Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes' better half?
If like me you can't bring yourself to believe that the restless mind of the great detective Sherlock Holmes could ever be content with the study of beekeeping you won't be surprised by the discovery of yet more lost manuscripts detailing his post retirement adventures. The Beekeeper's Apprentice introduced the character of Mary Russell; A Letter of Mary takes place years...
Published on 10 May 2003 by Michael Finn

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric and well written but results in a huge anti-climax
I was relieved when I found this series; an intelligent and well-written continuation to the career of Sherlock Holmes that never slips into pastiche.

This is the third of the Mary Russell books, although it could be read on its own. Mary and Sherlock Homes are now married, and although it isn't the most convincing marriage in the world, it is quite a...
Published on 11 May 2008 by Sarah Durston


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock Holmes' better half?, 10 May 2003
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
If like me you can't bring yourself to believe that the restless mind of the great detective Sherlock Holmes could ever be content with the study of beekeeping you won't be surprised by the discovery of yet more lost manuscripts detailing his post retirement adventures. The Beekeeper's Apprentice introduced the character of Mary Russell; A Letter of Mary takes place years later and Mary has now married Sherlock - shocked gasp. King's books are meticulously researched and are fascinating studies of the era even without all the Holmsian trapping that she has so effortlessly reinvented and made her own without ever coming close to pastiche. I don't think there can be many fans of Holmes who would be disappointed with her treatment of the character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric and well written but results in a huge anti-climax, 11 May 2008
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I was relieved when I found this series; an intelligent and well-written continuation to the career of Sherlock Holmes that never slips into pastiche.

This is the third of the Mary Russell books, although it could be read on its own. Mary and Sherlock Homes are now married, and although it isn't the most convincing marriage in the world, it is quite a convincing partnership. Mary is approached by an old acquaintance, a feminist archaeologist, who brings her a papyrus which is supposedly a letter written by Mary Magdalene. On the night following this meeting the archaeologist becomes the victim of a hit and run accident and Mary and Sherlock investigate.

Again, this is an interesting and atmospheric book and takes an interesting approach to the Sherlock Holmes way of investigating (especially as investigating techniques have changed and improved since he first started out.) My only disappointment was that the ending was something of an anti-climax. It wouldn't stop me reading others in the series though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Holmes is annoyingly American, 29 July 2010
I noticed it occasionally in the first 2 books, but in this one it seems that Laurie R King has given up her attempts to use realistically English dialogue. Mary can of course justifiably speak American English, but Mycroft, Lestrade and Holmes should not. It is really really starting to grate, as are the anachronisms and occasional lapses in sense. This lack of attention to detail makes for a read on a level with some not very good web fanfiction. This is a shame as despite my initial reservations I find Mary Russell and her relationship quite convincing.

There is a definite anti-climax to this book, even if this is sort of an in-joke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, fast paced crime novel, 14 May 2004
One of my favourite Laurie R. King books, this novel has a hugely entertaining and fast paced plot.
Mary Russell meets an old friend who has a rather controversial theory regarding Mary Magdeline, which she is about to make public. Her theory is arousing feelings of enmity amongst her male colleagues. The friend also shows Mary a rather mysterious puzzle box. Shortly afterwards this friend is killed in a hit and run incident. Accident or murder ? Holmes and Mary investigate.
Unlike some of her other Sherlock Holmes pastiches, this novel does not feature the rather lengthy historical travel descriptions which bogged down King's other novels "Oh Jerusalem" and "The Moor". A gripping and entertaining crime novel featuring King's wonderful characterisations of Sherlock Holmes and Mary Russell. I enjoyed this as much as I did "A Monstous Regiment Of Women"... hugely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Letter-perfect, 15 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third novel in the Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes series of detective novels written by Laurie R. King. I love the entire series, but this is one of my favourites, and I've found myself returning to it again and again.

King's depiction of Mary Russell is compelling - she gives her character a unique, feminist, intelligent voice which is often hard to find in contemporary fiction. Mary Russell is a woman you feel you'd like to get to know better. King's genius is in making Sherlock Holmes into a supporting actor in the stories - he is the same Holmes that Conan Doyle wrote, but he is humanised in his retirement, and his under-stated love for Mary Russell. The central relationship between the two is beautifully drawn, and King displays a deftness of touch which keeps you coming back for more.

The mystery at the heart of the book is worthy of Conan Doyle, and is solved in appropriate fashion, with Holmes and Russell working in partnership. King enjoys showing off her erudition here, and the themes of an Apocryphal document purportedly from Mary Magdalene, containing explosive information about Mary Magdalene's status, is handled with such aplomb that Dan Brown ought to weep into his coffee.

Highly recommend this engaging, intriguing, and fantastically well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Letter of Mary, 31 May 2014
This review is from: A Letter of Mary (Mary Russell Mystery 3) (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
The third Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes adventure.

The duo investigate the mysterious death of an elderly archaeologist - a friend from Mary's past.

Mary is still difficult to warm too, she prefers to dress in men's clothing, but when she has to go undercover as a sweet young thing, she is naturally a stunner. And, naturally she soon has to fend off the attentions of two men. Hard to know whether the author is having a joke here or that Mary is as up herself as she comes across.

Otherwise this is a little dry with an unmemorable mystery. However, where this does score is the emotional impact of the death on Mary which lifts this out of what otherwise seems to be just an ego-trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good plot subject but..., 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Letter of Mary (Mary Russell Mystery 3) (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes) (Paperback)
I love this series of books and had by accident started with the 10th. I have read 7 of them now and I felt this is perhaps the weakest for me. The plot subject was excellent and could have been much more explosive. The book certainly began with all the promise of another excellent book from L King but at the end I felt 'well is that it...'. I had guessed the perpetrator half way through, and the plot began to loose pace. I persevered for the 'why' but was left with a vague sense of disappointment. However , because I have already read some of the later books I would say anyone starting out with this series persevere it does get much, much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mary russell, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i bought this to complete the series of Mary Russell books, this is one of my favourites. The w hole Sherlock connection is excellent. i recommend these books un reservedly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Letter of Mary, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You have to read all the Holmes/Russell books to appreciate the story as they all carry on from each other.Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Letter of Mary, 16 Jan 2012
Provided you don't mind pastiche and a considrable degree of implausibility, King's series of Holmes and Russell novels are entertaining, well crafted and worthwhile. Whilst the central premise - that Holmes marries late in life a girl scarcely out of her teens - requires a considerable suspension of disbelief, the plots are well constructed, and the characterisation convincing. Certainly worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Letter of Mary (Mary Russell Mystery 3) (Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes)
7.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews