Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAUNTING...EVOCATIVE...RIVETING...
This is yet another beautifully written book by Susanna Kearsley. Almost as good as "Marianna" and better than "The Shadowy Horses", both by Ms. Kearsley, this book is a highly entertaining gothic style novel.
A literary agent with a sad past, her client who is a children's author, another author romantically linked with the agent's client, as well as his brother,...
Published on 30 Dec 2002 by Lawyeraau

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average easy read
I was hooked on this author but quite disappointed with this one. The passion appears to be more with the Scottish stories which are much better.
Published 7 months ago by Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAUNTING...EVOCATIVE...RIVETING..., 30 Dec 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Named Of The Dragon (Paperback)
This is yet another beautifully written book by Susanna Kearsley. Almost as good as "Marianna" and better than "The Shadowy Horses", both by Ms. Kearsley, this book is a highly entertaining gothic style novel.
A literary agent with a sad past, her client who is a children's author, another author romantically linked with the agent's client, as well as his brother, all spend the Christmas holidays together in the two brothers' farmhouse in Wales. Our literary agent starts having vivid dreams in which a woman from the past keeps asking her to protect a beautiful child she has with her. Meanwhile, a local, somewhat eccentric neighbor also perceives this literary agent to be someone sent to guard her own child from danger. She, too, has had haunting dreams.
Throw in a brooding Welsh playwright, some atmospheric surroundings, a lonely, wild country side, some romantic yearnings, haunting legends, and mysterious, inexplicable occurrences, and what you have is a gripping page turner. It is a book well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Named of the Dragon (Paperback)
I tried to pace myself when reading this, I really did. I don't know what it is with Suzanna Kearsley's novels but I put everything to one side just to read them.

This one centres on Lyn, struggling with a tragic past, who goes to stay with her author client in a farmhouse in Wales. She has strange dreams (and they seem bonkers until the plot comes together at the end) and finds herself drawn to faerie-like Elen and her small baby. Put into the mix, two beautiful blonde brothers and Gareth, a brooding playwright and you know you're in for a treat.

Just my thing: Arthurian legend, Tennyson, dragons and a gorgeous hero. My only complaint: it's too short and I read it far too quickly! Can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very very good, 23 Jun 2000
By 
Natasza (Newbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Named Of The Dragon (Paperback)
This is the second book that I have read by Susanna Kearsley and the execellent quality has been consistent.
This is a love story but it is more a ghost/paranormal/mystery and even travel book. It is beautifully written and the book draws you into it's world effortlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Golden babies, Henry Tudor and Merlin Prophecies and a Bit of Romance in Pembrokeshire, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read so many of Susanna Kearley's books. I am, it goes without saying, a huge fan. I was, however, fortunate to have read Mariana first which is a superb book. So gradually inbetween other reading tangents, I have been trying to catch up on some of her older books.

It is true that this one is not as wonderful as Mariana and The Shadowy Horses. However, it did have my imagination fleeing down corridors filled with the Merlin Prophecies, Henry Tudor and a beautiful and sometimes mysterious Pembrokeshire. And, yes, I may have fallen in love with Gareth. Certainly, by the end it had me daydreaming about planning a holiday in Pembrokeshire. I'm glad I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 Oct 2013
By 
L. Jones (Market Harborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A good read. As always, Susanna Kearsley writes in a compelling style. Set in a Pembrokeshire village and involving literary characters. Historical link. An enjoyable read, with a twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable relationship drama, 28 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Named Of The Dragon (Hardcover)
Author Bridget Cooper persuades her literary agent Lyn Ravenshaw to join her on a Christmas vacation in Angle, Wales. Bridget looks forward to spending some time with a famous playwright, whose name she refuses to divulge to Lyn. She wants Lyn to occupy a boy friend, noted writer James Swift. Lyn looks forward to meeting James because she loved his last wok "The Leaden Sky" that she thought deserved a Booker.
After they arrive in Angle, Lyn learns that Bridget plans to have a tryst with the renowned recluse Gareth Gwyn Morgan, whose play several years took the world by storm. Gareth rejects the spotlights of the London stage and has not published anything since he was heralded as the greatest. When Gareth and Lyn meet for the first time, no sparks fly. There is only a squabble that occurs whenever they're together. As they see each other, they begin to fall in love. However, neither one can handle a relationship filled with love because their respective hearts are overloaded with guilt from their pasts. Adding to their problems is the continual dream that Lyn suffers involving a mother and a child.
NAMED OF THE DRAGON is a very interesting contemporary romance that centers on protagonists predominantly belonging to the world of literature. The story line is character-driven, which works because the prime players are different in temperament yet add much to the mix. Though the subplot involving Merlin's Prophecy (Lyn's dream) seems distracting at times, it ultimately works its way into the main plot. Susanna Kearsley provides her audience with a complex relationship drama that shows her ability to showcase her cast.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAUNTING...EVOCATIVE...RIVETING..., 24 Feb 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Named Of The Dragon (Hardcover)
This is yet another beautifully written book by Susanna Kearsley. Almost as good as "Marianna" and better than "The Shadowy Horses", both by Ms. Kearsley, this book is a highly entertaining gothic style novel.
A literary agent with a sad past, her client who is a children's author, another author romantically linked with the agent's client, and his brother, all spend the Christmas holidays together in the two brothers' farmhouse in Wales. Our literary agent starts having vivid dreams in which a woman from the past keeps asking her to protect a beautiful child she has with her. Meanwhile, a local, somewhat eccentric neighbor also perceives this literary agent to be someone sent to guard her own child from danger. She, too, has had haunting dreams.
Throw in a brooding Welsh playwright, some atmospheric surroundings, a lonely, wild country side, some romantic yearnings, haunting legends, and mysterious, inexplicable occurrences, and what you have is a gripping page turner. It is a book well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Named of the Dragon (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always with Susanna Kearsley books, Named of the Dragon, is a fantastic story with a mix of history, mystery and gripping adventure. A book you will not want to put down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average easy read, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was hooked on this author but quite disappointed with this one. The passion appears to be more with the Scottish stories which are much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Named of the Dragon
Named of the Dragon by Susanna Kearsley (Paperback - 30 Sep 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews