlie is forced to confront her troubled relationship with her parents and the impact they have on her life with Sean.

This is the best of the Zoe...
Published on 10 Nov. 2010 by Roman Clodia

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite third strike and out but getting there
I'm always a bit doubtful when well respected authors help to promote someone else's books and this one turned out to be no exception. The book's okay and, if you've followed the all-action female hero, you know what to expect. And that's just the trouble. There is little that is unexpected in this book, except that Charlie Fox's parents play almost centre stage, a really...
Published on 25 Jun. 2012 by Michael Watson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-moving and emotionally fraught, 10 Nov. 2010
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Third Strike (Paperback)
Seventh in the Charlie Fox series, this finds the bodyguard and ex-special forces trainee living in New York with her lover Sean Meyer. When her father appears on TV and makes some unexpected personal confessions, Charlie is forced to confront her troubled relationship with her parents and the impact they have on her life with Sean.

This is the best of the Zoe Sharp books I have read so far. The plotting runs seamlessly from the thriller element to the emotional, intertwining both with ease. Charlie's fraught relationships take centre stage, and Sharp does a good job of allowing characters to develop and modulate their positions without acting out of character. Another excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy Thriller, 17 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Third Strike (Paperback)
Zoe Sharp continues to delight with Third Strike, the latest in her series of Charlie Fox thrillers. If you like heroines who are truly three-dimensional combining feistiness with intelligence and a smattering of vulnerability you will love Charlie Fox!

Once again the action takes place in both the US and the UK and includes the usual twists and turns that keep you in suspense from start to finish.

Definitely a must-read for all thriller fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third Strike, 3 July 2010
This review is from: Third Strike (Paperback)
I was given First Strike to read while on holiday and have been a fan of Charlie Fox ever since. Third Strike is again based in the US where Charlie and Sean have relocated to. In this book we see a different side to Charlie as we gain a better insight into her difficult relationships with both her parents and Sean. Someone is determined to destroy her father's reputation even if it means murder. Can Charlie and Sean protect her parents long enough to neutralise the threat or will someone she loves die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite third strike and out but getting there, 25 Jun. 2012
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm always a bit doubtful when well respected authors help to promote someone else's books and this one turned out to be no exception. The book's okay and, if you've followed the all-action female hero, you know what to expect. And that's just the trouble. There is little that is unexpected in this book, except that Charlie Fox's parents play almost centre stage, a really strange turn of events, given that they have appeared in earlier books to be rather less than adventurous.

As before, in the first few pages Charlie takes out her stress on an unsuspecting bloke and, strangely, the poor sap agrees to help her later in the book when no-one else will. Must be her winning ways with men. Which leads me nicely on to Sean Meyer, another strong-armed warrior, the protector of females - well, one, anyway - when they land themselves in deep trouble. This, of course, is what Charlie does very well. Frankly, she wouldn't stand a chance in other books but there we are. This series is about her so we have to go with the flow. Except that without Meyer, there would be no flow. He doesn't say much; he's always right but then, as far as I remember he's ex-Special Forces so that's all right then, too. Anyway, he's given the role of looking as though he knows what he's doing which is, in fact, a big help, otherwise no book 4 in this series.

The storyline is bizarre but inevitable; authors need to include new twists on heavyweight crime in order to sell books. A crooked top man in a certain US agency, his mind-numbingly stupid helpers, suffering the ignominy of distorted facial features thanks to Charlie's cruel ways and yet another main man who can pull strings just when they're needed. It's all a bit precious, really.

I won't spoil the ending because it's the only reason I will give book 4 a try. I just have to see where the author takes this turn of events. I'm not hopeful. She pads out her stories far too much for my taste actually so book 4 may not be the eye-opener I am wishing for. We shall see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good plot many twists and turns, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recommended. Zoe is a great story teller and keeps your attention throughout. She brings the Characters to life and tells how it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie Fox, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great story in the Charlie Fox series. Really struggle to put the book down. Great characterisation with real hiumanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zoe Sharp, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have throughly enjoyed all the books Zoe Sharp as written with the main character being Charlie Fox what a lady what a woman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellance every time, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another book by zoe sharpe that has everything one could want murder, mystery ,suspence and a tangle of romance. perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars typical charlie fox, 24 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
she's got an interesting twist that keeps you hooked and difficult to put down. would recommend this book to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book would recommend it to anyone who enjoys crime thriller story's. cannot wait to read the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Third Strike
Third Strike by Zoe Sharp (Paperback - 15 Jun. 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews