Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb addition to Laurie J. King's Sherlockian series
Laurie J. King's eleventh volume in her Mary Russell / Sherlock Holmes series is a worthy addition to the sequence. It is set a few years after the period related in "The Game", "Locked Rooms", "The Language of Bees" and "The God of the Hive", whose events described over these four books actually took place within a single year. In "Pirate King", Mary Russell is now about...
Published 21 months ago by Ann Winfield

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Pot-boiler disappointment
I loved the early Russell-Holmes books. The re-invention of Sherlock was clever and plausible, and the flowering of his relationship with the much younger Russell was poignant and credible. I liked them both and the way they worked together was fun. But this badly-researched (the G&S stuff is wincingly awful if you know the piece), badly-edited (Purdy guns, anyone? A...
Published 9 months ago by K. M. Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb addition to Laurie J. King's Sherlockian series, 25 July 2012
By 
Ann Winfield (Llanrhystud, Ceredigion) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pirate King (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
Laurie J. King's eleventh volume in her Mary Russell / Sherlock Holmes series is a worthy addition to the sequence. It is set a few years after the period related in "The Game", "Locked Rooms", "The Language of Bees" and "The God of the Hive", whose events described over these four books actually took place within a single year. In "Pirate King", Mary Russell is now about 28, and her husband, the retired consulting detective, is clearly approaching 70 but still retains an excellent general health, both physically and mentally.

The concept of this volume, like its predecessors, departs radically both in its geographical range and in plot concepts. Mary Russell is persuaded ("invegled" may be a more apt word) by her brother-in-law Mycroft into infiltrating an English silent-film company suspected of having criminal sidelines. In an undercover role, she - assisted by Holmes, of course - joins the film crew on its latest grand project, making a film about a fictional film crew making a film version (yes, read that bit twice) of Gilbert and Sullivan's "Pirates of Penzance", without the music - this is the silent movie era, of course - but with real pirates.

The idea is of course hilarious, but as usual in this series, the excellent writing gives persuasive credance to the bizarre tale. The locations where filming takes place range from Lisbon to the Moroccan pirate stronghold of Salé, as well as a sequence set aboard ship. As usual in the series, characterisation and period detail are carefully crafted, with a careful dig at the excentricities of the early film industry - Laurie King lives not that far from Hopllywood, so is well at home parodying the foibles and vast egos of her fellow-Californians. Mary Russell's dry humour and self-deprecating style is as always in marked contrast to the film-makers, actors and extras who make up the company, not least when the whole menagerie is kidnapped and seems destined for the white slavery trade. The Gilbertian plots and lyrics are also carefully sent up; the whole works well together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pirate king, 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pirate King (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
Interesting story, the latest in the series by Laurie King, would normally hate other people writing about Sherlock Holmes,but this series is very well written. I would recommend it to any Sherlock Holmes fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Operatic, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pirate King (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
An excellent series but with this one you get the feeling she is scratching for plots. Well written as always but doesn't take the story on very far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Far fetched, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pirate King (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
Boys pretending to be pretty girls, kidnapped by pirates? I enjoyed it and the style of writing gets you hooked but it all seemed a bit unrealistic and as its masquerading as true, I wanted to believe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Pot-boiler disappointment, 10 July 2013
By 
K. M. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pirate King (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
I loved the early Russell-Holmes books. The re-invention of Sherlock was clever and plausible, and the flowering of his relationship with the much younger Russell was poignant and credible. I liked them both and the way they worked together was fun. But this badly-researched (the G&S stuff is wincingly awful if you know the piece), badly-edited (Purdy guns, anyone? A quick google would have got it right first go), full of careless Americanisms - Mary Russell has spent most of her life in England, a short stay in SF isn't going to transform her speech that radically. There is no meaningful interaction between Holmes and Russell - indeed, the great detective is a mere violin-playing cypher in this. And worst of all, the plot just doesn't hold up. It reads like a silent-film storyboard, or possibly a Carry-On film without the laughs. It's just silly and I regret having bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars whimsical, funny and worth it!, 28 Jun 2013
By 
bekibird (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pirate King (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
Whatever you pay for a Laurie.R.King book in my opinion is worth it. A trusted and worn friend such as Sherlock Holmes, who often features very little in the stories, is for me a mark of excellence. King continues in the same vein but marries Holmes' experience and knowledge with a freshness, a new lease of life, in a new set of stories. To date I have only read a few of the novels on offer but I have always been impressed and this novel, although not breaking any moulds, gives sufficient twists and turns to make you read on. Mrs Holmes is feisty, fun and dowdy as well as being intelligent, intuative and creative. This story is one of exasperation as it is not only of solving a mystery, but one of gainful employment in something she would rather not be doing. Although the ending scenes feel a little rushed, all holes are covered and the reader is not left asking questions, which is a particular bug bear of mine. The allusions to Holmes' brother are well timed and a little bit sinister (which I appreciated), but King makes our protagonist stand on her own which is a real achievement, considering the device of having Sherlock Holmes as central character.
For those reader's expecting a Sherlock Holmes experience, feel free to be disappointed. It is not Arthur Conan Doyle, and the author does not expect it to be. A new slant has been taken here, one fresh and funny, that perhaps Doyle fans won't appreciate.
It's no matter to me. King does well with this novel, gives a life to a Holmes and a young Mrs Holmes, we may not expect and does very well with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretentious, 12 Aug 2012
This review is from: Pirate King (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
After enjoying many of the Mary Russell series, I was disappointed and embarrassed to read Pirate King, which seemed to be self-consciously reaching for opportunities to insert quotes from Pirates of Penzance, with an almost 'aren't I clever?" pretentiousness. The plot was plodding and heavy-handed, and I missed the delightful interaction of Holmes and Mary Russell. Laurie King, you could do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8094f84)

This product

Pirate King (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes)
Pirate King (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) by Laurie R. King (Paperback - 25 Jun 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews