Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing addition to Morganville
So anyone who has read any of my previous Morganville reviews will know I love this series and Rachel Caine. I love anything that woman writes and refuse to believe there is anything bad to say about her books. You might think this would make writing the review easier but it's a lot harder since I feel like I just gush over her and her works.

For any who...
Published on 7 May 2012 by Thoughts Of A Scot Reviews

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been great, except..
I kinda liked the plot, but Rachel Caine has in her later Morganville books for no good reason started using first-person narratives for many major characters. And in Black Dawn she seems to think that she has to tell the story for EVERY character from the first-person perspective. Claire she still uses a 3rd-person narrative for (thankfully, even if it's inconsistent). I...
Published on 9 Sept. 2012 by OHS


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing addition to Morganville, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Dawn (The Morganville Vampires) (Paperback)
So anyone who has read any of my previous Morganville reviews will know I love this series and Rachel Caine. I love anything that woman writes and refuse to believe there is anything bad to say about her books. You might think this would make writing the review easier but it's a lot harder since I feel like I just gush over her and her works.

For any who don't know, Morganville is a town in Texas that is run by vampires. Everyone, except for the Uni students, know about the vampires and live by certain rules etc. to keep themselves alive. Claire Danvers is one of those students but she finds out about the hidden background of Morganville and eventually starts working for the founder, Amelie. Throughout the books Claire deals with a lot: bullying, moving into a house with strangers, finding out vampires exist, learning how to live in Morganville, falling in love, almost dying, actually dying, saving the town, saving herself and her friends as well as other little trivial things. Black Dawn is the most recent in the series and we find out more about the even-more-baddy-than-vampire draug that were introduced in Last Breath.

So, like I said above, there are no bad things to say about Black Dawn. All Morganville fans will want to read this, it brings up some interesting ideas for future books and any non Morganville fans, I highly recommend you start the series with Glass Houses and work through it from there. For UKers there's a gorgeous Morganville Omnibus available that includes the first 3 books: Glass Houses, The Dead Girl's Dance and Midnight Alley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Caine captivates again and again, 15 July 2012
By 
Ms. C. A. Anderson "Cassandra220689" (East Kilbride, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Dawn (The Morganville Vampires) (Paperback)
As with the last book, we continue on in the fashion of alternate narratives which let us delve further into the lives of our favourite Morganites.

Previously we have learned that there is an enemy that even the Vampires fear and that the fight is just beginning. The Draug are getting stronger with Magnus feeding them more Vampires and humans, allowing them to gain more strength and power is not a thought worth thinking about and it becomes clear that there is a lot more than just Morganville at stake if the Draug win.

With this in mind, the battle commenses and we see Micheal, Eve, Claire, Shane, Myrin, Amelie and Oliver fight for their life and Morganville in a series of attacks on the Draug. Some of which are successful and other which aren't so much, and some where we are left reeling at the possibility of loosing one of our most favourite characters...

And as usual in true Morganiville style, which this is all going on we have 'normal' problems to contend with like Micheal and Eve and will they ever get married, and even Monica's troubles when she too, feels the brunt of the fight in a sad way which see's us finally break into the minds of Hannah and her brother and the depths of their feelings they once had...

With battle and war comes death and Morganville is not immune, this is the biggest fight left and there are more than just the casualty of death, which we see played out in some engrossing breaks from reality with Shane, stylistically written like always by Caine, we see his biggest fears come to light and the most empathy and sympathy we have ever felt for him not to mention love.

The battle of course comes to a head and while the finality of the battle brings to light a number of things, it's clear that Morganville is never going to be the same and I am itching so much to see what Caine has in store for us in her next installment...

"Bitter Blood"; rumored to be the next installment will hopefully be available soon.

Cassandra220689
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another stunning and exciting read., 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Dawn (The Morganville Vampires) (Paperback)
Another stunning and exciting read in the morganville adventures. Had me enthrawled from start to finish and could not put it down. 5 hours later when finished was gutted that it had ended. Ready for the next one hurry up cant wait for the next installment. A must read for all fans as this book will not disappoint and even though it is the 12th installment does not loose any of it's carisma or excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been great, except.., 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Dawn (The Morganville Vampires) (Paperback)
I kinda liked the plot, but Rachel Caine has in her later Morganville books for no good reason started using first-person narratives for many major characters. And in Black Dawn she seems to think that she has to tell the story for EVERY character from the first-person perspective. Claire she still uses a 3rd-person narrative for (thankfully, even if it's inconsistent). I don't need to know what Amelie and Oliver are thinking. It takes away from their mysticism, and frankly Rachel Caine doesn't seem to be able to make them interesting at all from their first-person perspective. What was cool about Amelie and Oliver was that they were a bit mystic. Now, hearing their thoughts, they seem just.. ordinary. It ruins things for me. So I probably won't buy the next Morganville book. Too bad, this series had great potential. I'm sad to see it being ruined by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Dawn, 18 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Dawn (The Morganville Vampires) (Paperback)
Black Dawn starts off straight after Last Breath, with Magnus and his Draug causing chaos in Morganville. Most people have fled except Claire and the gang who have to find an antidote to save Amelie or the Draug could destroy Morganville forever. This book has so much suspense and action that you cannot catch your breath but also had all the other things that make Morganville so brilliant. I cannot believe that this is book 12, it feels like book 4 with how amazing and imaginative the story and characters are, I cannot wait to read Bitter Blood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Follow Up..., 8 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Dawn (The Morganville Vampires) (Paperback)
if your a fan of the previous Morganville books, BUY THIS BOOK. It's the perfect follow up to the previous books. Caine writes in a way that makes you fall in love with the characters (specifically Shane, in my case.....). But honestly, if you've read the previous books, buy this one, and if you haven't read any of the series yet, you're missing out, buy 'The Glass House' and get reading. The books are good for a more adult-than-twilight style read, but not quite the adult style story of a series such as True Blood. Highly Reccomended. Glass Houses (Morganville Vampires)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black dawn, 16 May 2012
Great read. Absolutely love it. Would recommend if a fan of vampires. Really like the way each chapter is that of a different character whilst sticking to the story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHANE XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Dawn (The Morganville Vampires) (Paperback)
love love love it i waited 2 months for this and deadlocked(charline harris) could not put this one down love shane michael eve and CLAIRE can,t wait for the next one just love this seriesBlack Dawn (The Morganville Vampires)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Dawn (The Morganville Vampires) (Paperback)
Excellent read. I am a big fan of the Glass house residents and have a soft spot for Myrnin. Oliver has his moments too. With Amelie, it's a love hate kind of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better and better, 9 May 2012
By 
R. Phillips - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved all the Morganville books and couldnt wait for this to come out. You would think after 11 books it would start running out of steam. Not the case it just keeps getting better and better and i loved all the twists. Roll on the next installment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Dawn (The Morganville Vampires)
Black Dawn (The Morganville Vampires) by Rachel Caine (Paperback - 1 May 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews