Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent True Crime Account
This book is intelligently written. It was obviously not created to trash Courtney Love or to paint Kurt Cobain as a perfect human being. On the contrary, it makes a point to say Kurt had major family woes early on and was indeed a heroin addict.
That's what makes this such a compelling read. The author's have gathered evidence which totally disputes the suicide...
Published on 18 April 2004

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Biased.
I love a good conspiracy theory and I am trying to read as much as I can about the Kurt murder theories and also everything to do with the case including Nirvana and Courtney Love. I thought this book would some good insight but it's basically rehashed versions of Heavier than Heaven and Tom Grant's website together with numerous interviews with anyone who will bad mouth...
Published 9 months ago by Doombug


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent True Crime Account, 18 April 2004
By A Customer
This book is intelligently written. It was obviously not created to trash Courtney Love or to paint Kurt Cobain as a perfect human being. On the contrary, it makes a point to say Kurt had major family woes early on and was indeed a heroin addict.
That's what makes this such a compelling read. The author's have gathered evidence which totally disputes the suicide verdict.
Flip through the photo section of the book to view one of the evidence samples if you are skeptical. You will be very surprised at what you see.
Also - no fingerprints were found on the shotgun or the shotgun shells. Police reports verify this. This is hardly a case of crack pot journalism. This case must be reopened for the sake of troubled kids who are killing themselves to copy Kurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing it all through new eyes, 16 Oct. 2004
I was much more of a Hole fan than a Nirvana fan. For the last decade I have admired Courtney Love for many different reasons aside from her talent as a performer, but this book totally devastated me.
Despite her recent ultra self-destructive behaviour I never for a second believed there was any foundation to the conspiracy theories surrounding Kurt's death. That was until I read this book.
The writers of this very intelligently written book took their work incredibly seriously, and it was shocking to see the holes ( no pun intended) in the evidence that the Seattle police chose to ignore, and the contradictions and manipulation Ms Love exercised with the media. She had me totally suckered and I am nobodys fool.I recognised all the interviews they referenced.
Courtney circa 2004 is unravelling before our eyes.Could it be guilt? How can she live with herself after taking Frances's father away from her for fame and money? I was the last person who wanted to believe this, but now I do. She definitely had a hand in orchestrating his death. God knows what Frances will think if she ever reads this book.This is a must read for any Nirvana fan or anyone who believes he killed himself. He didn't. I know she didn't pull the trigger but he certainly didn't. I am now 100% sure of that. Re-open the case Seattle!! Wise up and admit you screwed up. Poor, poor Kurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how to get away with murder, 11 Dec. 2010
I read this with a fair degree of scepticism, but the authors have written a very convincing book. Certainly love has incriminated herself in those tapes. The onus now should be on the authorities to release the autopsy reports and most importantly to develop the photographs taken at the crime scene. An important book on a counter culture icon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... and we know by who now not only ms love but i reckon dave grohl or what ever his ..., 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally some one has got to the truth this as proved to me what I always knew it was murder plain and simple and we know by who now not only ms love but i reckon dave grohl or what ever his name is was involved to I think. I have the unfornatly in the past have known a relative who shot himself with a shotgun who was not on drugs as they claim Kurt was and i know it was not an easy task to perform he had to rif the gun up with a piece of string to pull the trigger while stood up and like I say this relative was completly sober be it with a troubled mind so how on earth can some one they say who was out of his tiny mind on drugs be able to shoot himself while sat down with a full sized shotgun able to pull the trigger unaided plus the photo of the stool that was supposed to be blocking the door was found in the middle of the floor feet away from the door and by looking at it would not be able to block the door anyone could have knocked it out of the way it was way to small to block any door. I dont care what anyone one says this was foul play and was definatly murder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning book, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read this book four times now. Once picked up, impossible to put down!

The truth may never be known, but this is certainly compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love and death, 20 Jun. 2004
courtney killed kurt. that's what i got out of reading this book. i'm 100% sure she did it. i always thought she seemed cold and selfish and when i read this book i found out it was true. the fact that so many people who have met her over the years only have bad things to say about her...that tells you something. in the book you get to know the real courtney.
whether you believe in the conspiracy or not then read the book and then make up your mind. you won't regret it.
thank you to ian halperin, max wallace and tom grant for continuing to tell the truth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting information, 21 April 2004
By A Customer
I personally was not a nirvana fan but appreciate the impact the albumNevermind had on music. Courtneys albums never appealed to me either buther public antics made her somewhat interesting (for a time). This book ismore about crime then music anyway. It deals with facts and makes yourealize celebs can get away with lots more then joe average citizen. Ithink Kurt Cobain was killed for his money. Hell the guy's diaries wereeven sold for public consumption. Add all the lost kids who offedthemselves in his name and you have one royally pathetic situation.Halperin and Wallace deserve praise for trying to get the case reopened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having always dismissed the conspiracy theories this book raises several questions that have never been addressed in a legitimate manner. The authors and Tom Grant seem to have a grounded approach and back up all claims with sources removing any hysterical or romanticised speculation and conjecture that you find with many other books surrounding the man and the band. Left me with very little doubt the case needs to be reopened and investigated at the very least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Biased., 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love & Death: The Murder of Kurt Cobain (Paperback)
I love a good conspiracy theory and I am trying to read as much as I can about the Kurt murder theories and also everything to do with the case including Nirvana and Courtney Love. I thought this book would some good insight but it's basically rehashed versions of Heavier than Heaven and Tom Grant's website together with numerous interviews with anyone who will bad mouth Courtney Love.

It paints her as an absolute monster and anyone not familiar with Kurt would wonder why the hell he would want to be with such an awful human being. The people they chose for the interviews (or maybe the only ones who agreed to be interviewed) were very suspect - her father Hank Harrison for one. Someone with an obvious axe to grind who has been milking the association with his daughter for years. He didn't even meet his son-in-law and his interview in the Broomfield doc had already left me with little respect for him. The sections with him in this book reinforce my opinion.

The book goes to great pains to establish the murder theory, not once giving any possibility that it could be suicide. The section about the heroin for instance. Denise Marshall is given as a credible source of information but who is she and why should we trust her judgment?

Not all avenues were explored. One 'expert' gives her opinion and that's it. When the Swiss government began allowing maintenance of heroin users, they were able to collect reliable data about exactly how much heroin was being used. The Swiss found that users offered unlimited quantities would, on average, max out at between 300 and 500 mg. of diacetylmorphine per day. Kurt could have done a 'hit & miss' which slows down the rate the drug enters the system. We don't know yet this book seems to think they have the definate answer.

Courtney Love is no saint and yes, some of her apparent actions during the search for her husband were suspect but we were only getting Tom Grant's point of view and his recollections. He was dealing with three junkies (Courtney, Calli and Dylan) while looking for another junkie. It's going to get messy and confusing dealing with those people.

Any book that introduces the main 'murder suspect' as being born on the same day as OJ Simpson's 18th birthday should be approached with caution and a very open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Interesting And Absorbing Read - Don't Believe The Sceptics, 30 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Love & Death: The Murder of Kurt Cobain (Paperback)
A well researched, intricately written investigation- I have passed this book to non Nirvana/Kurt Cobain fans as a recommended read (one or two were convinced of his suicide prior to reading). In case you're wondering, the two sceptics are now (almost) swayed of his murder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love & Death: The Murder of Kurt Cobain
Love & Death: The Murder of Kurt Cobain by Ian Halperin (Paperback - 20 Mar. 2014)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews