Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hand That Trembles--Kjell Eriksson
This is the fourth of Kjell Eriksson's novels ,featuring the
Uppsala detective Ann Lindell,to be published in English.It is
a complex captivating thriller that skillfully weaves together
three stories.
Sven-Arne Persson is the leader of the local council,when he
walks out of a council meeting never to be seen again.The locals
consider that he...
Published on 1 Dec 2011 by Simon Clarke

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read
This is my first Kjell Eriksson. This novel reads like two different stories, one where Uppsala detective, Ann Lindell, is investigating the discovery of a foot (but no body), and the other story of Sven-Arne Persson, the leader of the local council, who walks out of a council meeting never to be seen again. The story of the missing foot was very good and I really enjoyed...
Published on 5 Feb 2012 by Pat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hand That Trembles--Kjell Eriksson, 1 Dec 2011
By 
Simon Clarke (Hackney, London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hand that Trembles, The (Inspector Ann Lindell) (Paperback)
This is the fourth of Kjell Eriksson's novels ,featuring the
Uppsala detective Ann Lindell,to be published in English.It is
a complex captivating thriller that skillfully weaves together
three stories.
Sven-Arne Persson is the leader of the local council,when he
walks out of a council meeting never to be seen again.The locals
consider that he has killed himself.However,12 years later he is
spotted by a Swedish businessman, living frugally in India.Back in
Uppsala,Ann Lindell is investigating the discovery of a disembodied
foot,whilst her boss,Berglund,is recovering from an operation ,and
looking into an old unsolved case concerning a man bludgeoned to
death in his home.
Eriksson is a literary writer more concerned with characterisation
and motivation ,than with gung-ho action,and this is his most
adventurous and rewarding novel to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad read, 5 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Hand that Trembles, The (Inspector Ann Lindell) (Paperback)
This is my first Kjell Eriksson. This novel reads like two different stories, one where Uppsala detective, Ann Lindell, is investigating the discovery of a foot (but no body), and the other story of Sven-Arne Persson, the leader of the local council, who walks out of a council meeting never to be seen again. The story of the missing foot was very good and I really enjoyed it, however I didn't really 'get' the significant of the other story yet at the beginning of the book this seems to be the main storyline. If the whole book had just been about the missing foot I would definitely rated this book higher but, for me personally, the other story really let it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enthralloing, 25 Jan 2012
By 
Blyth (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hand that Trembles, The (Inspector Ann Lindell) (Paperback)
An excellent book that kept my interest throughout. Kjell Erikson is an excellent writer and provides good characterisations and plot. The story does not depend on "derring do" and exploding helicopters.

It is interwoven with several apparently different stories.

I did not want the book to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Lindell read, 13 May 2014
By 
Mrs. J. Gietzen (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great Lindell read - a must for all Scandi crime nuts like myself - developing into a nice little series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars All seemed rat her unlikely!, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hand that Trembles, The (Inspector Ann Lindell) (Paperback)
I found the plot twisted and turned, seemingly because the author felt it ought to, not because that was the way the characters would have acted. In the end I found it heavy going. Whether this was the fault of the original writing or the translation, I am not in a position to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scandi 'Thriller', 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another detective investigative story than an out and out thriller. However quite a fascinating story with some lovely pen picks of the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars another nordic noir i enjoyed, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hand that Trembles, The (Inspector Ann Lindell) (Paperback)
Surprised at some of the more negative reviews ; found this a most enjoyable read over Christmas . Its all about the lies that life is woven around and what we choose to believe we see and how we fool ourselves , about if you can ever really run away from the past and start a new life . There are 2 stories here for the police to solve ; one about a foot and the other about a missing local politican. There is nothing too violent nor too adventure story or political here , just an easy to read detective story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: Hand that Trembles, The (Inspector Ann Lindell) (Paperback)
I picked up this book at our hotel reception in Turkey and I had a read of it on the last day of the holiday just to while the time away till we flew home. By that time I was totally engrossed in a great book (considering I read mostly true crime) - so this is a big change for me and I loved it.

The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was at times I got a bit confused with the Swedish names - but that's not the book's fault! It's a big read too - 450 pages - so ideal for the hols.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The context of the recent past, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Twin stories come together in a way to reveal something of the hidden ghosts of Sweden's experience of political change. A who-done-it investigation with real depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gone Swedish, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a very long drawn out story and takes some getting into, I quite thought that it would be something on the lines of the trilogy of books that were published last year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hand that Trembles, The (Inspector Ann Lindell)
Hand that Trembles, The (Inspector Ann Lindell) by Kjell Eriksson (Paperback - 31 Oct 2011)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews