Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost But Not Forgotten
How do you solve a murder that took place on a battlefield more than a decade earlier? With a little bit of luck and a lot of skill and intuition. When an elderly American couple engaged Maisie Dobbs when their son's body was uncovered on a French farm, they provided her with many love letters sent to him by an English nurse, as well as his journal. These documents...
Published on 26 May 2010 by Ted Feit

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars INTRICATELY DRAWN MAP
THE MAPPING OF LOVE AND DEATH by author Jacqueline Winspear is another chapter in the continuing adventures of Maisie Dobbs. Maisie is a "psychologist and investigator" in post World War I London. A nurse during the war, Maisie returned to London and was mentored by one of the most skilled men in his field. Detective Dr. Maurice Blanche. The bulk of this story takes place...
Published on 14 Sep 2012 by Red Rock Bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost But Not Forgotten, 26 May 2010
By 
Ted Feit (Long Beach, NY USA) - See all my reviews
How do you solve a murder that took place on a battlefield more than a decade earlier? With a little bit of luck and a lot of skill and intuition. When an elderly American couple engaged Maisie Dobbs when their son's body was uncovered on a French farm, they provided her with many love letters sent to him by an English nurse, as well as his journal. These documents provided elusive clues.

However, more important were the results of an autopsy which indicated that the man was killed by a blow to the head with a blunt instrument, rather than a Boche shell, which buried the dugout with his body and those of his bunkmates inside. Serendipity, of course, plays an important role in solving the murder, and Maisie certainly doesn't lack for that either.

The seventh novel in the series, which traces the adventures of a young woman from her humble beginnings to serving as a nurse during the First World War to becoming an accomplished investigator, this story demonstrates not only Maisie's growth as a detective, but also the changes in her life that presumably will become apparent in future installments. They are something to which one can look forward.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars INTRICATELY DRAWN MAP, 14 Sep 2012
By 
Red Rock Bookworm (St. George Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mapping of Love and Death (Maisie Dobbs) (Paperback)
THE MAPPING OF LOVE AND DEATH by author Jacqueline Winspear is another chapter in the continuing adventures of Maisie Dobbs. Maisie is a "psychologist and investigator" in post World War I London. A nurse during the war, Maisie returned to London and was mentored by one of the most skilled men in his field. Detective Dr. Maurice Blanche. The bulk of this story takes place in 1932, when an American couple come to England seeking Masie's help in discovering who killed their son nearly 20 years earlier (WWI) and made it appear that he was a casualty of an enemy shelling. Their son was a cartographer who left America to enlist in the British Corps in order to volunteer his much needed services as a map maker to his father's homeland.

The Maisie Dobbs mysteries are a clever series, mixing cozy and historical fiction with a more traditional mystery. Their most appealing aspect, however, is the way Winspear develops her characters and pulls the reader into their lives. The mystery almost becomes peripheral and you actually find yourself more interested in finding out what happens to Maisie's family, friends, lovers and to Maisie herself than to the identity of the culprit. That is not to say that the mystery and its intricacies are not intriguing and well written, it's just that Winspear has created an engaging cast of characters and has made the world they inhabit so captivating, that the reader is literally transported to another time and place, one filled with history and life lessons, that they will want to visit again and again.

As discerned by Maisie's mentor Maurice Blanche, "All maps are drawn in hindsight, and hindsight if interpreted with care, is what brings us wisdom". A wise observation most of us can relate to and learn from as we map our own lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars keeping up the standard, 20 Sep 2011
By 
k barns (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
As ever this Jacquline Winspear novel - the lastest I have read in the Masie Dobbs series continues to keep the reader held to the page.
Fast moving and keeping up the standard of previous novels we move a pace looking at the case of Michael Clifton.

By the end of this novel we are also - perhaps - see some of the cases yet to come.

We aslo say goodbye to some fo those we have grown to care about and hello to some new and intresting develpments.

This is as ever well worth the read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better and better, 9 Jan 2011
This series just get better and better ... to buy instantly when they come out - a must read. A truly original and very appealing character (and supporting cast), wonderful evocation of the times (this book is set in 1932)and also a page turning mystery plot, the whole very well written. No hestitation - five stars ... and, note to author ... more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent read, 6 Dec 2014
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mapping of Love and Death (Maisie Dobbs) (Paperback)
The Mapping of Love and Death is the seventh book in the Maisie Dobbs series by British-born American author, Jacqueline Winspear. Psychologist and investigator, Maisie Dobbs is engaged by a Boston couple, Edward and Martha Clifton, whose youngest son, Michael, died in the trenches in France in 1917. Not until fifteen years later were his remains found, and with them, letters from an English Nurse.

Michael was a cartographer who had just spent part of his inheritance on land in California that he felt sure bore oil. When the autopsy report shows that he was murdered, Maisie is asked to track down his unnamed nurse and, if she can, to find his murderer. To distract her from her task, James Compton returns from Canada for good, her mentor, Maurice Blanche becomes increasingly frail, and Billy Beal is understandably apprehensive about Doreen’s return from hospital.

This instalment explores the vital role of cartographers in war, as well as the important contribution of the many Nursing Units, and the purpose of cinematographers on the front lines. Maisie has to deal with DI Caldwell now that Stratton has gone to Special Branch; she is mugged, goes to car races, visits the School of Military Engineers and more than one hospital. The value of post-traumatic counselling is highlighted, and Winspear drags several red herrings through her plot to keep the reader guessing on more than one front. The final chapters see great changes wrought in Maisie’s personal life and presage possible major alterations in her career. Once again, an excellent read that will have readers seeking out the next book in the series, A Lesson In Secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Crime story, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the 7th book in what is at present a 10 book series
Maisie Dobbs was a Nurse in WW1 & the books start in the 1920s, this book starts in 1932
The story is about an American who was posted missing in the Great War & his body just been found in a field by a farmer, it turns out he was murdered So Maisie has been asked by his American Family to look in to it, she reads letters & his Journal to help her & her assistant Billy Beale, the American couple are attacked while at the hotel it looks like they are looking for the papers that Maisie already has.
This has many twists & who i thought it may have been or at least had more to do with it, but i was wrong the person is not a nice person he comes across as a not so nice person can't say who it is or i would spoil part of the book, this is well worth reading & i will be reading another one soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love this series of Maisie Dobbs, conjures up the London of the 1930s and excellent stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Read, 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: Mapping of Love and Death (Maisie Dobbs) (Paperback)
This is part of a series of books. To date each one has been intriguing in it's own story as well as being part of a series. The backgound detail of life during WW1 and between the wars is very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Maisie Dobbs series, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mapping of Love and Death (Maisie Dobbs) (Paperback)
I started reading the series of Maisie Dobbs books when I received the first three as a birthday gift. I enjoyed these so much, they brought life during the First World War to life, that I purchased the rest of the series which I also found enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one of the best writers around at he moment, she captures all the horror of the first world war so well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mapping of Love and Death (Maisie Dobbs)
Mapping of Love and Death (Maisie Dobbs) by Jacqueline Winspear (Paperback - 26 Mar 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews